We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The interior of the hotel is very modern and exceptionally clean. All the service staff were very helpful and took are cases up to the room and it was floor two. It was very quiet but rooms were very small for a 5 star but I understand it was an old building. We has a triple deluxe it has all you wanted in a five star. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of breads, fruit, cheeses, pastries ect. The outside sitting area is cold but the inside is very well furnished.
Overall - a good hotel and I certainly will return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaxyFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us! I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the services of the hotel and especially the friendliness of our staff. Take care, all the best and hope to welcome you back one day! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    372
    73
    13
    3
See reviews for
216
677
48
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

It's taken me quite a while to get around to writing this. We stayed at Altis Avenida last August. The hotel is in a super location for sightseeing. You can also get to airport bus right by the hotel. We loved sitting out on the rooftop terrace for breakfast or at night with a glass of wine. The rooms are modern and very clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdict041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Better late than never! Having remained in your memory over the last year is a good sign! Thank you very much for your kind comments on our rooftop restaurant, breakfast quality as well as our rooms. Should you return to Lisbon one day, it will be a pleasure welcoming you back. Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I'm a little lost for words for how to explain how amazing this hotel is. The room I stayed in was huge with every single detail thought about. Free fruit and bottle of Port! Great balcony over looking the square. Breakfast was superb, I wanted to spend all day eating it! Most importantly though was the calibre of staff. Incredibly helpful and friendly with perfect English. They went out of their way to help me, even charging my phone behind reception after I had checked out. Location is ideal for those wanting to see Lisbon. Honestly can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkhterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Made very welcome by young trainee on reception, he checked us in with great efficiency and saw us to our room on the 3rd Floor. Hotel has been refurbished in a kind of Art Deco style which suits the building and the rooms were very nice and furnished to a good standard. Nice bathroom with large walk in shower. Nice overhead rainshower and a hand held shower on the wall also. Our daughter travelled with us and so we had a superior triple room. Our only negative comment would be regarding the camp-bed which was not up to the standard of the rest of the room and was both squeaky and more worryingly had a large screw sticking up out of the headboard which we had to cover at night so as not to cause injury. Breakfast was a lovely continental hot and cold buffet in a the beautiful setting of the 7th floor dining room which had excellent views over lisbon and a lovely furnished terrace for alfresco dining. Nice evening meal was available here and it also served as a bar in the evenings too. Location of the hotel was very good with many of the attractions in walking distance, although Lisbon is a very hilly city and we made the most of a 2 day, bus, tram,funicular ticket to get around. Note to ladies, this is not a city for stilleto's as all the pavements are in the typical Lisbon mosaic/crazy paving style. Lots of eating and drinking establishments nearby and in fact everywhere you go. Would definitely stop here again and really enjoyed the city.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor on the busy frontage, but the glazing was excellent and we were not affected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsome-Twosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Simply the best hotel in Lisbon for me.
The best for it's location, since the hotel is right just in the middle between the Liberation avenue and the old district. Everything can be done in a 1 minute walk.
The best for it's service; the hotel personnel is kind, understandable, always ready to help but discreet, and most of all, they are smiling.
The best for it's small attentions; everything is done for you to feel like home and comfortable. They even brought some goodies and accessories in the room for my dog while i was away.
The best for it's restaurant; food is very good, the view is very nice, and the personnel are so nice that i almost felt embarrassed.

For sure i'll go back to Altis Avenida Hotel on my future trips to Lisbon. This is my favorite hotel and they very well deserve their 5 stars, even more than that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you so much for writing this great review on your stay with us! As ususal, I will make sure that all of my colleagues will be made aware of the positive impact they had by simply serving well and with a smile on their faces. A lot of things in life are much easier than we think. In the tourism industry, the essence is being kind and truly welcoming, as simple as that! Take care, I really hope to see you back one day! Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

There's lots to recommend this hotel:

Price: Ok, difficult for me to say here, my company regularly stay here and have a good corporate rate (which for the points I'll mention below is stunning - this hotel would be about €400/night in Paris). I would imagine that anything around €150/night or less is fantastic value.

Wi-Fi: Freebie!!! I shouldn't even be pleased by this, but so many hotels still charge for this.

Staff: I don't think there is a language invented these guys can't speak; they move effortlessly between Portuguese, Spanish, French, English, Chamicuro (I'm lying on that one), and so on - truly impressive and excellent service. They are hugely helpful and knowledgeable if you need help around Lisbon.

Location: At one end of the major shopping street Avenida da Liberdade (Bulgari, Louis Vuitton etc. abound), opposite Rossio train station and only 5 minutes walk into the Bairro Alto and 10 minutes walk from the port, its hard to imagine a better location.

Rooms: Old school gold taps and roman style furnishings; but modern and clean, flat screen TV, good lighting, and fully equipped - great large beds also. As you would expect in Lisbon, those late night drinks from the minibar or middle of the night water guzzling are not going to bother you when you wake up - everything is reasonable.

Breakfast: Stay away from the miserable cooked stuff (I'm guessing for the British) and you have a great choice of yoghurts, meats, breads etc. - but the killer here is the setting (see below).

Roof Top Bar: Oh yes baby - great choice. Breakfast bar by morning and lovely rooftop drinkypoos at night, great setting. The guys in the bar are very attentive and this is a superb place to have drinks. Plenty of choices in Lisbon for drinks, but this place is great!!! if you don't stay (and I wont be offended) do go for drinks.

Pool: Nope! Only real drawback (but you can use one of the pools at a sister hotel for €10).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
First of all, I had a great time reading your review, thank you for that :-) ! Your personal experience really came across well and your positive comments on our staff, the rooms and the Bar are highly appreciated! Hope to welcome you back one day, take care, Julia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Lisbon is not a big city, but to be located within a stone's throw from a metro is hugely convenient after the legs get tired (which they will do after a day of walking), and it's walking distance to the main districts and sights (other than Belem, which requires a tram ride). Breakfast is delightful since the dining room is on the rooftop, with excellent views, rather than on the first floor which is more the norm in hotels. Other pluses: friendly genuine staff (lobby and breakfast) and modern furnished rooms. Cons: bath towels had seen better days (clean, but fairly old), toilet roll could be better quality for a four or five star hotel, and I had to keep resetting wifi passwords (3 day pass, then 24 pass). Another request: more English language newspapers at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind comments on our location, breakfast quality and room's decoration. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you returned home with wonderful memories of Lisbon! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing