We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central position yet quiet rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“central position yet quiet rooms”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just had 6 good nights at this hotel. It is well placed for sight-seeing, has an excellent view over a central square, yet the double glazing keeps the traffic noise out. Good breakfasts, but did not try the other meals. Only tried one local restaurant - not very good, we found better food in the Barrio Alto.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you very much for preferring the Altis Avenida Hotel for your long stay in Lisbon! I understand that you appreciated the central location and hope you brought wonderful memories of our beautiful capital back home! Take care & kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    390
    75
    14
    3
See reviews for
225
705
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for two days in July 2013. Location is great for exploring Lisbon. Close to everything you need to see and the subway for things further out.
Staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful and prepared to have a chat without being pushy or giving the feeling it's all rehearsed. Bonuspoints for housekeepings turndown service: they would arrange my childs cuddly toys on his bed every evening.
Nice bar with great view and jummy tapas/appetizers.
One major bathroom issue: only a handshower available. No showerhead grip on the wall anywhere. This does not make for a relaxing shower if you only have two hands.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimster1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I am a frequent traveller and definitely this is not 5 stars. The service is pretty mediocre, doing their best but not enough.

Breakfast: poor
Internet: great
Room: good
Service: average
Top roof: great views but windy and cold

They sold us a package which has been proven to be very poor at a price of 185€ per night!! I can state that this hotel can never charge this price for its value!

Sorry but not recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Xavier o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I do not usually write reviews - but the experience I have received from the Reception Staff at the Altis Avenida in Lisbon and in particularly Jon Fernandes has been exceptional. I lost access to my luggage at the left luggage office at the train station near my Convention Centre and had to fly home without it. With little prompt, Jon arranged the repatriation of the luggage to me back in London. He arranged the collection and repackaging minimising the cost and within days solved all my woes. So many many thanks for your wonderful hotel - food excellent, views spectacular and the service was always at the highest level.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selwyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente de recepção at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen the Altis Avenida Hotel for your short stay in Lisbon. I was glad to hear that you felt comfortable and that you appreciated the kindness of our staff. All the best to you! Kind regards, Nuno Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was my second 1 day stay on business at this Hotel. Hotel suited my needs perfectly, very nice rooms friendly and helpful staff etc and excellent central location. Highly recommended.
Note however that restaurant's immediately outside hotel very touristy, therefore may be worth seeking out better quality options and some are not too far away, Hotel staff very helpful on that score: I caught a 10 minute taxi to the Dock area below the Bridge and had excellent seafood at Doca Peixe.

Room Tip: Experienced some late night noise from above ( not too disturbing.. footsteps furniture movement), I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We can not say thank you enough for the wonderful staff, who were always friendly and helpful. You made the trip extra special, the hotel is lovely, comfortable and centrally located. It is a great place to stay to see such a wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJS_1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen the Altis Avenida Hotel for your short stay in Lisbon. I was glad to hear that you felt comfortable and that you appreciated the kindness of our staff. All the best to you! Kind regards, Nuno Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights in June 2013 and had a great time. The room was clean, well cared for and quiet, even on the front main street (3rd flr). The bar and restaurant on the rooftop is very nice with pretty views.

Room Tip: The windows are new and well insulated. Street noise was not a problem. Love the electric room darke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSKoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Front Office Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for writing your review, we appreciate that a lot! I am happy that you found your hotel experience at the Altis Avenida Hotel so positive, it will be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to Lisbon one day! Kind regards, Nuno Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,653 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#16 of 247 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
823 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing