We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Metropole”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #214 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great place to stay! Within walking distance of everything in the heart of Lisbon! The view of the plaza was awesome. Since it is downtown, it does get a little noisy, however the views and location far outweigh all the noise issues. Staff was friendly, breakfast was great! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel in July 2013. I got a double room facing Praca Dom Pedro IV, the heart of Lisbon (or so they say). The room and the bathroom, with a bathtub, had both ample space and high ceilings. Furniture were a bit outdated but in good condition. The standard of cleanliness was high. The views over the Praca were very good and you could also see the Castle from your bedroom. Locationwise it was perfect since many excursions departed from Praca Dom Pedro IV. Staff were friendly and efficient. The only negative aspect was that it was a bit noisy during the night, 7 pm till midninght more or less, because of all the cafeterias and restaurants in the area. There was also a guy playing the accordion in the street, it was not bad on the ear, during dinner and nearly til midnight. It was only noisy during I stayed in this hotel in July 2013. I got a double room facing Praca Dom Pedro IV, the heart of Lisbon (or so they say). The room and the bathroom, with a bathtub, had both ample space and high ceilings. Furniture were a bit outdated but in good condition. The standard of cleanliness was high. The views over the Praca were very good and you could also see the Castle from your bedroom. Locationwise it was perfect since many excursions departed from Praca Dom Pedro IV. Staff were friendly and efficient. The only negative aspect was that it was a bit noisy during the night because of all the cafeterias and restaurants in the area. There was also a guy playing wellknown songs on the accordion in the street, it was not bad on the ear, during dinner and nearly til midnight. I would definitely go back to this hotel if I ever went back to Lisbon despite the noise. Advisable to pack earplugs if you want to turn in early.

Room Tip: Rooms with (very good) views will be noisy, pack earplugs! In my opinion, the views are worth the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Be sure to get a room with the view to the Castle and Rossio square, it's absolutely wonderful. We were not willing to leave the room at all )
Rossio is the heart of the city, so you will be in the middle of everything. The room was quite clean, comfortable and spacious. Good breakfast, and a very friendly welcome. A bit noisy starting from the early morning, but overall it's worth this small inconvenience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After some of the negative reviews we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room. We had a plaza facing room on the top floor and it was spotless.
Staff were great and very helpful, they even carried our luggage up the stairs and then to the room.
Great location could not be more central. The Aero bus leaves you right on its doorstep for €3.50.
Breakfast was basic but adequate and wifi is only available in the reception area. This is our only negative.
We would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, there were 6 couples. The plus sides to our stay were: great location, good breakfast, helpful staff who arranged tours and restaurants. The minus sides were: shabby interiors, bar was never open, noisy at night. The noise was understandable due to the central location of the hotel. Overall our stay was good due to the location and staff of the hotel. Could do with a refurbishment job.

Room Tip: Get a room not fronting the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After reading some reviews for this hotel we didn't expect too much . However the location is perfect right on Rossio square . The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good . The only problem we found was the bed was very creaky . All in all we were very pleased .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenBoston1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Beware of this hotel. Don't listen to any positive reviews of this place. The beds were terrible and the place smelled of urine. The elevator smelled disgusting. There was a blood stain on one of the beds. There was dirt on the other. We booked through an agent "El Corte Ingles". As soon as we saw the room we immediately starting looking for another hotel and found one way better. We could not get our money back from either the hotel or agency. Yes its in a good location but if you walk an extra 3 minutes you will find a better hotel for your money. The location of this hotel is not worth the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank davidprog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 254 in Lisbon
1,240 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo
Lisboa Tejo
#141 of 254 in Lisbon
637 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#84 of 254 in Lisbon
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#11 of 254 in Lisbon
643 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Praca D Pedro IV. 30, Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £85 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel was opened in 1917 and its 36 rooms have air conditioning, minibar and balcony offering a unique and quiet. The customer can enjoy the stunning views of the São Jorge Castle, Alfama and Baixa Pombalina. Lisbon Metropole Hotel service • Satellite Television • Air-conditioned rooms • Room service • Laundry service • Safe • Organization of different activities • Minibar • Wake • Car Rental • Heating • Air conditioning • Bar • Concierge service • Baby sitter • Faxing • Smoking Rooms • Iron • Hairdryer • Alarm Clock • Auto Soundproofed Rooms • Telephone • Television • Direct Dial Telephone • Luggage • mirror How to reach Hotel Metropole in Lisbon Lisbon CITY CENTER Location: The hotel is in downtown Lisbon. Located 15 km from the beach and 1 km of the river Tagus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Metropole Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing