We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Catarina Hotel
Ranked #363 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a blokes weekend and could have no complaints whatsoever. At a very reasonable price we found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable with excellent, friendly, helpful staff. Good location away from any noisy bars etc but close enough to the sites and sounds Bairro Alto and the rest that Lisbon has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alio49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights on a business trip. Ideally located for business and pleasure. The rooms are small but superb value. Wifi in rooms and lounge. The staff are friendly and incredibly helpful. Thanks, Pedro and colleagues for a wonderful visit.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank WalkingRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Despite being a budget place, the Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina is actually not so bad for one night. The room wasn't very big, but the bed was comfortable enough, the location perfect and the price good. That said, for longer stays I'd look at other options.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Vini_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

really nice place, good location, right in the heart of town and minutes walking away from a nice view point. funky rooms, nice design, but unfortunately rooms are quite small. especially bathrooms, you can not fit in 2 people there... no wifi in the rooms. well, they say there is one, but it doesnt work. so why would you even say yes we have wifi in the rooms. wifi is available only down at the lobby.breakfast is quite annoying, all you get is one simple pre-prepared plate with some cheese and a ham....but overall good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brotherjacklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The location of this guesthouse is good, in the heart of Bairro Alto, on a narrow street.Taxidrivers do not know the name of the street or the hotel.Great chance to make the tour of Baixa and Bairro Alto and to spend a lot of money!It's a good idea to print a map using Google maps if you are for the first time in Lisbon.
The staff was polite, but unhelpfull.It was a stupid choice to stay in this guesthouse.I was not impressed seeing lots of black cats on the walls or green lamps in my room,nothing original in the design.
The room was very small and dark, no place for my things.Just two beds and a little table, nothing else.No chairs, no night lamp.I kept all my things in my big suitcase, except the laptop.The bathroom, without door, just a plastic curtain in front of the shower has enough space for a cat, but not for a tall woman.Of course, the shampoo was poor, cheap.I front of my window was the patio, terrible noisy when this place was populated.Free wi-fi, but who cares?No enough place to stay in this tiny room!
And the enormous price of this modest room was 46 euro for a night, without breakfast.
I cannot recommend this guesthouse, sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina Hotel is a very nice place to stay a couple of nights. Location is good (near Bairro Alto), bed was very comfortable and free wi-fi was provided, but what impressed me the most was the decoration, specially the lively colors. The only con is that the rooms are a bit small, but for the price and considering the type of hotel (2*), it still is great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 351pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I stayed for 3 nigths and I liked this hotel so much. Maybe when you're looking at map location does not seem very central but in fact it does. It takes 10-15 min to get hotel from Placa do Commercioon on foot. Tram station is just around the corner. Also there is excellent lookout just from steps from the hotel.
Howerver it's not easy to find the hotel especially if it's your first visit to Lisbon - therefore I' advice to cath the taxi.
Room is minimally furnished but it's not a big deal. The only issue is the shower. It is really small and it's not comfortable to take a shower because of curtain. But I knew about it so it wasn't problem for me at all.
Stuff is extremely welcoming, polite and helpful. Nice design. Central location. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
502 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catarina Hotel

Address: Rua Doutor Luis de Almeida e Albuquerque 6 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-154, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £31 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Catarina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daring, dynamic, young, friendly, trendy, irreverent, bohemian in the heart of Bairro Alto. A bar, a lounge area with wireless internet, cozy spot and two decks with outdoor terrace complete the offer of Santa Catarina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Santa Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing