We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Simply the best hotel in Lisbon for me.
The best for it's location, since the hotel is right just in the middle between the Liberation avenue and the old district. Everything can be done in a 1 minute walk.
The best for it's service; the hotel personnel is kind, understandable, always ready to help but discreet, and most of all, they are smiling.
The best for it's small attentions; everything is done for you to feel like home and comfortable. They even brought some goodies and accessories in the room for my dog while i was away.
The best for it's restaurant; food is very good, the view is very nice, and the personnel are so nice that i almost felt embarrassed.

For sure i'll go back to Altis Avenida Hotel on my future trips to Lisbon. This is my favorite hotel and they very well deserve their 5 stars, even more than that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you so much for writing this great review on your stay with us! As ususal, I will make sure that all of my colleagues will be made aware of the positive impact they had by simply serving well and with a smile on their faces. A lot of things in life are much easier than we think. In the tourism industry, the essence is being kind and truly welcoming, as simple as that! Take care, I really hope to see you back one day! Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    373
    73
    13
    3
See reviews for
216
679
48
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

There's lots to recommend this hotel:

Price: Ok, difficult for me to say here, my company regularly stay here and have a good corporate rate (which for the points I'll mention below is stunning - this hotel would be about €400/night in Paris). I would imagine that anything around €150/night or less is fantastic value.

Wi-Fi: Freebie!!! I shouldn't even be pleased by this, but so many hotels still charge for this.

Staff: I don't think there is a language invented these guys can't speak; they move effortlessly between Portuguese, Spanish, French, English, Chamicuro (I'm lying on that one), and so on - truly impressive and excellent service. They are hugely helpful and knowledgeable if you need help around Lisbon.

Location: At one end of the major shopping street Avenida da Liberdade (Bulgari, Louis Vuitton etc. abound), opposite Rossio train station and only 5 minutes walk into the Bairro Alto and 10 minutes walk from the port, its hard to imagine a better location.

Rooms: Old school gold taps and roman style furnishings; but modern and clean, flat screen TV, good lighting, and fully equipped - great large beds also. As you would expect in Lisbon, those late night drinks from the minibar or middle of the night water guzzling are not going to bother you when you wake up - everything is reasonable.

Breakfast: Stay away from the miserable cooked stuff (I'm guessing for the British) and you have a great choice of yoghurts, meats, breads etc. - but the killer here is the setting (see below).

Roof Top Bar: Oh yes baby - great choice. Breakfast bar by morning and lovely rooftop drinkypoos at night, great setting. The guys in the bar are very attentive and this is a superb place to have drinks. Plenty of choices in Lisbon for drinks, but this place is great!!! if you don't stay (and I wont be offended) do go for drinks.

Pool: Nope! Only real drawback (but you can use one of the pools at a sister hotel for €10).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
First of all, I had a great time reading your review, thank you for that :-) ! Your personal experience really came across well and your positive comments on our staff, the rooms and the Bar are highly appreciated! Hope to welcome you back one day, take care, Julia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Lisbon is not a big city, but to be located within a stone's throw from a metro is hugely convenient after the legs get tired (which they will do after a day of walking), and it's walking distance to the main districts and sights (other than Belem, which requires a tram ride). Breakfast is delightful since the dining room is on the rooftop, with excellent views, rather than on the first floor which is more the norm in hotels. Other pluses: friendly genuine staff (lobby and breakfast) and modern furnished rooms. Cons: bath towels had seen better days (clean, but fairly old), toilet roll could be better quality for a four or five star hotel, and I had to keep resetting wifi passwords (3 day pass, then 24 pass). Another request: more English language newspapers at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind comments on our location, breakfast quality and room's decoration. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you returned home with wonderful memories of Lisbon! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

A small boutique hotel in the heart of Lisbon close to all the attractions restaurants and bars. The management make you feel very welcome and are very efficient. The reception staff and porters cannot do enough for you, the roof top restaurant and bar served good food and an excellent service , the buffet breakfast was top quality. The rooms smaller than some I have stayed in but non the less very comfortable with all modern facilities. For a short stay in Lisbon whether it be on Business or a personal holiday try this hotel you will be pleased.

Room Tip: all rooms are similar except for the suites and rooms without a view are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind summary, I think you brought it all exactly to the point! I am glad you felt welcome and that you appreciated the quality of our services, our staff as well as our lovely roof-top restaurante. Feel invited to return anytime you like, it will be our pleasure to have you back as our guest! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just had 6 good nights at this hotel. It is well placed for sight-seeing, has an excellent view over a central square, yet the double glazing keeps the traffic noise out. Good breakfasts, but did not try the other meals. Only tried one local restaurant - not very good, we found better food in the Barrio Alto.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you very much for preferring the Altis Avenida Hotel for your long stay in Lisbon! I understand that you appreciated the central location and hope you brought wonderful memories of our beautiful capital back home! Take care & kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for two days in July 2013. Location is great for exploring Lisbon. Close to everything you need to see and the subway for things further out.
Staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful and prepared to have a chat without being pushy or giving the feeling it's all rehearsed. Bonuspoints for housekeepings turndown service: they would arrange my childs cuddly toys on his bed every evening.
Nice bar with great view and jummy tapas/appetizers.
One major bathroom issue: only a handshower available. No showerhead grip on the wall anywhere. This does not make for a relaxing shower if you only have two hands.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimster1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I am a frequent traveller and definitely this is not 5 stars. The service is pretty mediocre, doing their best but not enough.

Breakfast: poor
Internet: great
Room: good
Service: average
Top roof: great views but windy and cold

They sold us a package which has been proven to be very poor at a price of 185€ per night!! I can state that this hotel can never charge this price for its value!

Sorry but not recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Xavier o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#23 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing