We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Bairro Alto

Bairro Alto
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.81*
and up
Lisbon Pub Crawl
More Info
US$21.37*
and up
Lisbon Essential Tour: History Stories Lifestyle
More Info
US$34.42*
and up
Enjoy Lisbon Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 427 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our coach guide recommended that if we wanted an adventure during our afternoon in Lisbon that we should take a tram up to the Bairro Alto, which is just what we did and it was great fun. A short ride up the steep hill in our rickety old tram, a great lunch in the Pois cafe (what a find) and a slow walk back up to the top for coffee and Lisbon egg custard cakes and for taking in the view over the bay - a blissful 3 hours well spent!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cymru-Bagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,013
    3,590
    708
    128
    76
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for Strolling , have a Meal and do some Shopping!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Bairro Alto is one of Lisbon's oldest neighbourhood. It has been recently renovated so it looks pretty good! There are lots of good restaurants there , for all range prices , and interesting stores to visit. If you go to Chiado I recommend you to go there. At night its a great spot to go out , lots of bars and also Fado houses.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So much fun!!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Came out to the Bairro Alto neighborhood with a friend while staying in Lisbon and could not have been happier with our experience. Such a fun lively atmosphere where you can meet all types of people. Every bar is different in its own way, and don't judge a book by its cover the bar may look really small from the outside but go in a lot of times there are basements with a large disco going on. If you are looking for a fun night out in Lisbon then I would definitely recommend going here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Such a fun neighborhood. Great restaurants and nightlife. Take some time to explore...you'll find a great music and bar scene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FancyNancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“trendy”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The area is cool but follow my advice and dont get drugs on the streets, they are no good!!! well,... drugs in general arent good but the hash that i got sold I am still wandering what it is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OMmani80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing