We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value but with faults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
Ranked #144 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“good value but with faults”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is good value for money but my stay was spoiled by unpleasant experiences with the hotel staff. Most staff on reception while not friendly were efficient, except for one young man who tutted every time he was asked for assistance. A cleaning lady smashed a bottle of perfume, reception staff informed me that I would be recompensed. However at checking out, the manager informed me that the money would be taken out of the cleaner's salary, now i understand why she was crying all morning. Needless to mention I said not to punish the cleaner but the experience left an unpleasant taste in my mouth, if the manager had offered me a voucher or something like that I would have been satisfied but I felt that he was bullying me into not looking for compensation. My room was very small and the toilet smelled. In future I would prefer to pay a bit more and have a more satisfying hotel stay

Room Tip: I was in a single room 703 which was tiny, with a smelly toilet. Ask to see your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    326
    113
    20
    15
See reviews for
72
366
40
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Very petite and cute hotel. We like it. Clean and tidy too!

It is conviniently located at a walking distance to the city centre; or if you prefer, the metro is just two minutes away.

Recommended for shorter stays in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

New build, so tidy, smart and fresh. Rather "compact". Breakfast room and lobby "bar" only. Very modest choice in each Third floor room was small with very limited storage space, one chair, constantly gloomy/dark because faced an inner courtyard backing onto residential flats into which one could not avoid peering - and vice versa. Quiet with safe and fridge, but inadequate and noisy air conditioning which could not lower the room beyond 24oC. No kettle. Reception staff are somewhat inexperienced.
Working district showing depressing dereliction, trashed surroundings and graffiti scrawled buildings. 2 miles out of main centre but well served by Metro and bus.Easily walkable downhill straight to town in about 20-30 mins. Just adequate as a base for a short visit to Lisbon.
Truly excellent, reasonably priced, very friendly, great menu restaurant "O Vitral" - patronised by locals -100 metres (turn right) in same street. Lunch in town at least once in "Trigo Latino" Rua Terreiro do Trigo it really is a gem and close to (but not involved in) the tourist trap routes.
Lisbon is very hilly with slippy, uneven pavements and crazy traffic. AVOID, AVOID,AVOID(!) tourist buses and trams (buy standard cheap travel card from any metro station and top-up as necessary) and jump on and off metro/trams/buses by planning yourself, using local street/route plans. (Found DK's Ten Top Tips/Lisbon Guide pretty sparse and disappointing.)

You must see:
Gulbenkian Museum (walkable from Luxe)
Mosterio de Sao Vicente de For a
Carmo Ruins
Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga (but take a taxi/bus as walking there is through some ghastly districts)
Although the weather was stupendous and the people (mainly) friendly we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Floors 6/7 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadflyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

A new hotel in a calm and peaceful area of Lisbon. We (3 persons) stayed in a room with an extra bed one week in the end of March 2013. The room was nice and clean. Our room at the top floor even had a balcony with a nice view over the surrounding neighborhood. There was also a safe which was very useful. The towels and linen were changed daily.
Though, we had a minor problem with water on the floor when we took showers. There ought to be a better seal between the glazings at the bath tub.
The breakfast was rather simple but fresh. We should have appreciated some minor variations between the days.
For dinner, a nice restaurant, O Raposo, was located only two miutes walk from the hotel.
It is also close, five minutes walk, to Anjos metro station. If you prefer you could even walk to Baixa which is only 20 minutes away.
On the day of departure the man at the reception desk helped us to get some breakfast although it was 5.30 in the morning. The restaurant opens at 7.00.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The hotel is a good location and there is a great bakery at the end of the street (turn right out of reception and walk to the end of the street and go right again). It's first class.

The 3 out of 4 staff we met at reception were so unhelpful. They had no customer service skills whatsoever and even the smallest of things seemed to be a huge big deal. I thought maybe there might be a language barrier but this wasn't the case. A smile can go a long way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattyc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This modern hotel is situated on a quiet residential street just a few minutes from Anjos metro station. It is a very good base from which to explore Lisbon, although the area itself, being residential, has a limited choice of restaurants or bars. The hotel is very clean and comfortable; it was a pleasure to return to a spotlessly fresh room at the end of each day exploring the quaint and beautiful city of Lisbon. Others have commented on the reception staff being a bit lacking in charm, well yes it is true the receptionists might not actually smile much but they are certainly not unpleasant and we had no problems with them at all. The breakfast buffet gets a bit repetitive after 2 days but it was adequate at a low cost. Although the rooms are not very large I award extra positive points for the fact that each room has a small refrigerator and a safe and take a few off because of the bland "music" coming out of the ceiling loudspeakers on the landings outside the bedroom doors. Fortunately the doors are heavy and almost soundproof. Overall I would certainly recommend the Luxe Hotel as a very good choice of place to stay as a tourist in Lisbon if you can get a good rate through one of the internet booking agencies.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antloneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel is very new and modern. Rooms cleaned well, fresh towels and bed linen daily. Location good for exploring Lisbon, metro only 5 mins away but not too far to walk although quite hilly. Breakfast very simple, not alot of choice and repetitive. Some of rooms quite small but we had a room at front of hotel on 6th floor which was a good size with a Juillet balacony. Bathroom small but well appointed. Good value for money. Only negative was the reception staff, when we arrived the lad on reception didn't even say hello just waited for us to hand him the hotel voucher. Although not unhelpful, requested more pillows which arrived within 10 mins of request and friends needed television to be retune again sorted very promptly. All reception staff seem to be same, no smile. good morning, good evening or anything. This does let the Hotel a bit and as many reviews mention this the Hotel surely would be wise to recify this, send staff on interpersonal skilld course.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stekare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#122 of 251 in Lisbon
853 reviews
Lisbon City Hotel
#162 of 251 in Lisbon
516 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#151 of 251 in Lisbon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Travel Park
#104 of 251 in Lisbon
743 reviews
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 251 in Lisbon
1,945 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#59 of 251 in Lisbon
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis

Property: Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
Address: Rua Passos Manuel 28, Lisbon 1150-260, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing