We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trust me this is a lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LX Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LX Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“trust me this is a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I travel the world on business and this hotel had the nicest most comfortable bed i have ever slept in. Beautifully decorated with quirky surprises and a modern twist on a vintage wardrobe.
Close enough to walk to the shops and quiet at night.
The room was small but i did not need any extra space as it was only to sleep in, but i would have loved to stay longer.
The staff were extremely helpful and polite.
I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haze2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Owner at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on lx boutique hotel and sorry for my late reply. It was great having you with us and even better to feel we’ve been able to fulfill your expectations! I'll pass your kind words to all the staff.

On your next visit to Lisbon don’t hesitate to contact me or the hotel directly for your reservation and get access to rates not available online.

Kind regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    445
    80
    18
    12
See reviews for
130
779
62
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I visited the LX Boutique last week whilst on business trip. Unfortunately I only was staying the one night - but wished it was longer.

As an interior designer I was suitably impressed with the contemporary interior, a beautiful restoration of an old building.
My room was on the 5th floor - up in the eaves. A clever use of the limited space with a low headboard wall, with bed facing the eaves and the flat screen TV. A 'mega graphic' wallpaper of a Lisbon tram / street scene dominated the room - the pitch of the street matching that of the eaves - very clever!
The reception staff were superb, suggesting a great restaurant just up the hill where we had a fantastic meal - only to find (after unfortunately!) an equally good one was in the hotel itself. (next time perhaps!)
The one irritation, despite the double glazing, was the street noise that seemed to be funneled to the rooftops and enhanced because of the height and close proximity of the buildings behind the hotel. I was upgraded - but believe I must have had a 'backstreet' room. Despite checking at 3am (revelers on the way home!) if it was closed correctly - one of the 2 windows seem to let noise in - the other not.
The glances of Lisbon I saw in daylight excited me enough to want to come back. A network of streets, hills, trams, gardens, old and new.
This is one hotel - and one City I would like to share with my partner! See you soon!

Room Tip: The backstreet rooms overlooking a hill and a lot of older buildings in need of refurbishment (still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarywillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It's great to feel we've been a plus on your Lisbon Xperience. I'm happy you've found the hotel a good retreat for a hard working day! You must try our new xecutive rooms!

About the window issue, please write me an e-mail so I can sort it out. About the street noise, and as I've written here before, I'm happy to say this was the last weekend with such a permissive schedules! Everything will be different from now on!

Please contact us directly on your next stay.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Friendly and very helpful staff, great location just a short walk from the trendy Baixa and Chiado and from the Bario Alto, very cool-designed rooms, and even some free aperitif almost every day - this hotel is a great value for money. Despite what other people wrote here - the noise wasn't an issue at all, and the rooms' size is reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Tomermi,

Thank you for the time you took to review your xperience @ lxboutique hotel. It was great having you with us and I hope to see you soon in the near future.

On your next visit to Lisbon contact us directly so we can offer our very best available rates!

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a lovely hotel, with really friendly, welcoming staff. The rooms are a good size and decorated in a smart modern style, but with touches that are in-keeping with the old building. The glass bathroom walls is an interesting choice and something to bear in mind if you're sharing a room as the frosting isn't really adequate.

Location wise, the hotel is a short walk from Baixa and Bairro Alto. Though being Lisbon, expect to walk up a few hills. You'd probably describe the area around Cais do Sodré as up and coming, with definitely a few seedy parts still. There's a few interesting bars and places to eat locally though that are a not the typical tourist places, so well worth trying.

There are a couple of nightclubs situated below the hotel that can go on all night. If you're a light sleeper, bring some earplugs, as they can still be heard with the windows closed. I am a light sleeper and didn't have any earplugs and so was kept awake quite a lot. I'd be nice if the hotel themselves provided some complementary ones.

Room Tip: Xssential backstreet rooms are good value, but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Dom,

Thank you for your kind words. It was great having you with us and I'm happy we're able to be a plus on your Lisbon Xperience. About the nightclubs, I'm happy to inform you that this weekend was the last with such a late closing hours. From now on everything will be different.

On your next stay don't hesitate to contact us directly so you can get access to our special rates (not available online). You must try our Riverfront rooms!

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomar, Portugal
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We've had occasion to stay here several times in the past couple of months, and it's our new favorite hotel in Lisbon. Big old building renovated 3 years ago into cleverly designed modern rooms. Large comfortable beds with down comforters. Ultra-modern bathrooms with glass enclosures and rainforest showerheads. Views and room sizes vary according to price, but all seem to offer good value. Convenient location near Cais do Sodre station for metro, bus, tram, ferry and west-bound train. Wandering in the wrong direction might lead you to a seedy neighborhood, but a healthy walk up Rua do Alecrim takes you to the heart of Chiado and start of Bairro Alto. Never ate breakfast which at 10 euros seems too pricey, but plenty of little cafes nearby. In the pm the breakfast area becomes a pleasant bar/lounge/restaurant featuring sushi, which the locals seem to like. Ecclectic clientelle--business types, couples and families of several nationalities--all seemed well tended-to.
Best is the uniformly bright young staff--well-trained, motivated, efficient and helpful with excellent English language skills.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravennarose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words! It's great to have happy and loyal costumers! From your tripadvisor nickname I cannot figure if we've already met but, on your next stay, please ask for me so we can meet.

Hope to see you soon!

Cheers,
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Me and my husband went to Lisbon for a short break, and since we were spending only one night in lisbon, i booked this hotel mainly because of the location - easy access to transport and city landmarks. I wish we stayed longer. Not only location is great, the hotel is beautifully decorated, the room, even not huge, is airy and bright and everytinhg is functional. Staff was very helpful and breakfast very good. We booked the room with views to the city and river and we loved it, it's a shame we didn't have much time to enjoy the balcony. We would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Furifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for our kind words. It's great to feel we were part of a great (even if it was short) Lisbon Xperience. On your next visit to Lisbon, don't hesitate to contact us directly so you can get access to our best rates.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I found the LX Boutique hotel welcoming, well located, excellently staffed and a pleasure to stay at. My room was spacious, very comfortable and the quality of decor, fittings and finish was top-notch. The bar/restaurant next door is great for a breakfast or a night cap. The staff were great, they helped with food recommendations, tour bus reservations etc. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room away from the square outside as it gets noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theswissjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to review your stay @ lxboutique hotel. It was great having you with us and even better to feel you had a great xperience!

Your kind words will be passed to all the staff. On your next visit to Lisbon don't hesitate to contact us directly so we can offer our best available rates!

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
(Hotel Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#56 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LX Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LX Boutique Hotel

Property: LX Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua do Alecrim N 12, Lisbon 1200-017, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LX Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the triangle between Chiado, Baixa and Cais do Sodré districts, Lx Boutique Hotel offers themed rooms with unique views over Lisbon and Tejo River. All Boutique Hotel elegant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a mini-bar, and a private bathroom. There is an iPod docking station, LCD TV and free Wi-Fi in every room.Guest can enjoy Confraria, a trendy sushi restaurant that also serves a variety of teas, beverages and wines all day. For a typical Portuguese food experience, there are several alternatives just outside the door. Lx Boutique Hotel is 5 minutes’ walk from several restaurants, bars, cafés and shops. Guests can benefit from the 24-hour front desk service Lx Boutique Hotel provides. It also offers laundry and car hire services. An airport transfer shuttle is available upon request. Historical sites and museums such as Lisbon Cathedral, Praça do Comércio, Igreja de São Roque and the Chiado Museum are within a 10-minute walk. Lisbon’s Portela International Airport is within a 20-minute drive away or a 10-minute metro journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your LX Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing