We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #37 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Perfect location in Lisbon - directly across from the Rossio train station in the Restauradores square.

Room were very spacious, clean, and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We included breakfast in our stay and it was a very large and had many choices

Things we liked:
- Close to all restaurants, shopping, and train stops
- Hotel staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the area
- Airport bus picks up right near the hotel and is 2.50 Euro
- Clean and Spacious rooms

Things we didn't like:
- Area attracts all types of people - offered illegal items right outside of hotel doors
- Room was very hot, but was fixed when we opened the windows

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just perfect. Close to everything! Walking distance to Shops, subway, bus, restaurants. The staff was amazing. When I go back to Lisbon, there's no place else I would stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandabordoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Altis Avenida Hotel in April 2012, in Room 512. It was our first visit to Lisbon (leisure) and we were very satisfied with Altis Avenida Hotel and we recommend this 5 star hotel to everyone.

Positive Points:
- Perfect location. Hotel is at Restauradores Square, where Airport Buses and many other buses stop. So you have easy access from and to the Airport.
- The Hotel is also very close to Rossio and Figueira Squares, only 2-3 minutes walking distance. There you can find the trams and buses which goes to Belem Tower (tram 15) or Castle of São Jorge (Bus 737)
- The main train station is just across the street.
- At the hotel, the service quality is high, especially cleaning. Our room was cleaned /tidied up twice a day and in the afternoons cleaning ladies brought 2 mini Pasteis de Belem (custard tarts). It was a nice gesture.
- The size of the room was ok. The room/the furniture looked cool. The bathroom was very nice and very clean. In addition to towels there were 2 Bathrobes.
- We also had breakfast in the hotel. The restaurant is at the top of the hotel and has a nice view. The breakfast was very good with many choices.
- The Staff was very polite.

Negative Points:
- On our check-in day when we arrived at the hotel (at around 15:00) our room was not ready. They said that it would be ready in 1 hour. The check-in time was 14:00. So, after our flight, we had to walk around in Lisbon before we could rest in our room.
- The room was very dark. There are 3 reasons. The lightening is not enough. The furniture is mainly of dark colors. The windows were small.
- Because of the spot lights the room becomes hot, we had to use the air-condition quite often.
- There is no decent mirror in the room. There is one, but unfortunately like other furnitures the mirror is also dark colored. When you look at the mirror you cannot differentiate the colors.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cehada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel has a perfect location for all the sights and transport. It seems like a busy street but the sound proofing is very good so its quiet and peaceful. It is very nicely decorated, modern but comfortable and stylish. The front of house staff were friendly and helpful and also in the restaurant. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room had a nice view, the bathrooms were particularly nice, lovely taps and fittings. I would certainly stay here again. One tip - we got ripped off by taxi driver on the way from airport so I strongly advise asking the price before you get in the car - our taxi had no meter and we were charged more than double what we should have been and the driver was very unpleasant when we asked about this.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My friend and I had an amazing time spending Easter weekend in Lisbon. We stayed here primarily because the location is central. Walking distance from everything, and the metro at your door step (all so convenient). We were greeted by very professional, helpful and friendly staff who always gave us great advice on where to eat, drink and go out. Moreover whenever we asked for directions they were spot on (Lisbon streets can be a bit confusing!).

Our room was clean, faced west and we watched the sun set behind the hill every night. We had a small balcony which was lovely.

Only drawback was this hotel does not have a gym and pool on site. They do have a sister hotel with those facilities and also a spa resort in Belem.

Room Tip: Room with balcony.... simply amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Transient-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed two night in this very nice hotel. Location was very good in the edge of main shopping area. Room was quite small but but clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Special thanks to good soundproofing. Traffic did not distub at all though our room was on the first floor facing one of the main streets. Breakfast was also really good

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiipee_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location with a metro stop literally next door which made getting about really simple. Also close by is the Santa Justa lift and two different tram lifts to take you up to the high part of the city. All are within a few minutes walk and easy to get to even for people with limited mobility.

The room was incredibly quiet given that the hotel is located on a busy piazza and we had no traffic or other noise at all.

Breakfast is served in the seventh floor restaurant with great views of the city. It was too cold during our visit to breakfast outside on the rooftop terrace, but this would be lovely during the summer both for breakfast and a glass of wine in the evening.

Breakfast was very good with a good selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, various breads and pastries including the famous custard tarts, plus hams, cheeses and the usual bacon etc.

Good service from all staff and a good five star quality hotel. If we ever return to Lisbon we would look to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happycupples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,818 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
1,144 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £70 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing