We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee hotel”
Review of Lisbon City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lisbon City Hotel
Ranked #167 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights with two friends. Delighted to have the top floor room, complete with balcony, to ourselves. Not luxury...but what do you expect for less than £20 each per night. Beds were ok...room was spotless. Location was about a 15 minute walk from the centre of town...but an easy walk. Round about the hotel wasn't great, but we didn't have any problems.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for people looking for a cheap, central option in Lisbon. The balcony was fantastic and staff were friendly. Wifi was an extra bonus...it was free but you needed to move round the room to get a better signal. I would go again!

Room Tip: Request the top floor. Huge room with lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Greeted at night by the best night auditor I have crossed in my recent European travels, young bloke with short hair. He was a great hotel ambassador- even after dealing with my banking issues.

Room was clean, small but comfortable with small desk area for business FREE Wifi included which worked really well. Stayed for 4 nights.

Bathroom was well appointed and room serviced daily.

Was here for business so didn't use the breakfast, but as another review has mentioned there is a small cafe across the street where i had a business meeting which has great coffee, pastries and sandwich options.

Check out was speedy and the night employee was still there and hailed a cab.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Lisbon City Hotel and for your valuable comments. We appreciate your compliment on the staff, location and guestroom comfort during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Lisbon City Hotel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It was a shock to see the area the hotel is located, full of grafetti, run down buildings and no where decent to eat at except a place doing pizzas a few doors up the road. During the night the sirens and car horns at night are frequent. The hotel building looks decent, and so we hoped it would be ok and the trip advisor award was comforting until we started to check in. How trip advisor can give this award is beyond us. Read on.
We had booked and pre-paid for our 3 nights, 4 1/2 months prior to arriving, ie Beginning of January 2014.
The desk clerk wanted us to do her a 'small favour". "you see, a group of students were here and they did damage to your room and we can not get it fixed until tomorrow, so we have got a room for you up the road for one night. Its 5 minutes walk, and you can then check into your room tomorrow". Further enquires from us revealed:-
1. another group of students were arriving and they had all the available rooms for the night and could not be split up, And "No" it was not a student hotel,
2. It was the bed that was ripped and a replacement would not be delivered until the next day.

We refused, not believing a word of this, and knew they had double booked.
We did agree to stay at the other hotel for 3 nights as apparently it was of the same standard as this one. This was not possible. Nor was an upgrade.

Another person from the hotel came and could not understand why we would not walk the 5 minutes to another hotel for the night and back the next day. As check out is 1100 and check in is 2pm, that would have messed our whole day up, besides the inconvience. We had arrived at noon, and were prepared to leave our bags and do check in at 2pm, but not to have one night in anoher hotel, even when a taxi was finally offered.
Eventually we were asked to sit whilst it was sorted. The decision was a room was available but needed to be cleaned and we could have it at 2pm. We came back at 2pm but the room was still not cleaned. There were a few other people also waiting for their rooms to be cleaned by the time we got back. None looked like they were part of a student group.
We did find the hotel up the road, a good 10 minutes walk and over cobble stones would have been difficult with suitcases. The hotel was a 2 star hotel, not a 3 star and did have a trip advisor sticker in its window.

We eventually got to our room as the cleaning lady was leaving. She apologised and said, 'oh there are two of you, there are usually only one person here. I will get a extra towel'. The bed is only a double. Not the size you expect for that quality and priced hotel.

The room number is no where on the lift or hotel walls, It does not exist. There is a fire door between it and the lift. The fire door was jammed opened so we could get to the lift. It is room 706.
It is on the top floor where there is a viewing lounge and the suite.

This room is small, so small I put my suitcase in the bathroom. This may sound odd, but the bathroom is odd. It is large, with a long vanity. Right against the back wall is the shower and toilet. The shower is positioned so that when you sit on the toilet your knees can touch the shower!

There is a jug in the room which is good, except there are only two plugs, and one of those is in the bathroom in a place where nothing can reach it.

The hotel offer you a small bar of cheap soap on the arrival day ONLY, and for a 3 star hotel this is unacceptable. The towels are old and small.

You can not get wi fi in this room unless you stand in the doorway or go up the hall to the viewing lounge.

The service is something else. First our spare hotel key (card) disappeared. It was important as we needed it to run the heating, (very cold room) whilst we shut the door and did our wi fi in the lounge. Second day our hotel key (card) would not work. Both days a replacement was given. When we asked to exchange a large note into smaller ones, this was not possible. For a 3 star hotel in a major city we found this unacceptable. They suggested a money changer. That is another experience and we ended up walking out. Directions given were often incorrect, even when questioned about a point. The day we left, we asked for a taxi, but that too became a problem so we left and found one. They often pass in the side street we discovered. The hotel is on a corner. Finally, we had no sooner got to our room when the lift was serviced and out of action for the next two hours. It was good to know it was serviced, but the timing was poor. Being 7 floors up narrow stairs are not much fun.

All in all this hotel ranks as one of the worst we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smithnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.
The Hotel Staff tried their best to help you in every way. So it is always sad for the staff to hear that you were not satisfied.
When you arrived there had been a problem with your room. Reason why the receptionist suggested to get a room for you in a Hotel with the same category as ours. But fortunately our maintenance team was able to solve the problem and you stayed in our Hotel.
Costumer satisfaction is our main goal. This is the main reason why we always get so positive comments by all our guests.

Lisbon City Hotel
Guest Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was easy to access from the airport as it is only 2 mins walk to the Metro stop Anjos. It's also only two stops from the main city area Rossio/Baxia, so it made it easy for us to come back to the hotel and freshen up and then head out again.
We had to wait about an hour before checking-in, as the check-in time is 2:00PM. We decided to have lunch somewhere close by as we waited, but found it difficult to find a nice place to eat, though there are many local cafes/snack shops. They let us keep our bags at the hotel in the meantime.
The staff is really friendly and helped us to plan our day by checking train/bus times, etc. They also know the hotel quite well, as my wifi stopped working, they knew exactly how to address the issue.
The rooms were really clean and had the basic necessities (soap, towels, extra blankets and pillows). There was also a balcony in our room with a lovely view.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short trip to Lisbon.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Lisbon City Hotel and for your valuable comments.
We appreciate your compliment on the Hotel location, staff and guestroom comfort during your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Highly recommended, very good value for money, perfect location if you would like to visit Lisbon. 2 minutes walk from Metro Station, very nice and polite service, rooms are very clean, very comftable bed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Lisbon City Hotel and for your valuable comments.
We appreciate your compliment on the guestroom comfort and the location during your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Location is good and near shopping area. In fact, from anjos station to Rossio station is only abt 20min walk. Hence very convenient and assessible. Still a lot of people and cars on the road outside hotel after 9pm so does not seem that dangerous even if you stay out past 9pm. Of course still need to be careful. Beside the hotel is a soup kitchen (does not open in the evenings) but the people there look harmless. In fact most of those visiting the soup kitchen are either old or disabled. I don't feel threatened or scared like what some folks seem to feel. Beggars and homeless are common in the shopping district around Rossio area but they don't bug you or anything like that.

That said hotel room is really small. Bed is a little sunk in. Room is pretty cold in the April month even without aircon. Aircon/heater seems to work on thermostat and switches on and off by itself sporadically. Hard to control. Advised to bring own shampoo. Room has hair dryer. Also no kettle but hotel is near lots of mini supermarkets so buying water is easy and cheap. Breakfast has bad croissants. Only the oranges at breakfast taste good. Room balcony does not necessarily offer a good view like what the pictures show. But highest floor is open to all to visit and take beautiful pictures. Service counter provided incorrect directions to Sintra. For info, if you are going to Sintra, please either walk or take metro to Rossio railway station then take railway to sintra station (last stop).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuccaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

One of the decent hotels in Lisbon, good location and excellent service. I lost my shoes in room and hotel sent me them very quickly. Thank them a lot! Nice view and kind/polite staff. Compact breakfast and clean bathrooms. Quiet and cozy rooms

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yana3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisbonCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lisbon City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Lisbon City Hotel and for your valuable comments. We appreciate your compliment on the staff, breakfast and guestroom comfort during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Lisbon City Hotel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#76 of 254 in Lisbon
1,997 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 254 in Lisbon
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Travel Park
Hotel Travel Park
#105 of 254 in Lisbon
759 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
0.9 mi away
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
#150 of 254 in Lisbon
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon City Hotel

Address: Av. Almirante Reis 49, Lisbon 1150-010, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lisbon City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisbon City Hotel, the newest urban design hotel in Lisbon within easy walking distance of Lisbon downtown and just five minutes from Lisbon International Airport. The sophisticated modern architecture and welcoming atmosphere boast excellent accommodation offering individually-controlled air-conditioning, sound-proofed windows, cable TV, safe-deposit box, direct-dial telephone, work desk, Internet access and data port. Facilities and services include conference and meeting rooms, rent-a-car, laundry, well equipped business center, the exquisite City Lounge Bar, baby-sitting, complementary Buffet breakfast, sightseeing excursions and a metro station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lisbon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing