We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely rooms and you have to try the welcome sushi!”
Review of LX Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LX Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely rooms and you have to try the welcome sushi!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed in early July for a few nights and we were really impressed. The staff were friendly and very helpful, hotel location is fantastic with a bunch of restaurants nearby and the rooms were really nice. They have welcome sushi every evening and it is just delicious - we ended up eating there one night (which I'm sure is the aim!) but it was the best sushi I've had in a very long while! The only small downside was that the cleaning staff were a little noisy in the morning so if you're a light sleeper you might want to take ear plugs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaljaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Taija,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was great hosting you at the lx boutique hotel! I'm very happy you've enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sure we'll meet again in the future!

Totally agree with your remark on location, it's hard to get better! Trendy spirit 50mt aways from the river is almost unique. About the noise from the housekeeping staff, the problem is being addressed.

If you wish to keep up the city/hotel news follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website, where you can also find the best online deals (best price guarantee!).

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    471
    89
    22
    12
See reviews for
139
830
67
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I enjoyed a wonderful week in the LX Boutique Hotel. Great location, nice and charming rooms. Breakfast is delicious. The downsides I experienced were the slow internet in the room (5 floor) and although I asked several times for a solution non was provided till I upgraded to another room on the 3rd floor. The staff didn't seem to care that much that I was in Lisbon for work and really needed a good internet connection to work remote. Overall I can recommend this hotel nevertheless - especially for leisure travellers.

Room Tip: 2 to 5 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mark,

Than you so much for the time you took to review your stay with us!

I'm glad we became a great hub for your working week in Lisbon but I'm a little disappointed with the internet issue...if you could be so kind to write me a private e-mail identifying the room you were in I would very much appreciate. We're suppose to have a top notch internet connection!

This being said, just a small comment on your breakfast remark, it's indeed fantastic! It comes fresh everyday from a small gourmet bakery in Chiado called Tartine, and it was ranked on Lisbon TOP5!

If you wish to keep up the city/hotel news, follow the hotel fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website, where you'll also find the best online deals! Best price guaranteed!

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I just loved this place. The location is perfect, close to Chiado, Bairro Alto and lots of Lisbon's main attractions. It is also a few minutes walk to Cais do Sodre train station, as well as being close to stops for tram 28 to Gracas and tram 15 to Belem. However, it is the charm of this place that wins you over, the large, perfectly attired rooms, the little extras and the friendly staff. I had a riverview room which was large with two shuttered windows overlooking the Tagus, a huge ensuite (probably the best hotel bathroom I have ever seen), a coffee maker, lounge, safe, minibar, TV, wifi and air-conditioning. Each room is individually styled and mine had a Fado guitar theme which was amazing. There were no wardrobes but hanging space on the walls cleverly designated by trompe l'oeil. And it was all scrupulously clean!
Each day a platter of complimentary Pasteis de Nata is in the lobby - I had to stop myself eating more than one a day! There is also free welcome sushi at 7pm each night which was three pieces of amazing sushi with a glass of white wine. I had dinner in the sushi restaurant one night and it was amazing. The restaurant functions as the breakfast room and the selection is great for a continental breakfast with limited cooked options. The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. It could well be the best hotel I have stayed in - I wished I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rml247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took to review your experience at the lx boutique hotel! It was great having you with us and even better we were able to be part of a great Lisbon Xperience!

I do agree with everything you said, the ambiance in the hotel results from the combination between the location, decor and staff which make, in my opinion, an unique spot in Lisbon!

If you wish to follow the hotel/city news, follow the fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website, where you'll also find the best online deals!

Kind regards,
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here in early June for a leisure/touristic trip to Lisbon with the parents, and it's central location and comfort was a life saver. We could walk to many of the main attractions of Lisbon and our rooms had gorgeous views of the water and the square in front of the hotel.
The rooms are very comfortable, though the see-through glass doors of the toilets are a bit awkward and don't afford much privacy at the expense of looking sleek. Otherwise, the decor is gorgeous and the design feels like a private home with beautiful furnishings. The only real criticism I could have is the confusing layout of the elevator and rooms (certain rooms are only accessible through either one elevator or the other) but I guess this can't be helped and it's due to the period charm of the building. The breakfasts in the morning are very good, continental European fare, and the sushi from the bar in the evenings was very exquisite. Overall a great stay that wouldn't have been the same if it weren't for the ease and location of this chic boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors for a more impressive waterfront view and less noise from the streets below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took to review your experience at the lx boutique hotel, it was great hosting on your most recent Lisbon experience and I'm positive we'll meet again in the future!

About the architectural constraints, you're totally right. The building is in an historical neighbourhood and as so, the city hall doesn't allow any infrastructural modifications! Personally, I prefer it as it is...it's more real! About the river views, their unique for a city hotel, I'm very happy you valued it!

If you wish to keep up with the city/hotel news, follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website. On your return, don't forget check our special deals (also on our website) and guarantee the best online rate!

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The good: Location is sometimes everything when you travel and this charming boutique hotel is very convenient when it comes to that. The rooms are very nicely decorated and clean, the bathroom on-suite cabin is a very interesting feature and the staff is friendly. The breakfast does help you to get a good start in the morning and is justified for the size of the hotel. The hotel provides custard tarts and drinks daily at the reception. Despite the fact that the hotel is located just beside a very busy pedestrian street who's clubs and bars are overflowing with lots of young people till late night the noise is barely noticeable. When it comes to exploring the city most of the sights are easily to reach by foot or by the typical tram.

The bad: Warning to couples or travelers that share a room that are sensitive when it comes to their bathroom routine. Although the bottom half of the glass wall facing the bed is frosted you still kinda get the idea what is going on behind it. The only really negative remark regards the clearance between the doors and floor which is bothersome if you have noisy guests next door with screaming kids running between the two rooms they occupied or cleaning staff chatting loudly at 9.30 am on a Sunday. The booklet which usually contains information about the hotel and it's amenities was missing pages and wasn't replaced even after we pointed out that we didn't know how to get in touch with reception besides leaving our room. Minor issues that hopefully will be fixed for future guests.

The conclusion: Very charming and chic boutique hotel in a central location perfect for your first visit to Lisbon. The hotel staff although very friendly could be a little bit more receptive towards issues pointed out by guests. Other than that we had a very pleasant stay and would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear David,

Thank you so much for the time you took to review your experience with us and for such a detailed commentary. I'm happy you've enjoyed most of your stay and I'm sure we'll meet again in the near future.

About your remarks, and starting for the goods! I couldn't agree more with the remarks on the location and staff. A riverside hub, walking distance for the main sights, in the most trendy neighborhood, it's definitely unique and a most! The staff, is the soul of the hotel and turn your stay into an experience!

About the "bads", I'm glad to say that we have a solution for you! Our superior rooms have blinds on the bathroom, offering total privacy to the most shy! We'll implement this system in the standard rooms in the near future.

If you wish to keep up the city/hotel news, follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website. On your return, don't forget to check our own online deals, best price guaranteed!

Kind regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Loved this hotel for so many reasons - it's beautifully decorated in cool indigos and white; our room although not huge, was really well equipped and very comfortable, and the staff were both friendly and helpful. It's also really well located, close to the Cais Sodre bus/train station, loads of trams just round the corner and the bus from the airport stopped close to the end of the street. Cais Sodre itself was a great find, a really cool area with lovely cafes and bars - actually preferred it to the scrum of Barrio Alto, which was a bit touristy. The area was really busy at the weekend but as we had a room towards the back of the hotel, we weren't bothered by any noise. Loved it and loved Lisbon- both great value, stylish and friendly - can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Other reviewers have commented on the noise - we had a room to the back of the hotel, so although we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was great having you with us and even better to be sure we'll meet again in the future!

About your remarks, I totally agree with the location commentary! The neighborhood grows everyday with new spots opening in the most exquisite places. I bet you that on your return you'll find it completely different!

If you wish to keep up with the city/hotel news, follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website. Don't forget to check our online deals, best price guaranteed.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely little budget/mid-range place and very convenient to the Cais Sodre train and bus station and close to the revitalized waterfront. Quiet even though off of a busy main street. Walkable to the hot Bairro Alto and city center neighborhoods, and easy to set off to other main Lisbon sights by foot or catch tons of tram and bus options just out the front door on Rue do Arsenal. Staff was super friendly. We arrived separately by about six hours and check in and getting keys was smooth for both of us for checking into the same room. Good wi-fi and nice bathroom.

The room was pretty tiny, not sure if that's the usual or just what our rate got us. Would absolutely stay here again if I needed a basic hotel in Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whenyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, Owner at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was great having you with us and even better to feel we're able to match your expectations! I'm positive we'll meet again in the future!

The location is indeed unique, and the riverwalk at this time of the year is a must!

If you wish to keep up with the city/hotel news, follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website. On your return, don't forget to check our own online deals, best rates guaranteed!

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
776 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
960 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#55 of 248 in Lisbon
1,544 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LX Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LX Boutique Hotel

Property: LX Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua do Alecrim N 12, Lisbon 1200-017, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LX Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the triangle between Chiado, Baixa and Cais do Sodré districts, Lx Boutique Hotel offers themed rooms with unique views over Lisbon and Tejo River. All Boutique Hotel elegant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a mini-bar, and a private bathroom. There is an iPod docking station, LCD TV and free Wi-Fi in every room.Guest can enjoy Confraria, a trendy sushi restaurant that also serves a variety of teas, beverages and wines all day. For a typical Portuguese food experience, there are several alternatives just outside the door. Lx Boutique Hotel is 5 minutes’ walk from several restaurants, bars, cafés and shops. Guests can benefit from the 24-hour front desk service Lx Boutique Hotel provides. It also offers laundry and car hire services. An airport transfer shuttle is available upon request. Historical sites and museums such as Lisbon Cathedral, Praça do Comércio, Igreja de São Roque and the Chiado Museum are within a 10-minute walk. Lisbon’s Portela International Airport is within a 20-minute drive away or a 10-minute metro journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your LX Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing