We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #197 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, average room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Don't expect luxury on this hotel although it has its old european charm and reasonably clean.
Location is great, you can take number 1 city center bus from the airport and the rossio bus station is right in front of the hotel. Bear in mind the check in counter is on the first floor with steep staircase or you can take the very small elevator- it's a hassle if you have big luggage.
The train to sintra is within walking distance, so is rue augusta and the castle sao jorge.
Other than the location, I dont really have nice things to say about the hotel. Room is large (we were given room with balcony facing the square so the view is nice), bed is hard but comfortable, they clean daily.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunny_wei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    126
    92
    31
    21
See reviews for
51
150
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fronting Praca Dom Pedro, couldn't be more central. A perfectly satisfactory 3 star hotel. Glad that we had a relatively quiet rear room without a view; the superior front rooms were said to be very noisy with some musical event or other playing in the Square. It's worthwhile checking if any such event is on before booking. I'd definitely stay there again for its convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamFoxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a long overdue review from a trip taken back in 2007; Hotel was selected primarily for its location and it did not disappoint; Hotel was small but non the less clean, nothing grandeur but good; I recall generally a pleasant experience and from recent reviews it appears that it remains the same so I thought to encourage others not to miss especially given the location; i would return again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TalKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great place to stay! Within walking distance of everything in the heart of Lisbon! The view of the plaza was awesome. Since it is downtown, it does get a little noisy, however the views and location far outweigh all the noise issues. Staff was friendly, breakfast was great! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel in July 2013. I got a double room facing Praca Dom Pedro IV, the heart of Lisbon (or so they say). The room and the bathroom, with a bathtub, had both ample space and high ceilings. Furniture were a bit outdated but in good condition. The standard of cleanliness was high. The views over the Praca were very good and you could also see the Castle from your bedroom. Locationwise it was perfect since many excursions departed from Praca Dom Pedro IV. Staff were friendly and efficient. The only negative aspect was that it was a bit noisy during the night, 7 pm till midninght more or less, because of all the cafeterias and restaurants in the area. There was also a guy playing the accordion in the street, it was not bad on the ear, during dinner and nearly til midnight. It was only noisy during I stayed in this hotel in July 2013. I got a double room facing Praca Dom Pedro IV, the heart of Lisbon (or so they say). The room and the bathroom, with a bathtub, had both ample space and high ceilings. Furniture were a bit outdated but in good condition. The standard of cleanliness was high. The views over the Praca were very good and you could also see the Castle from your bedroom. Locationwise it was perfect since many excursions departed from Praca Dom Pedro IV. Staff were friendly and efficient. The only negative aspect was that it was a bit noisy during the night because of all the cafeterias and restaurants in the area. There was also a guy playing wellknown songs on the accordion in the street, it was not bad on the ear, during dinner and nearly til midnight. I would definitely go back to this hotel if I ever went back to Lisbon despite the noise. Advisable to pack earplugs if you want to turn in early.

Room Tip: Rooms with (very good) views will be noisy, pack earplugs! In my opinion, the views are worth the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Be sure to get a room with the view to the Castle and Rossio square, it's absolutely wonderful. We were not willing to leave the room at all )
Rossio is the heart of the city, so you will be in the middle of everything. The room was quite clean, comfortable and spacious. Good breakfast, and a very friendly welcome. A bit noisy starting from the early morning, but overall it's worth this small inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

After some of the negative reviews we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room. We had a plaza facing room on the top floor and it was spotless.
Staff were great and very helpful, they even carried our luggage up the stairs and then to the room.
Great location could not be more central. The Aero bus leaves you right on its doorstep for €3.50.
Breakfast was basic but adequate and wifi is only available in the reception area. This is our only negative.
We would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#136 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#90 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#72 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#45 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel was opened in 1917 and its 36 rooms have air conditioning, minibar and balcony offering a unique and quiet. The customer can enjoy the stunning views of the São Jorge Castle, Alfama and Baixa Pombalina. Lisbon Metropole Hotel service • Satellite Television • Air-conditioned rooms • Room service • Laundry service • Safe • Organization of different activities • Minibar • Wake • Car Rental • Heating • Air conditioning • Bar • Concierge service • Baby sitter • Faxing • Smoking Rooms • Iron • Hairdryer • Alarm Clock • Auto Soundproofed Rooms • Telephone • Television • Direct Dial Telephone • Luggage • mirror How to reach Hotel Metropole in Lisbon Lisbon CITY CENTER Location: The hotel is in downtown Lisbon. Located 15 km from the beach and 1 km of the river Tagus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Metropole Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing