We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altis Avenida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #32 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is centrally located and you can walk pretty much everywhere. The hotel is right on the Aerobus route so access from/to the airport is very easy. The room was comfortable with contemporary decor and modern amenities. Ours was one (tall) floor above street level with a small balcony. Good view of street activities. Noise was not a problem. The roof top restaurant has a fantastic view, serves great food, and a very relaxed atmosphere. Also many restaurants at Rossio Square a 5 minute walk away. The hotel staff are very attentive and helpful. The highly recommended hills tram tour starts about 15-20 min walk down Rua Augusta at Praca do Comercio. We booked this hotel as part of a 2-night British Airways fly-hotel package. It was a very good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you ever so much for writing about us. It was great to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the style of our decoration. We also thank you for recommending our beautiful roof-top restaurant and for praising food, ambience & staff. Please pay us another visit in the future, we will be delighted to have you back! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    362
    73
    13
    2
See reviews for
211
655
47
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I took a short break to Lisbon and found the Altis Avenida to be a great base to explore the city. It's very central with all the main bus tours and trams starting from a short walk away. The rooms were of a good size for a city hotel and excellently furnished, modern, very clean and well maintained. We had a deluxe with a small balcony, on the 6th floor. The only thing missing from the room was a coffee/tea maker which would have been most welcome early in the morning. This leads me on to the only downside to the hotel - the cost of drinks. The drinks were incredibly expensive. I don't really understand how a cocktail and a mocktail (without alcohol) can be the same price - 9 Euros. When compared to a an upmarket bar just along the street, which charged 5.50 Euros for a cocktail I would say that 9 is rather excessive. It's not really whether you can afford to pay it or not, it's the principle so we decided not to drink in the rooftop bar, which was a shame because it was very nice indeed. The same area is used for breakfast, which was very good and the view lovely. Strangely the food was not too expensive, when compared to similar restaurants but because of the cost of drinks we decided not to eat there. Anyway there are so many excellent restaurants in Lisbon it's not difficult to find an alternative. The staff are very attentive and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. So despite the extortionate prices of drinks we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Great location, decor, breakfast and staff. Plus of course Lisbon is a beautiful city and somewhere I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJA_FJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel's location, walking distance to the local neighborhoods (Bairro Alto, Chiado, and Alfama) and next to the Rossio train station and the metro blue line, makes getting around Lisbon very accessible and easy.
The hotel's staff were very polite and friendly, with no problems in communicating in English.
The hotel's restaurant, located on the top floor, with an outdoor patio, is a wonderful location to enjoy an adult drink and meal with a wonderful view of the city.
The buffet breakfast is plentiful with many choices, and the restaurant's setting and atmosphere provide a marvelous environment for an elegant and relaxing dinner.
The rooms are renovated and very modern, and the interior of the hotel is very elegant.

Room Tip: Although the street can be noisy from traffic, the closed windows kept all the noise out. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yurkoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, NH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family stayed in 2 rooms for 5 days in mid June at Altis Avenida Hotel. The Hotel is new and extremely comfortable. Beds and Bath were much better then typical European accommodations. The front desk staff could not be more helpful for advice about restaurants etc. The rooms were quiet even though the Hotel is ideally located in a busy part of town directly across from the Rossio train Station. The windows really blocked the street sound well even though we were on the first floor. The seventh floor restaurant and bar has a great staff and view. The breakfast was good not great but the bar was a great spot for a late night drink sitting outside. Location is ideal for walking to many of the best neighborhoods in Lisbon. If

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFBBedford_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while visiting Lisbon. Everything was perfect! From the moment you arrive at the front desk, all is just right. Very friendly staff; spacious, up-to-date, pristine, well-appointed rooms. We had a balcony with a magnificent view. The bathrooms are relatively new and all marble. The free wifi is superb, and the beds are comfortable. After visiting Porto, we decided to go back to the same hotel again on our return to Lisbon. Altis Avenida was perfect! Thank you guys!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very modern quite cold interior. Yes ,admittedly, great location.The Hotel woo's you on tripadvisor with emails on specials, higher priced hotel anyway then sticks you in a back room facing an old delapidated building. I refused completely to stay in such a room! And was given a room facing the square .
No turn down service, no coffee station in the room ( always a surprise to me) and one particular staff member at reception has been fairly sarcastic to me when a request was made to show how some lamps curtains etc in the room worked. Will not return and will stay with Sofitel when in Lisbon, which was superb!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My mother is not easy to please. She left her wallet and iPhone in the hotel shuttle, and despite giving the shuttle driver a hard time, they still went out of their way to return her iPhone and wallet to Venezia by next day courier. Life savers!

Staff friendly, location excellent. Great experience overall.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ayedotb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I am glad that we could be of service and that you got your important belongings back on time! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing