We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful aquarium”
Review of Lisbon Oceanarium

Lisbon Oceanarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.83*
and up
Private Day Trip Visiting Lisbon from West to East
More Info
US$57.52*
and up
Lisbon Half Day Discovery Private Tour
More Info
US$334.32*
and up
Lisbon Highlights Full-Day Private Tour
Ranked #1 of 429 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1998, the Oceanário was the centerpiece of the XXth Century's last World Fair, themed "The Oceans, a Heritage for the Future", and eternally binds Lisbon to the Oceans.MissionThe Oceanário’s mission is to promote knowledge of the oceans and bring up the public about the duty of protecting natural heritage, through changing their daily habits.While walking through impressive and unforgettable exhibits, visitors are encouraged to learn fascinating things about the oceans and, more importantly, how to make decisions in their daily lives that actively promote the conservation of nature.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful aquarium”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The size of the Oceanario is impressive and it is very relaxing to sit in front of the big aquarium glass for a while and watch the fishes floating by.

It is located right at the coast, next to a park and some other places of interest. Definitely worth a visit, especially with kids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mwuersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,213
    7,733
    1,983
    322
    105
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Skip the queue”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Hour long queues can easily be skipped by going to the automated machines (separate queue). You can only get non-discounted tickets here, but it's worth the extra few Euros to avoid standing around for ages.

Helpful?
Thank ohmygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A good place to visit if you like aquariums”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I didn't see any feedings of the fish but liked all the nature which was surrounding us: fish and starfish in aquariums, weird ramps (they were very weird, you can see the pictures!!!), different birds, turtles, passing by under the feet (we had to buy a ticket with a visit to the turtles).
That was not the best aquarium i've ever seen, but it was nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yulia_S_gtmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic Aquarium. Great experience for everyone. The main fish tank is HUGE! With lots of big fish, sharks, stingrays and so on. Also otters, penguins and seabirds is to be seen.

Helpful?
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“100% worth the trip and the money”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I'm not an aquarium connoisseur by any definition, but as a very amateur enthusiast, this was an incredible experience. The main aquarium in the center is absolutely huge and the variety of marine life that live together in it is mind-blowing. Huge sting rays swimming along sharks and schools of smaller fish swimming together in a three story tank that gives a surrounding impression when you stand up close. There are also a lot of smaller tank exhibits in addition to some penguins and otters that live outside. While I was there I saw a special exhibition on giant turtles that was also a real treat. All of the turtles were rescues and we were told there are plans to release them back into the wild, so I don't know how long it will be there. I did not get the audio guide and felt nothing lacking from my experience that was mostly just being visually stunned. It was easy to find taking the subway and strikes me as an excellent activity for kids.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellericious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lisbon Oceanarium also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Oceanarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing