We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LX Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LX Boutique Hotel
Ranked #45 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colchester England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely hotel, perfectly situated right next to Cais de Sodré station (half hourly service to Cascais and the beach) and the waterfront. Just 200 metres up the hill is Bairro Alto and all the little lanes full of restaurants and bars. Four blocks across and you are in the main avenues and Praça de Comercio. The rooms are perfectly sized, not huge but still comfortable. Everything seems brand new and the bathroom area is space aged with a great shower pod. Bed is ultra ultra comfortable. Each evening there is a serving of sushi and a cold glass of wine in the bar, which is complementary; the quality is exceptional. The staff are nice and the place has a real quirky feel to it. I liked it a lot. There's no pool or gym, it's not that kind of place. Highly recommended. Business or pleasure. Free WiFi everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you so much for your review and for such nice words! It was great hosting you on your most recent Lisbon Xperience and I'm sure we'll meet again in the future.

I couldn't agree more on the location a comfort remark! We've always pretended to be a perfect Hub for the city discovery as it is walking distance everywhere. The beds, the colors, the bathroom, the ambiance, the breakfast, and river-view are our ingredients for your daily recovery!

If you wish to keep up the city/hotel news subscribe the LX club newsletter on the website or follow our fb page. On your return, don't forget to check our own online deals, best price guaranteed!

Kind regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    454
    82
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
793
62
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

this is truly a great boutique hotel: it's beautifully designed, is ideally situated, has great and friendly staff and adds quality in little details all over the place.
so what's the 0.01% penalty for...actually the location can get a bit rowdy for families...this isn't a trip canceller for families but it is something to be rady for..

Room Tip: i would choose a room facing the river on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was great having you with us and even better to be sure we'll meet again in the future to come!

About that 0,01%...that's the price you pay to be in Lisbon Historical center, walking distance almost everywhere, just 500mt aways from the River Tejo! Seriously, and although 70% of our guests are couples or business travellers, I do believe the hotel fits all!

If you wish to keep up the city/hotel news, follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website, where you'll also find the best online deals (best price guaranteed!).

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel is good looking, staff are helpful, BUT and there are a lot of them….

Convenient location, BUT so noisy. Double glazed windows don't help. Partying goes on all night outside and even at 5AM it is still going on…so if want any quality sleep on a weekend or holiday night, don't stay here.

Was given initially room 115 which is supposedly a superior room. Besides being a shoe box and looking nothing like the Superior room on their website the room is right on top of the buses and trams. Here you have the party noise at night and the trams, cars and buses all day right outside your window.

Then I was shown the 'slanted' room on the 5th floor which is even more of a joke. It would be OK if you are shaped like a triangle and like a snug fit. A great room to study Euclidian geometry.

Finally was given a superior room with decent size that looked like the one I booked on the website ( 311). It was nice provided you don't mind bearing awake all night from the partying ( see above). Best part was when staff told me this was a River VIew Superior room..oh yeah, put your head out the window, turn 90 degree left, and have a few degrees of river view, maybe.
The only view I had outside was the drying underwear hung up in the window of the building directly across the room.

Nice decoration and nice staff, but no way to go back. Try the well located Avenida Palace Hotel which is grander, has bigger rooms, friendly staff and costs the same and no ear plugs required.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the time you took to review our property.

I'm glad you recognise all the efforts made during your stay and believe me, changing room 3 times during high season it's almost impossible! All the rooms you stayed in are superior rooms, even if not by your standards. Here the superior rooms are all unique and differentiated by its exquisite architecture (room 501 is actually on of our guests favourites..), its different amenities, its size, its views, etc.

The lx boutique hotel mission is to offer an authentic Lisbon experience to its guests, and being in the hippiest neighbourhood of the city comes with a price. Nevertheless, we've made a tremendous investment on the hotel acoustics and, except for some rooms, in some specific nights, the soundproof its almost perfect. Your rooms were not one of these so I have to conclude you must be a really light sleeper. I

One final remark on the recommendation you've made for another hotel on our page, which was a first and I didn't even knew it was possible...the hotel you mention, and although being a great hotel, its night and day when comparing with the LX. Its comparing a traditional hotel with a boutique hotel with totally different locations and guests.

I really hope that you can give us another chance in the future. If so, please send me an email and I'll personally take care of your process.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent 2 nights here in August. Location was fantastic, particularly for an evening out drinking or eating, so many bars to choose from. A fantastic room, very clean, and certainly 'boutique' with the unique bathroom and lovely decor. Staff very helpful, particularly given we left a mobile phone in our room affter we checked out and they posted in back to us.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and if you did wake-up in the early hours of the morning then you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wabbiteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was great having you with us and I'm sure we'll meet again in the neat future! I'm very happy you found the hotel and its ambiance unique, it means that our daily efforts are paying out! I'll pass your kind comments to all the staff.

If you wish to keep up the city/hotel news, follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website. When planning your return, don't forget to check our exclusive online deals, best price guaranteed.

Kind Regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Pros:
1. Amazing amazing location
2. Very friendly and helpful staff
3. Free champagne and chocolates in the room
4. Each night you get a free glass of wine and sushi downstairs
5. Fairly clean

Cons:
1. Very tiny room- the roof slanted very awkwardly and my husband banged his head on it many times (room 502) see attached pictures
2. Bathroom floors were old plastic tiles that needed upgrading
3. Lighting is bad- felt like I was getting ready in the dark!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry we weren't able to provide you a more than OK experience...it's not what we have in mind at all!

About your remarks, I personally consider that the pros you mention more than compensate the cons. Nevertheless, about your specific room, this are the constraints of building an hotel on an historical building (Fernando Pessoa use to write here!) and, on your next visit, you must ask to change if you're not comfortable. I totally agree on the bathroom material. It's being changed as I write, and should be done in the coming weeks.

I'm confidant you'll give another chance and that next time, you'll write a more enthusiastic review! Write me directly so that I can personally arrange everything for you.

Kind regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely hotel in a perfect location!! Stayed 5 nights in August, couldn't have chosen a better hotel for my first Lisbon visit. Location was great, very central, nice hip neighborhood with plenty to do in cafes, restaurants, bars, etc. Within walking distance to Bairro Alto, tram 28 station and many of the Lisbon must dos. Also a few minute walk to ferry, tram, metro and train stations - very convenient giving you access to the beaches and other destinations. Hotel is charming, well designed and carefully thought off details across the board, from colors, to wallpapers, lighting and furniture. Loved the cozy reception, and the afternoon pastries (local delicacy pastel de nata) and port wine. Welcome sushi daily is nice, 3 pieces and a glass of wine on the house! Rooms were very clean, comfortable beds, nice bathroom cabins overlooking the bedroom, we stayed in a superior room, that was nice and big with windows to the city and the river. Staff were very friendly since arriving, Maria, Tomas, and Pedro were great - ask them about anything, they know - great recommendations for where to eat and what to do - we were particularly interested in more local and less touristic restaurants and hangouts, Maria was kind enough to book outings for us every night of the stay. Really impressed with everything about the hotel, highly recommended for a great Lisbon and boutique experience, i will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Hani,

Thank you so much for the time you took to review your experience at the lx boutique hotel. It was great having you here and even better to feel we've overcame your expectations!

Agree on everything you said, location, location, staff, location and staff! I'll pass your kind words to all the staff, specially to Maria, Tomas and Pedro!

If you wish to keep up with the city/hotel news, follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website. On your return, don't forget to check our own online deals, best price guaranteed!

Kind Regards,
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at LX Boutique Hotel and was very happy with the service, room and location. Great spot to be in, and very comfy bed and good restaurant. The streets around are nice and not hight streets, and there is a very nice coffee stand next to the river, 2 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilsJohanGarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxboutiquehotel, General Manager at LX Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was great having you with us and I'm really happy you've enjoyed your stay at the lx boutique hotel, I'm sure we'll meet again in the future!

I totally agree with you, the location is indeed unique! The spot you mention by the river is great! It's called Ribeira das Naus Kiosk, and it's perfect for a riverside drink/meal.

If you wish to keep up with the city/hotel news, follow our fb page or subscribe the LX Club newsletter on our website, where you'll also find the best online deals, best price guaranteed!

Kind regards
Gonçalo Dias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#56 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LX Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LX Boutique Hotel

Property: LX Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua do Alecrim N 12, Lisbon 1200-017, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LX Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the triangle between Chiado, Baixa and Cais do Sodré districts, Lx Boutique Hotel offers themed rooms with unique views over Lisbon and Tejo River. All Boutique Hotel elegant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a mini-bar, and a private bathroom. There is an iPod docking station, LCD TV and free Wi-Fi in every room.Guest can enjoy Confraria, a trendy sushi restaurant that also serves a variety of teas, beverages and wines all day. For a typical Portuguese food experience, there are several alternatives just outside the door. Lx Boutique Hotel is 5 minutes’ walk from several restaurants, bars, cafés and shops. Guests can benefit from the 24-hour front desk service Lx Boutique Hotel provides. It also offers laundry and car hire services. An airport transfer shuttle is available upon request. Historical sites and museums such as Lisbon Cathedral, Praça do Comércio, Igreja de São Roque and the Chiado Museum are within a 10-minute walk. Lisbon’s Portela International Airport is within a 20-minute drive away or a 10-minute metro journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LX Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing