We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dining experience amongst lovely people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Dourado

Sol Dourado
Reserve with
Sol Dourado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #243 of 4,058 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great dining experience amongst lovely people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

It was our first trip to Lisbon and on the 24th September we checked with fellow 'trip advisors' on a good 'local' restaurant in central Lisbon. Sol Dourado came highly recommended. Its located in a street of restaurants at the bottom end off the Avenida da Liberdade and as it was a warm night we took an outside table night. The menu had a comprehensive range of local dishes and fish/ sea food was, of course, at the heart of the choices on offer. Guided by the welcoming and friendly people running Sol Dourado we chose a sea food and pasta dish, a cut from a whole fresh fish brought to our table, and a carafe of local red wine - fruity and very cheap. On top of all this we were given fresh Pilchards & breads as a starter, which seemed so much bigger than those we get in the UK. Overall the food, the people and the street atmosphere made for a great start to our Lisbon holiday. Enjoy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOMS737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    258
    74
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent -- Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Extremely fresh seafood, quaint outdoor seating in an idyllic Lisbon street. Wait staff with character (though a little slow, like all of Lisbon). Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTTravelDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddo Country Park, Ellon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A large party of us, about 35 people, from all round the world but hosted by Scots enjoyed a great evening of good food, fun and excellent hospitality. Our friendship quaich was passed round all including staff. Wonderful relaxed happy evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeldrumRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
212 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A bit above average – just!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just behind the hotel Altis Avenida you find a busy restaurant area, ranging from Indian to Italian and with a few more traditional Portuguese ones, and the faded but still renowned restaurant Gambrinus.
I tested a rather large place next to main square Restauradores named Sol Dourado. They have a rather large selection of shellfish, fish and quite a few meat dishes as well. In the season it is refreshing to be seated outside. I had asparagus for starter, fillet of salmon, a dessert and coffee plus a bottle of wine. It ended up, with tip, to 40 euros to give you an indication of the price level. The asparagus came from a tin, the salmon was ok, but the dessert called Tart Whisky had never seen even a whisky bottle label! In all rather bland. My main concern is a rather limited wine selection. Of rose-wines they had just 2 to select from: the traditional Mateus and one named Monte Amarelo Rose. The first one is just passable but the other one: Stay away. Not good at all.
In total, just OK, and nothing wrong with the price level, but I think I would try others in the area before making a re-visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good choice of many you will find without the pushy-ness.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I were enjoying 4 days in Lisbon and happened upon this place as it was pretty busy and the food on the tables looked really good. There were many surrounding restaurants where the staff was really pushy and this looked a lot more comfortable. The best part was that the staff was very attentive but allowed us to enjoy a dinner over 2 hours and kept bringing yummy things.
We started with appertifs that the waiter chose and they were quite nice. My husband had monkfish and prawns. He had never had it before and said the flavors were really nice in the new-found dish monkfish. I had cod and it was baked to perfection. Since we were enjoying ourselves so much, we had some dessert. Ananas comport and crème brulee. The ananas comport is pineapple with a delicious local port poured on top. The crème brulee was not actualy crème brulee but it was still good. It was ice cream instead of crème and my husband is lactose intolerant so I had to eat it myself (which made me so happy)!
As the sun set, the staff rolled out the shade to make sure we didn't get too hot. Much attention to making sure the customers are happy in every way. When you are on vacation in a beautiful place, it is really important to find a restaurant that doesn't disappoint. We were very happy to find this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattJodiIndianaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol Dourado also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sol Dourado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing