We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star quality fish and seafood, authentic portuguese”

Restaurante Forninho Saloio
Ranked #77 of 4,149 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“5 star quality fish and seafood, authentic portuguese”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Real authentic Portuguese atmosphere in this restaurant. Lots of wines, both green and white and of course red. We had the green house wine, great. We also had, all friends from our group, fish and sea food. Impressive taste and quality. Nice and friendly service and cozy atmosphere inside. Very good price also, considering the quality of the food.
Highly recommended, very nice place

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    197
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
“Great Seafood Spot”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We went here on our first night in Lisbon at the recommendation of our concierge and Trip Advisor. We went around 7:30, and the restaurant was empty, but jet lag was hitting us hard so we didn't care- and boy did we make the right decision! We had a half carafe of vibrant vinho verde and seafood. When we had a question about the fish, our waiter brought us right over to the case so we could see the type of fish for ourselves! I had squid, which was grilled perfectly, and flavored just with lemon. My mom had a fish, and she got a whole grilled fish! It was not a big fish, but still! All in all, good food at a great price. I would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Euroista
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food, reasonably priced.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This small restaurant is tucked away in a quiet street, but worth seeking out. We received a warm welcome from the staff, attentive service and good recommendations from the menu. The grilled chicken was delicious, good wine choice, dessert menu. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MamaDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Portuguese food at good price in nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I've been to Forninho Saloio twice this week, on Wednesday and again on Thursday because it was such a great experience. On Wednesday we ate fish that was grilled/cooked nearly to perfection. The robalo I had really hit the nail on the head. On Thursday we had meat, some nice and fresh beef steaks. I have already advised my friends to go there and will also return in some time as I am staying for some more months in Lisbon.
Besides the prices are very good (< 10 €) and the atmosphere corresponds with the one you imagine when thinking of a typical Portuguese restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead,MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Satisfying Dinner!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful dining experience at Forinho Saloio! I ordered a salad which arrived on a family sized plate that was more than enough for the two of us. My grilled salmon was cooked to perfection. The potatoes were roasted and tasted great! My wife had a grilled white fish bream which she loved. The wine was a sparkling house green tinted Portuguese wine that was terrific. For desert I had the apple pie with walnuts that was very good. After the meal we were shown around the restaurant and observed the old bread oven from the original space. The meal was excellent at a very reasonable price. We will definitely go again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank painlesndk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Forninho Saloio also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Forninho Saloio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing