We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Old World”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #217 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Old, a little worn, but filled with character. No doorman, several steps to the reception area, and last remodeling project was many years ago, but the charming lobby with large windows overlooking Rossio Plaza and the Sao Jorge Castle hovering in the distance made it a great experience. The room was comfortable with a nice balcony and a large old fashioned bathroom. This hotel has a great personality, the staff are very helpful and informative, and location is excellent with many good restaurants, a wonderful bakery and convenient transportation.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms in the front have a great view, although it can be a bit noisy. If you want to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikewega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

For the first time in years, we followed the recommendations of our TripAdvisor buds and were led astray! But maybe it's by American standards? We arrived by Metro after dark and found the area terribly seedy, despite just having to cross the street to get to the hotel. The entrance, dark, hard to find, and no lift from street. So plan to carry luggage up a full flight of stairs to get to the reception (?) area. The main floor is more like a poor American B&B with stained mismatched couches, wobbly chairs, worn drapes, and a musty odor. I think we surprised the young man behind the desk who was neither impressed nor unimpressed that we were there. We were checked into room 31 which faced the plaza and had the small balcony. With the proper upkeep, this would be quaint! The room was unacceptable. There were stains throughout the carpet and drapes, the bedspread had a huge stain right in the middle, the bed squeaked horrifically when sat on, the TV was crooked on its stand (teetering on falling), the two chairs in the room were worn down and offered springs to sit on, and the bathroom was dirty and lacked proper toiletries. We tried the Internet (which is only available in the (?) reception area) and that took approximately 10 minutes to get a very weak signal.

We chose to abandon this room (even though we had prepaid for two nights) and booked at the Tiara Hotel, a five-star property about a mile away. When we advised the clerk, we were told that we had prepaid and therefore there would be no return of any monies. No apologies or forgiving. That's really too bad. But we will contribute the amount paid to them to apply towards some maintenance on the property!

The room at the Metropole was $97 USD per night, including breakfast, if prepaid. Our room now at the Tiara is $151 USD per night, not including breakfast. This is absolutely a five-star property - will fetch your shoes for a shoeshine and have them back to you by 6:00 am. Uh, definitely worth the extra $50/night. But again, it's standards.

I agree with the previous post that for Americans, you will think Motel 6 for the Metropole. Think Hilton for the Tiara. I will post about the Tiara in a minute, with its wine cabinet in each room. Nice!

In fairness, for frugal or student travelers, the Metropole may work. The location is fantastic by day as you are in the City Center and can reach most anything by metro or national train. If you can walk on the carpeting in the room, you're good to go! Just keep your nighttime events to a minimum as the bed is FRAGILE!

Enjoy....but we're outta here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank danthatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful one week trip to Lisbon where we stayed at the hotel Metropole in Rossio, a marvelous location! We had a room at fifth floor with a view "to die for", over Rossio and the castelo Sao Jorge. The hotel in itself - good & arather big room, nice and friendly service and the location makes this hotel one of the best value for money when it comes to choice of a hotel. Some ealier review (which I read before our trip) says that you can not watch CNN - but of course you can. Some says that the breakfast was not up to standard - then you must be somewhat spoiled - the breakfast is not one of the best culinary experiences we have had but certainly good enough!
Stay there and you will have a wonderful stay in Lisbon!
Ulla-Carin

Room Tip: We had room number 51 - there are 2 - 3 more rooms at that floor with the excellent view but of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulla-Carin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Pluses
Service from hotel staff was very, very good - they couldn't have been more helpful eg booking the Clube de Fado for us, lending us a plug adaptor etc.
The location is very good, right on Rossio square and easy walking distance from the Alfama area etc.
Room rate included buffet breakfast which was excellent. Free WiFi but only in the reception area.
Minuses
The room was in need of refurbishment, being somewhat faded in decor and cracks above the bath. The bed was very creaky and it was impossible to make any movement at all without creakiness. The room over looked a side street and it was extremely noisy on our second night of two with lots of shouting and what sounded like someone continually unloading rubbish bins. Not much sleep possible !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank edmund h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This place badly needs renovating and they need to get rid of the musty smell. Even though the place was spotless, I have a very sensitive nose, and the smell of old lived in carpeting and furniture was a little to overbearing for me. The room we were put in was facing the square and had a beautiful a wall to wall stunning window front with balcony. If they were to even do some minimal superficial renovation to this hotel, it would be a 5 starer for me :). Location wise, you couldn't do much better, just take the metro to the Russio stop and you are there! Very easy.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Location perfect. Room adequate liked the 1930's furniture just needs maintaining. Staff friendly. Corridors need redecorating. Interesting entrance front door then lift to reception or stairs to second floor. May be noiser if in room front facing but better view so depends on preference. Expensive even for location. Breakfast basic for price poor. Clean

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank am28WestMidlandsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great location, central, easy walking distance. Shower was powereful, amble hot water, bathroom was great. Cleaned reguarly. There was an occassional unpleasant smell, not horrible nasty, but just an odd smell, however I think this may have been something to do with the citys sewer system as the smell was in various parts of the city. The Front of the hotel over looked the Rossio Square and Lisbons Castle and the rear where we where was over a street. Hotel had free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast wasnt overly exciting, but fed you up until lunch.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelfastMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo Hotel
Lisboa Tejo Hotel
#124 of 255 in Lisbon
669 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 255 in Lisbon
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#234 of 255 in Lisbon
540 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#91 of 255 in Lisbon
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV 30, Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £75 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel was opened in 1917 and its 36 rooms have air conditioning, minibar and balcony offering a unique and quiet. The customer can enjoy the stunning views of the São Jorge Castle, Alfama and Baixa Pombalina. Lisbon Metropole Hotel service • Satellite Television • Air-conditioned rooms • Room service • Laundry service • Safe • Organization of different activities • Minibar • Wake • Car Rental • Heating • Air conditioning • Bar • Concierge service • Baby sitter • Faxing • Smoking Rooms • Iron • Hairdryer • Alarm Clock • Auto Soundproofed Rooms • Telephone • Television • Direct Dial Telephone • Luggage • mirror How to reach Hotel Metropole in Lisbon Lisbon CITY CENTER Location: The hotel is in downtown Lisbon. Located 15 km from the beach and 1 km of the river Tagus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Metropole Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing