We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection!”
Review of The House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The House
Ranked #39 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I stay in B n B when I travel. This is top notch. I booked the "Playroom" and was told it was one of the smaller rooms. I am travelling solo, but it is good for two people. I can't imagine how big the other rooms are! The rooms is clean and the views from this room are amazing! The terrace is what sold me when O booked here and it is everything the pictures show. Great location. Peaceful! The hospitality is perfect! Great place "The House!"

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soloprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were a group of friends and rented the whole place for us.
The place is great. Feeling like living in a cool nice private apartment.

Fantastic terrace and view : nice place to chill out after a long and busy day in Lisbon.

Location is great : 15 mns walking to Bairro alto.

And the breakfast is great (better than a lot of hotels).

The staff is very nice and welcoming and tries hard to resolve eventual problems (we had invoicing problems thats have been well resolved by staff).

Definitely a good spot in lisbon for a fair price.
AF

Room Tip: Master room is nice, big and have a private terrace with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Approaching the address a little apprehensively, along a street in a part of Lisbon that feels very much off the beaten track, you probably are getting even more concerned when you go up in the lift to the top of the building. But as soon as the lift doors open you realise you've made the right decision. You'll be welcomed (in perfect English if you need it) by someone friendly, your room will be more than adequate (some are bigger than others), but most of all when you go up to the rooftop you'll see why this has got to be one of the best places in Lisbon to stay in. The charming and knowledgeable owner Francisco, if you catch him, will also persuade you. Go go go!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MattELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

“I left my heart in San Francisco”, sang Tony Bennett.
Lisbon , too, has its trams rattling up and down hills, traffic racing across the 25th April Bridge- which reminds me and many a traveller ,of the Golden Gate.
A good part of my heart has been left in Lisbon and it’s wonderful to go back to The House that had welcomed me on my first Lisbon trip in 2011.
Set on the Estrela hill, just behind the attractive Estrela Basilica, The House, an authentic ex -family apartment, opens its doors to its guests with a smile.
My short stay was in the room I chose and I’m pleased to see the standards appreciated by so many guests are still high. Snowy white bed-linen, fluffy towels, a lovely hot shower .
I lapped up the wonderful feeling of freedom of movement The House offers- comfortable sofas, an attractive conservatory on the top terrace floor, which can be enjoyed day and night in good and bad weather.
I also made a happy choice in going on an excursion to Sintra with two other guests . The drive out of the city, through the more recent high-rise residential areas, was interesting, as our host, Francisco, outlined the reasons behind the development schemes.
Sintra itself, so rich in beauty spots, was seen under a different light, as Francisco helped us to appreciate not only the famous landmarks, but the entire area, giving us tidbits of information on the beautiful villas and their past and present owners.
Our drive back to Lisbon took us through the hills, thick forests and up to a lookout over the Atlantic- magical. A short stop to admire the Guincho beach and then back into town via Cascais.
The House offers its guests not only good quality accommodation but also special opportunities such as an excursion with people who are more than tour guides: their hearts beat in Lisbon , for Lisbon and for Portugal

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The HOUSE is very centrally located; you can walk to the city centre easily from there. If you don’t feel like a walk however, there are nearby trams and buses. From the outside you wouldn’t expect an atmospheric and trendy B&B, but when you enter the HOUSE you know all will be good. It's obvious that a lot of thought has been put into the decor and spaces in the HOUSE. The rooms are clean and have good air conditioning. Francisco, Rita and Catharina were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Both the communication beforehand (by phone and email) as well as the contact on arrival was excellent. They provided us with all sorts of local insider tips. The breakfast was yummy and plentiful and they made our stay comfortable and relaxing. The highlight has to be the roof terrace. The views are so fantastic that it almost feels like you could explore the city from up there, rather than venturing out. Breathtaking. Refreshments are also on offer, which you record on a list which then gets added to your bill at the end. The rooms and service at the HOUSE can be compared to those in a 4* hotel, but on a smaller scale and with genuine personal contact. We felt at home immediately!

Tjalda, Ingrid and Relinde - The Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relinde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and it felt like home. It's located in a quiet, residential quarter within steps of a tram stop, beautiful cathedral, and a lovely park. To get downtown you can take a tram, taxi (reasonable fares), or walk. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the rooftop terrace is outstanding with amazing views of the city. Use the well-stocked honor bar or get your drinks and snacks at the mini market just down the block. Breakfast was good - grab the outside table if it's available. The staff was helpful and welcoming, including the owner, Francisco, who asked on a few occasions how we were and whether we needed anything. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend The House to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaugosse12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in the Master Bedroom. The room was spacious and well appointed. As advertised the private bath was just down the hall. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pleasant breakfast starts at 8:30am and is available through 11:30am; we got a late start our first day because of jet lag and appreciated the availability of a late breakfast.

The terrace view is beautiful. The terrace is a great place to relax after a day of exploration.

There is a lovely park a few blocks away. The metro stop is a 15 minute stroll away. The #25 electric tram is a 5 minute walk, but tends to be extremely crowded.

I highly recommend staying at The House.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Lapa
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#36 of 262 in Lisbon
620 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 262 in Lisbon
635 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#10 of 262 in Lisbon
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11 4th Floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £51 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing