We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, excellent value, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel, excellent value, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The staff are friendly and very helpful, we had asked for an early check in but the room wasn’t quite ready so decided to have a drink on the lovely roof terrace while waiting. When we asked for the bill we were pleasantly surprised to be told it was “on the house” – a very nice touch.
The rooms are stylish and well-appointed with very comfortable beds. Breakfast on the roof was excellent in terms of food and the beautiful view. The location is very central with lots of places within walking distance and easy access to the buses, trams and metro.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaPh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    372
    73
    13
    3
See reviews for
216
675
48
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wonderful modern hotel within easy walking to all the downtown sights of Lisbon, including the trolley to upper Lisbon. Hotel also has a wonderful staff. The rooftop bar has a great view and also a terrific selection of scotch, among other things! The bar staff is delightful and friendly, remembering what you like after just one visit. Our hotel room was fairly small, but very nicely appointed with easy wifi access. Very good and varied breakfast buffet with, again, a very warm staff. The hotel is located next door to the metro station, which makes it very easy to travel to any other parts of Lisbon, to the train station or airport. After staying in another hotel and visiting hotels where colleagues stayed while attending a meeting in Lisbon, I would not stay anywhere else but here when in Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel has the best location for seeing all of Lisbon! The yellow bus from the airport was only 5 stops until the hotel and at a low cost of 3.50Euros per person. Hotel across the street from Starbucks if that is your thing. Metro station a few feet away (no noise). This is a very quiet hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are small but you really don't need a lot of room. So many restaurants within walking distance and hop on, hop off bus tour is worth the $ as you can get a 48 hour pass for 25Euros. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had three people traveling and they brought in a cot (added charge of $77 canadian per night but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryMondello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
I am happy that you enjoyed staying with us and would like to thank you especially for your kind comments on our staff. Please do return one day, we would be very pleased to have you back! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My first time in Lisbon and stayed here for 3 nights which was just perfect. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and were always happy to help. I was given a map upon check-in showing the hotel location, surronding areas and sights plus a local events booklet. This hotel is in a great location and central to all sites and most were in walking distance...well if you like to walk that is :)
The rooftop bar is soooooo relaxing and great for a night-cap with excellent views. Plenty of options for breakfast and good spread from cereals to cold meats and cheese, breads to crossiants to eggs, juices to tea and coffee.
If I came back to Lisbon then I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinnerClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel is in a very good location and is a good base for exploring Lisbon. Upon arrival, staff are friendly and very helpful - they provided me with a map of the city. Rooms are quite small but are of an excellent standard. They provide a nightly turn-down service.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCTEColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is in the best location of Lisbon, close to everything. It has the best staff and we travelled with our 13 month old daughter and the staff were so friendly and helpful. She got sick on the holiday and they did everything to help us get everything sorted.
It has a beautiful roof top area for food and drinks. Breakfast was just great, lots of options with great views. Drinks at night were chilled out and again beautiful views of the city at night.
Rooms were nice and clean and the hotel had a lovely cot for our daughter.
One small thing is that the towels and robes were a bit dated for a 5 star hotel. They were quite worn with holes in them but they still did the trick.
We definitely plan a return trip to Lisbon and will stay here again.

Room Tip: We noticed that rooms on floor 2 had balconies which could be quite nice. A high floor would also g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata, MN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just got back from a great first-time trip to Lisbon. Was there for a medical congress and selected this hotel based upon consistently positive reviews on LinkedIn. I can echo others by saying that the service at this hotel was simply the best I've ever experienced. From the moment we stepped in the front door, the staff was asking, "What can we do to assist?" I opted to upgrade from a classic room to a superior which according to my colleagues was a good idea. My room was on a corner overlooking one of the many squares in the area and was very bright and cheerful although a bit on the small side. Motorized black-out shades not only kept out light but also a good amount of the traffic noise outside.

Location of the hotel is convenient to some of the best sights, shopping and restaurants in the central city. I would highly recommend that even if you don't choose this hotel that you stay in the general area. It was a pleasant 15-minute walk down a pedestrian-only shopping road to the waterfront which had a number of charming outdoor restaurants. Although we used taxis each day to reach the Congress Center, there was a metro station right outside the hotel's front entrance.

The only (small) criticism I might mention was the breakfast. It is on the 7th floor indoor/outdoor deck and the view was spectacular with the sun rising each morning. Again, service was very attentive and prompt. The food, however, seemed to be lacking in variety and quality. For 20,-Euro it seemed overpriced. At 10,- Euro I wouldn't have thought twice about it. Personally, I'd vote for an improvement in selection and keep the price on the high side. For a business visitor, a good breakfast in the morning is worth paying a little extra. Often, you might miss lunch.

Overall, an extremely professional staff in a perfect location and rooms that are as good as any you'd probably find in Lisbon. What else could you ask for? I'll be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 20,- Euro per night (or whatever you are quoted) for a superior corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfargo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing