We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #37 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Altis Avenida Hotel in April 2012, in Room 512. It was our first visit to Lisbon (leisure) and we were very satisfied with Altis Avenida Hotel and we recommend this 5 star hotel to everyone.

Positive Points:
- Perfect location. Hotel is at Restauradores Square, where Airport Buses and many other buses stop. So you have easy access from and to the Airport.
- The Hotel is also very close to Rossio and Figueira Squares, only 2-3 minutes walking distance. There you can find the trams and buses which goes to Belem Tower (tram 15) or Castle of São Jorge (Bus 737)
- The main train station is just across the street.
- At the hotel, the service quality is high, especially cleaning. Our room was cleaned /tidied up twice a day and in the afternoons cleaning ladies brought 2 mini Pasteis de Belem (custard tarts). It was a nice gesture.
- The size of the room was ok. The room/the furniture looked cool. The bathroom was very nice and very clean. In addition to towels there were 2 Bathrobes.
- We also had breakfast in the hotel. The restaurant is at the top of the hotel and has a nice view. The breakfast was very good with many choices.
- The Staff was very polite.

Negative Points:
- On our check-in day when we arrived at the hotel (at around 15:00) our room was not ready. They said that it would be ready in 1 hour. The check-in time was 14:00. So, after our flight, we had to walk around in Lisbon before we could rest in our room.
- The room was very dark. There are 3 reasons. The lightening is not enough. The furniture is mainly of dark colors. The windows were small.
- Because of the spot lights the room becomes hot, we had to use the air-condition quite often.
- There is no decent mirror in the room. There is one, but unfortunately like other furnitures the mirror is also dark colored. When you look at the mirror you cannot differentiate the colors.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cehada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    402
    76
    14
    5
See reviews for
241
714
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel has a perfect location for all the sights and transport. It seems like a busy street but the sound proofing is very good so its quiet and peaceful. It is very nicely decorated, modern but comfortable and stylish. The front of house staff were friendly and helpful and also in the restaurant. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room had a nice view, the bathrooms were particularly nice, lovely taps and fittings. I would certainly stay here again. One tip - we got ripped off by taxi driver on the way from airport so I strongly advise asking the price before you get in the car - our taxi had no meter and we were charged more than double what we should have been and the driver was very unpleasant when we asked about this.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My friend and I had an amazing time spending Easter weekend in Lisbon. We stayed here primarily because the location is central. Walking distance from everything, and the metro at your door step (all so convenient). We were greeted by very professional, helpful and friendly staff who always gave us great advice on where to eat, drink and go out. Moreover whenever we asked for directions they were spot on (Lisbon streets can be a bit confusing!).

Our room was clean, faced west and we watched the sun set behind the hill every night. We had a small balcony which was lovely.

Only drawback was this hotel does not have a gym and pool on site. They do have a sister hotel with those facilities and also a spa resort in Belem.

Room Tip: Room with balcony.... simply amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Transient-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed two night in this very nice hotel. Location was very good in the edge of main shopping area. Room was quite small but but clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Special thanks to good soundproofing. Traffic did not distub at all though our room was on the first floor facing one of the main streets. Breakfast was also really good

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiipee_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location with a metro stop literally next door which made getting about really simple. Also close by is the Santa Justa lift and two different tram lifts to take you up to the high part of the city. All are within a few minutes walk and easy to get to even for people with limited mobility.

The room was incredibly quiet given that the hotel is located on a busy piazza and we had no traffic or other noise at all.

Breakfast is served in the seventh floor restaurant with great views of the city. It was too cold during our visit to breakfast outside on the rooftop terrace, but this would be lovely during the summer both for breakfast and a glass of wine in the evening.

Breakfast was very good with a good selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, various breads and pastries including the famous custard tarts, plus hams, cheeses and the usual bacon etc.

Good service from all staff and a good five star quality hotel. If we ever return to Lisbon we would look to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycupples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This boutique hotel is situated in the middle of the old town with walking distance to most of Lisabon´s attractive spots. Excellent staff and nice breakfast at the roof restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredrikHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I'm someone who never writes reviews but I feel so strongly about my experience with this hotel that I am belatedly going to do so.

Customer Service: The best I have had anywhere. I stayed at this hotel in June 2011 for a week. The online travel agent I used (not connected to hotel) messed up my booking such that although I was charged and received a confirmation against Altis Avenida, the agent applied my booking to the wrong hotel (further away). Thus, Altis Avenida had never received my booking. Both myself and my partner were in effect strangers who turned up off the street asking to check in. The staff were awesome in helping us out with rectifying this. They immediately served us soft drinks whilst they tried to investigate things on their end. They also allowed me to use their phone to call England and contact travel agent at no cost. Once resolved (some two hours later), they even gave us a better room than the one we were due, a lovely gesture given the fault had nothing to do with them. During out stay, they were very friendly and information, advising things we could do both inside and outside of Lisbon and recommending use of a travel card, even giving me an expired one to take to the train station and use as an example for purchasing a new one. I can only be complimentary of the customer service at the hotel.

Location: Perfect, I do not think you can find anything better. Right by a metro station with links to get you around Lisbon (new town etc). There is an overground station across the road which can take you to places such as Sintra. Also, the main station to places such as Cascais is a 15 minute walk away. This hotel is central to everything you wish to access in Lisbon.

Room/ Hotel: Clean, very comfortable and had a balcony. Air con worked well and wifi was a nice bonus. Yes, it is no Ritz hotel and may not be as large as what you would get from a 5* in England, but that is reflective of Europe and is not to be taken as a black mark against the hotel itself. Breakfast was nice (Bacon, eggs, beans, sausages) available on most days (some days maybe had 3 or the 4 items mentioned) and also cold meats on offer as well as fruit. Nice dining area also.

Overall, I loved my stay and would happily stay here again. The same cannot be said for some of the places I had stayed on various holidays.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shabba1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,727 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#20 of 251 in Lisbon
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,528 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 251 in Lisbon
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing