We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service beyond expectations”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My mother is not easy to please. She left her wallet and iPhone in the hotel shuttle, and despite giving the shuttle driver a hard time, they still went out of their way to return her iPhone and wallet to Venezia by next day courier. Life savers!

Staff friendly, location excellent. Great experience overall.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ayedotb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I am glad that we could be of service and that you got your important belongings back on time! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    392
    75
    14
    3
See reviews for
226
705
52
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I wanted to title my review Location, Location, Location, but that would have been redundant! Nevertheless, the location is within walking distance to almost everything - Comercio Square, Bairro Alto, The Elevator, The Funicular, the Yellow Bus, Chiado, the train station and even a Starbucks which is across the street! It is a lovely boutique art deco style hotel with about 90 rooms. If you enjoy a big breakfast, good to get that included with the rate. If not, it is convenient to find a smaller breakfast nearby. We did frequent the Starbucks as my husband enjoys a large cup of American coffee and their croissants were good. I found the Altis Avenida Hotel on Trip Advisor through a review about another Altis Hotel in Lisbon. We were not disappointed. The concierges were so helpful, but I must mention Joao - he recommended O Faia to us for fado and we spent a memorable evening there. The hotel offered a special rate on a two day Yellow Bus pass which we used both days. The bus departs from a square that is near the hotel. The room was small as has been stated, but the mattress was firm, it was newly renovated and very quiet which is always a plus. Bathroom had a walk-in modern shower, but there wasn't a separate toilet. They offer a bottle on water on the first night only, but there is a small grocery store in the area where we bought water. There is a very small flight of stairs up to the elevator and the staff helped us with our bags. However, that wouldn't be a problem for most folks. There was a computer you could use in the lobby and free wi-fi in the rooms. After a few nights, we discovered a wonderful restaurant literally around the corner from the hotel - Da Vinci Ristorante & Pizzeria. Barbara is the Hostess and explained the menu. Her enthusiasm was so contagious, we decided to eat there. Outstanding white sangria and their pasta (al dente) dishes are second to none!!! Enjoy Lisboa - enjoy the Altis Avenida!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceA885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Janice, reading your review, it is easy to imagine how it feels to stay at the Altis Avenida Hotel, great! Our location really is one of the best you can get. How wonderful to hear that you were happy with our recommendations, I will pass on your kind comments to João from Reception! I was also very pleased to hear that you rated the comfort of the beds and the soundproofed windows as excellent, thank you for that feed-back. Please feel welcome to come back anytime! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

In a city where neighborhoods are spread out, the Altis Avenida has a superb location. Facing the Pracos Restauradores, it is within walking distance of many sights, restaurants and shops. The staff was helpful, the breakfast buffet delightful and the rooftop terrace was a wonderful place to unwind after a busy day. We stayed in a deluxe room with a lovely view of the city. Knowing that it was a special anniversary for us, management sent a bottle of champagne to our room, a very nice touch! Free wifi was appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BocaTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your hotel experience with us. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as the services and little "extras". It is our pleasure to surprise, especially on a celebration ocasion! All the best to you, kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Altis faces the Praca Restauradores & very convenient. It is near the Praca Dom Pedro IV (cafes etc), Rossio Station (for trips to Queluz & Sintra), the Santa Justa Lift (for the Barrio Alta & views), the Santa Gloria Funicular (for the barrio Alta & Sao Roque Church); the Praca Figueira (for the historic trams, bus 737 to the castle, modern trams to Belem; and to Rua Augusta in the Baixa (for the shops, cafes, walk to the R Tejo & river front at the Praca Commercio).

This means you can see a lot of Lisbon with the Altis as a centre. Our room 609 had a very good view and was quiet. The staff. those who service the room and the restaurant are pleasant & helpful. There is frequent replenishment of items at breakfast and a helpful Teresa who ensured that the guests' coffee cups were filled regularly. Reception was efficient and called us a taxi for the airport.

The location and staff made this time in Lisboa great.
Of course, as a city hotel, the bathroom is relatively small but smartly appointed. The layout (with loo & bidet) resulted in an awkward step into the bath for use of the shower. The water was hot whenever we used the room.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the castle, some of Praca Restauradores (your choice); but seek a higher r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WPWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently spent four nights here and could not have asked for a better experience. The staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. They are very willing to help you enjoy your stay and are full of information regarding the sites to visit. Our room, a superior one was large and well maintained with a comfortable, very large bed and soundproofing. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and the staff worked very hard to make sure you had everything you wanted. We had a meal in the restaurant, the food very good and presentation excellent. The rooftop restaurant gives great views of the city. It is very easy to get from the airport on the bus which stops very close to the hotel. A very well positioned hotel for visiting the city. We would definitely stay at the Altis Avenida on a future visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for recommending us, it means a lot to us! Our whole purpose is make guests feel the way you did, so we really appreciate you sharing your impressions with us and the rest of the world! Take care & kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was the first of our four hotels during our two week trip throughout Portugal, and I'll say, I was worried the others would be a let down (they weren't) because this hotel was just ideal. It is located right in the middle of town, with lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance (if you can handle walking up and down hills). You can hardly see it from the street, but don't be thrown off by its fairly modest lobby. Our room, a superior double, was very spacious and comfortable. It was such a treat to return to the calm of the hotel and our quiet room after a long day of sightseeing.

The room was perfectly clean and had plenty of storage--we like to be able to fully unpack, and with two weeks' worth of clothing, we had a good bit with us, and it all fit neatly in the closet and shelves. I recall a review mentioning inadequate lighting, but we did not find that a problem, our room had enough lights to read at night and was perfectly bright in the morning when curtains were open. My only two complaints (that is too strong a word, just minor issues) would be that I found the bed very hard (as were the beds in the other hotels where we stayed) and there wasn't much surface space in the bathroom. Otherwise, we were absolutely comfortable.

The gentlemen working the front desk were always very friendly and helpful and offered great suggestions for dining and such. The servers in the restaurant--we just had breakfast at the hotel--were always friends. The buffet breakfast was very good, and included pastries, fresh fruit, cheese and many other items. It wasn't the most spectacular buffet I've ever had (which was at the Copacabana Palace in Rio), but it was good, fresh, and filling. I'm not sure why others have complained. This isn't America, thankfully!

We'd stay here again in a heartbeat if we're ever able to return to Lisbon (which we adored).

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room so we were placed on the top (5th) floor. We were never bothered by any st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am so very glad that you had such a positive hotel experience with us, especially as it was the start of your journey through Portugal! Thank you ever so much for your kind comments on our staff, rooms & breakfast. Feel welcome returning to our property and to beautiful Lisbon anytime! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at this lovely hotel. It's located directly across from the Rossio train station in an Art Deco building and blends Art Deco design details with all the updated conveniences travelers expect today. We stayed in a superior room on the sixth floor. The room was spacious for a European hotel, particularly the beautifully-appointed marble bathroom, which had its own door to the balcony. We arrived very early and the front desk held our bags until the room was ready. When we came to pick up the keys, the bags were in the room, as well as complimentary sherry, fruit and a bottle of water. A thoughtful detail after a long day! A friendly but professional front desk gentleman accompanied us to make sure we had everything we needed and to point out how everything worked. We found the soundproof windows to be very effective at blocking out street noise.

I opted to have breakfast included, primarily because it is served on the top floor dining room and terrace. The breakfast has everything one needs, from fruit and cheese to eggs and various meats. The staff is very warm and professional, and the head waitress remembered how we preferred our coffee. The terrace has incredible views, and is available all day for a cocktail or to just to sit and read the paper.

The location of the hotel is ideal, as it sits between the train station (metro and trains to Sintra) and the Restauradores Metro. It is also around the corner from Figueira Square (trams and buses). Last, the AeroBus stop is down the street, making the return trip to the airport a breeze.

However, memorable stays are always in the details. I asked the front desk staff if they possibly had an Apple charger for our electronic devices (we had forgotten ours at home), and much to the delight of my daughter, they pulled one out from a drawer. Overall, I could not think of a better hotel to use as a base for a Lisbon stay. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you prefer a balcony, ask for a room on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl10520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I love mother-daughter city trips, therefore I was really happy to hear that you had such a great time in Lisbon and at our hotel! Thank you very much for your detailed feedback, it was great to read that you enjoyed your room, the decoration, our breakfast offer, the friendliness of our staff and the overall location of the hotel. I wish you all the best and remain with kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,657 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,496 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
826 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing