We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #35 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very modern quite cold interior. Yes ,admittedly, great location.The Hotel woo's you on tripadvisor with emails on specials, higher priced hotel anyway then sticks you in a back room facing an old delapidated building. I refused completely to stay in such a room! And was given a room facing the square .
No turn down service, no coffee station in the room ( always a surprise to me) and one particular staff member at reception has been fairly sarcastic to me when a request was made to show how some lamps curtains etc in the room worked. Will not return and will stay with Sofitel when in Lisbon, which was superb!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My mother is not easy to please. She left her wallet and iPhone in the hotel shuttle, and despite giving the shuttle driver a hard time, they still went out of their way to return her iPhone and wallet to Venezia by next day courier. Life savers!

Staff friendly, location excellent. Great experience overall.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ayedotb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

I am glad that we could be of service and that you got your important belongings back on time! Kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I wanted to title my review Location, Location, Location, but that would have been redundant! Nevertheless, the location is within walking distance to almost everything - Comercio Square, Bairro Alto, The Elevator, The Funicular, the Yellow Bus, Chiado, the train station and even a Starbucks which is across the street! It is a lovely boutique art deco style hotel with about 90 rooms. If you enjoy a big breakfast, good to get that included with the rate. If not, it is convenient to find a smaller breakfast nearby. We did frequent the Starbucks as my husband enjoys a large cup of American coffee and their croissants were good. I found the Altis Avenida Hotel on Trip Advisor through a review about another Altis Hotel in Lisbon. We were not disappointed. The concierges were so helpful, but I must mention Joao - he recommended O Faia to us for fado and we spent a memorable evening there. The hotel offered a special rate on a two day Yellow Bus pass which we used both days. The bus departs from a square that is near the hotel. The room was small as has been stated, but the mattress was firm, it was newly renovated and very quiet which is always a plus. Bathroom had a walk-in modern shower, but there wasn't a separate toilet. They offer a bottle on water on the first night only, but there is a small grocery store in the area where we bought water. There is a very small flight of stairs up to the elevator and the staff helped us with our bags. However, that wouldn't be a problem for most folks. There was a computer you could use in the lobby and free wi-fi in the rooms. After a few nights, we discovered a wonderful restaurant literally around the corner from the hotel - Da Vinci Ristorante & Pizzeria. Barbara is the Hostess and explained the menu. Her enthusiasm was so contagious, we decided to eat there. Outstanding white sangria and their pasta (al dente) dishes are second to none!!! Enjoy Lisboa - enjoy the Altis Avenida!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaniceA885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Janice, reading your review, it is easy to imagine how it feels to stay at the Altis Avenida Hotel, great! Our location really is one of the best you can get. How wonderful to hear that you were happy with our recommendations, I will pass on your kind comments to João from Reception! I was also very pleased to hear that you rated the comfort of the beds and the soundproofed windows as excellent, thank you for that feed-back. Please feel welcome to come back anytime! Kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

In a city where neighborhoods are spread out, the Altis Avenida has a superb location. Facing the Pracos Restauradores, it is within walking distance of many sights, restaurants and shops. The staff was helpful, the breakfast buffet delightful and the rooftop terrace was a wonderful place to unwind after a busy day. We stayed in a deluxe room with a lovely view of the city. Knowing that it was a special anniversary for us, management sent a bottle of champagne to our room, a very nice touch! Free wifi was appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BocaTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your hotel experience with us. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as the services and little "extras". It is our pleasure to surprise, especially on a celebration ocasion! All the best to you, kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Altis faces the Praca Restauradores & very convenient. It is near the Praca Dom Pedro IV (cafes etc), Rossio Station (for trips to Queluz & Sintra), the Santa Justa Lift (for the Barrio Alta & views), the Santa Gloria Funicular (for the barrio Alta & Sao Roque Church); the Praca Figueira (for the historic trams, bus 737 to the castle, modern trams to Belem; and to Rua Augusta in the Baixa (for the shops, cafes, walk to the R Tejo & river front at the Praca Commercio).

This means you can see a lot of Lisbon with the Altis as a centre. Our room 609 had a very good view and was quiet. The staff. those who service the room and the restaurant are pleasant & helpful. There is frequent replenishment of items at breakfast and a helpful Teresa who ensured that the guests' coffee cups were filled regularly. Reception was efficient and called us a taxi for the airport.

The location and staff made this time in Lisboa great.
Of course, as a city hotel, the bathroom is relatively small but smartly appointed. The layout (with loo & bidet) resulted in an awkward step into the bath for use of the shower. The water was hot whenever we used the room.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the castle, some of Praca Restauradores (your choice); but seek a higher r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WPWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently spent four nights here and could not have asked for a better experience. The staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. They are very willing to help you enjoy your stay and are full of information regarding the sites to visit. Our room, a superior one was large and well maintained with a comfortable, very large bed and soundproofing. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and the staff worked very hard to make sure you had everything you wanted. We had a meal in the restaurant, the food very good and presentation excellent. The rooftop restaurant gives great views of the city. It is very easy to get from the airport on the bus which stops very close to the hotel. A very well positioned hotel for visiting the city. We would definitely stay at the Altis Avenida on a future visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for recommending us, it means a lot to us! Our whole purpose is make guests feel the way you did, so we really appreciate you sharing your impressions with us and the rest of the world! Take care & kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was the first of our four hotels during our two week trip throughout Portugal, and I'll say, I was worried the others would be a let down (they weren't) because this hotel was just ideal. It is located right in the middle of town, with lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance (if you can handle walking up and down hills). You can hardly see it from the street, but don't be thrown off by its fairly modest lobby. Our room, a superior double, was very spacious and comfortable. It was such a treat to return to the calm of the hotel and our quiet room after a long day of sightseeing.

The room was perfectly clean and had plenty of storage--we like to be able to fully unpack, and with two weeks' worth of clothing, we had a good bit with us, and it all fit neatly in the closet and shelves. I recall a review mentioning inadequate lighting, but we did not find that a problem, our room had enough lights to read at night and was perfectly bright in the morning when curtains were open. My only two complaints (that is too strong a word, just minor issues) would be that I found the bed very hard (as were the beds in the other hotels where we stayed) and there wasn't much surface space in the bathroom. Otherwise, we were absolutely comfortable.

The gentlemen working the front desk were always very friendly and helpful and offered great suggestions for dining and such. The servers in the restaurant--we just had breakfast at the hotel--were always friends. The buffet breakfast was very good, and included pastries, fresh fruit, cheese and many other items. It wasn't the most spectacular buffet I've ever had (which was at the Copacabana Palace in Rio), but it was good, fresh, and filling. I'm not sure why others have complained. This isn't America, thankfully!

We'd stay here again in a heartbeat if we're ever able to return to Lisbon (which we adored).

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room so we were placed on the top (5th) floor. We were never bothered by any st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I am so very glad that you had such a positive hotel experience with us, especially as it was the start of your journey through Portugal! Thank you ever so much for your kind comments on our staff, rooms & breakfast. Feel welcome returning to our property and to beautiful Lisbon anytime! Kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,872 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
970 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,619 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#60 of 255 in Lisbon
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £128 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing