We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, but not so comfortable. nice area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B.A. Hostel(Bairro Alto Hostel)
Ranked #74 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cheap, but not so comfortable. nice area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The area is really nice, right in the centre of the city. The staff is very helpful. I was with friends, in a room with four beds, it was so small, no space for anything, a bit suffocating! The bathrooms are shared, but quite big. Just it wasn't possible to close the doors, not so cool when it's not your private bathroom! The price howewer it's good, but maybe it's possible to find a better hostel than this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    32
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
24
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

It is a clean and cosy place today.
It is in Bairro Alto area and very close to all "places to see" and also bars/pubs.
10 minutes walk to subway station.
The receptionists Lurish and Pedro are very helpful and always have smiling faces.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burcin_elverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This little hostel is wonderful! Lourdes and the staff were so sweet and took care of us. We initially only booked for one night but extended for two more. The hostel is in the BA neighborhood which is party central - so much fun, my favorite night scene in Europe so far. It can be noisy from the street noise but we were there to contribute to that! The rooms seem to have thought of everything. The lockers are spacious for your whole pack and there are shelves and an outlet next to the beds. No complaints except maybe waiting to use the shower/wash room !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulechów, Zielona Gora, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

pros :
- great localisation (but also noisy for 24h)
- very nice and helpful staff
- tasty breakfasts
- clean rooms and uncrowded bathrooms
- optimal price
cons:
- small rooms
- air condidtioning is working in such a system: one hour on/ one hour off ( and again)
Summing up, it is a great place to stay in both for those who want party and visit.

Room Tip: If you pick a twin room you will get a bunk bed. Balcony is shared with other residents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the BA hostel recently- it was admittedly my first stay in a hostel but I really enjoyed it! I stayed in a double room (one set of bunk beds). We had a small balcony off of our room which made it feel a little more spacious. The AC runs for one hour at a time (one hour it runs on floors 1 and 2, and the next it runs on 3 and 4). Our room had a slight malfunction with the AC which the staff was great about fixing immediately. There were 3 bathrooms on our floor so we never had to wait to shower. I found everything to be very clean and felt safe leaving items in our room when we went out for the day. I can't rave enough about the staff here. They helped us figure out how we should spend what little time we had in Lisbon. They were super friendly and even called us by name. The free breakfast is a nice touch- it was essentially a continental breakfast (fruit, rolls, bread that you could toast with butter/jelly/nutella, juice, tea, etc). We were able to walk to many bars, restaurants, and tourist spots from this hostel. I would definitely recommend this hostel if you are traveling to Lisbon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hostel was really clean, and the double bed we had was really big, making for comfortable sleep. We also had a balcony which added to the atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. Even though it is in the party district the windows are triple glazed so when they are shut you cannot hear a thing. Only drawback is it didn't promote meeting other travellers as much, everyone seemed to keep to themselves a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and 2 travel buds stayed at BA Hostel only for one night unfortunately. Shame because the staff were extremely helpful, rooms were basic but had everything we needed and facilities were clean and contemporary. Location is great, especially if you want to get into the buzzing Lisbon night life (even for a Wednesday night!). Was a great start to our Eurotrip.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Residencial Camoes
Pensao Residencial Camoes
#132 of 420 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 420 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Calling
Lisbon Calling
#29 of 420 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Independente Hostel & Suites
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Lover Hostel
Lisbon Lover Hostel
#321 of 420 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Shiado Hostel
Shiado Hostel
#80 of 420 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.A. Hostel(Bairro Alto Hostel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.A. Hostel(Bairro Alto Hostel)

Property: B.A. Hostel(Bairro Alto Hostel)
Address: Travessa da Cara 6 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-089, Portugal (Formerly Bairro Alto Hostel)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B.A. Hostel(Bairro Alto Hostel) 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lisbon in the Bairro Alto district, B.A. Hostel features a mixture of contemporary and traditional Portuguese decor. There is a 24-hour front desk. Situated in a renovated 19th century building, the B.A. Hostel offers private rooms and dormitory accommodation types. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, MP3 connection and the dormitory beds have personal lockers. Some rooms have a modern private bathroom. B.A. Hostel has ultra-modern shared bathroom and kitchen facilities. There is a lounge area with a flat-screen TV. Guests are within a 5/10-minute walk to several historical sights, tourist attractions, restaurants and churches located in Lisbon city centre. Elevador Da Gloria funicular is a 2-minute walk away. Lisbon Portela International Airport is an 18-minute drive away. Bairro Alto is a great choice for travellers interested in friendly locals, food and city walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B.A. Hostel(Bairro Alto Hostel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing