We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The House
Ranked #38 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was initially meant to stay in a hotel in Lisbon, but cancelled my booking and stayed at the House instead following reviews on this site. I'm glad I did!
I travelled on my own and stayed in the Playroom. It was perfect for one, good size, comfortable, and well appointed. There is no door between the bathroom and bedroom (there is a screen so you can not see the loo or shower from the bedroom) which may be an issue for couples sharing the room.
The apartment is comfortable, clean, and the breakfast delicious. The infamous terrace was a cool and quiet place to spend an evening with a book and glass or two of wine. Katerina was working there at the time and was most helpful. Taking the 28 tram out and about was a lot of fun, but mostly I walked downtown (you have to if you eat too many pastries!!).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    57
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
249
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The House is a great place to stay. The Staff is superb, friendly and helpful. There suggestions for dinner each night were excellent. We were a large party and filled 6 of the rooms in this BnB. Breakfast each morning was fresh and well served, with a good variety of items catering to different eating habits. The top floor terrace provided a great place to gather at the end of the day, drink wine, view the city and watch the sun set.

If in Lisbon again, we would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Read carefully or ask about each room before selecting. They are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rama S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The stay in theHouse is great and we would recommend it. B&B is very new and has an amazing terrace. Breakfast is good including fresh orangejuice and fruitsalad!
Some minor point (sometimes breakfast, see earlier, took long for refill and no toilet availble after checkout).
However; we would advice everyone to go there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoostPoelgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We brought a taxi from the airport and it was around 13 euros tip included. Our driver had a gps so no problem finding the place.our room and bath was nice . We stayed in the Boyes room which had a bath across the hall but it was private so was not a big deal .Everthing was very clean and comfortable . The best was the Roof top terrace which looked to the Tagus river .breatast was very good and location close to trolley stop which takes you down town. IWe would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms would be comfortable most have bath attached but boy's room very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4canadiantourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were greeted well by very friendly and helpful staff, and this continued throughout our stay. L

Good breakfast, lovely roof terrace with handy honesty bar. Fantastic restaurant recommendations helped to make our stay in Lisbon perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherhoward100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reims, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We just spent 3 days in the House.
The warm welcome, the suggestion and most of all the magic atmosphere we could breath in this wonderful B&B made our stay in Libsone unique !
We had Nannys bedroom which is composed by 2 bedrooms (one for our children of 8 and 4) and one for us with an in suite bathroom
Really super clean!
All the staff is friendly and ready to help at any moment. No noise at all... Electrico 28 at the door + bus and taxi stop as well at 2 minutes walking
The must was the terrace with the superb view ! Tea coffee and any other drink or snack re as well available on the terrace and we really felt as at Home!
Our children loved as well the breakfast taken in a very large dining and living room
We really recommend this special place to everyone going to Lisboa !

Room Tip: For families Nannys room is perfect ! And the price as well !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 412Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear 412 Laura,


Thank you so much for taking the time for writing a review!
It is a very special moment for us, as yours is our review number 300! And this, perhaps for the first time since I started this adventure 3 and a half years ago, has made me stop and take a long look at what we have achieved.

It is very rewarding looking at these reviews and realize that, out of 300, 291 reviews are either very good (23) or excelent (268!!). I take great pride in this and take this opportunity to thank everybody that took the time to review us and give us the feedback we need to keep improving.

Thank you very much,
Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the House for 3 nights beginning of August. It was great. We had the family room and that was big enough for the 4 of us. Our private bathroom across the hall we needed to get used to, but was fine. Breakfast is excellent, no complains. View from the top terrace is one in a million! Location is very good, trams 23 and 28 are just around the corner, 2 minute walk. 23 will take you to city center in 15 minutes max. Katerine, reception/front desk is very nice and
helpfull and will help you with trip- and eating suggestions. Taxi from airport was 11 euro's. All in all we had a very good stay and would definitely return to the House!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetherlandsAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Vila Garden Guesthouse
#25 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lapa
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Property: The House
Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11 4th Floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing