We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel is very well located right in Restauradores Square, so we walked to most of places of interest. The check-in was very quick with a very nice and polite personnel. My room was quite big, with views over the square. On the negative side, it was a little bit noisy during the night, without disturbing our sleep. The bathroom was clean, but in need of a refurbish. Breakfast was adequate with plenty of choices.
The internet access is cheap, around 5 euros for 3 days.
Overall, I would stay again here just for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Avenida Palace.
I appreciated all the positive comments on our location and our staff and feel proud of that recognition.
We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,770 - 1,776 of 2,818 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

We chose the Avendia Palace based on location and price, and were not disappointed. The location is supurb, and very close to most any transportation a visitor could want, and in a great walking area with many restaurants, albeit of the tourist variety.

We were upgraded on arival to a suite on the 6th floor overlooking the city and found the accomodations to be clean, well-kept, and spacious. There were a few small issues - a major spot of water damage behind our door and the bathtub gurgled whenever we flushed the toilet, but beyond that the room was well furnished and spotless. The bed was comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from the ajoining rooms as others have described. The bath had every ammenity imaginable, and the towels were plentiful and fluffy.

Everying we asked for was taken care of within minutes. The included breakfast exceeded our expectations.

The public spaces are indeed like a "palace", but very cold feeling.

Apparently the staff has caught this "cold" since the only word one can use to describe them is "snooty". Smile a little please. I can't complain about the service offered, but warm and friendly this bunch isn't.

Internet was weird, it would work fine for a few minutes, then go bad, and then it would take me 15 minutes to reestablish the connection even though the signal was fine. I constantly needed to reenter my access codes, etc.

Overall, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank milepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your reviews following your stay at The Avenida Palace.
I was pleased to read your kind comments on our location and took duly note of your remarks about our bathroom and about our staff.
Unfortunately, your stay didn't catch our Opera evening or one of our music recitals which would give you a different opinion about the feeling of our public spaces.

I do hope that The Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Amazing hotel , very grand - rooms not overly spacious but adequate. Great breakfast with wide variety to suit everyone. Service from all staff was excellent and the location was right in the centre of town but no noise from the traffic. We booked through last minute with a top secret hotel for we saved a lot of money on the normal cost. The concierge got a taxi for us to go to the airporrt and the cost was exactly half the price charged by the airport taxi when we arrived in Lisbon so overall very good value at 10 euros

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Avenida Palace.
It is our goal to exceed our guests' expectations. We pledge to provide a refine service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities. We are pleased when such effort is recognized.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed for 7 nights. Given that the hotel is a 5 star and the price we paid to stay there, the sound insulation in our room was disgraceful. We could hear people in the adjoining room coughing and talking amongst "other" things (Please note that at no time were the people noisy, it was purely down to the fact that the sound proofing in the room was extremely bad). When i complained to reception about this we were moved to a different room. We received no explanatation nor apology for the poor quality of the first room. I presume i am not the first person who has complained about the sound insulation? I wish to advise that Lisbon is a fantastic, vibrant city and we will come visit again. However, given the cost of our stay, I would never use the Hotel Avenida Palace again.

Room Tip: Refuse any room on the 6th floor. The rooms on the 2nd floor have far better sound insulation.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest,

As The Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was very concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations in this particular issue.

As you noticed, ou team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests: as soon as you informed our Reception, you were immediately moved to another room in order to solve the problem.

Thank you kindly for your nice words about Lisbon, city where The Avenida Palace is a symbol.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I booked this hotel with expedia after reading many reviews here and sure I wasn't disappointed.

Hotel is a grand dame, then if you are looking for something fancy or hip, this is not the place.

Hotel is showing his age, especially speaking about the old fashioned bathtub, buy still everything is in great shape and very well kept.

Location is fantastic if you want to sightsee the city as everything is almost reachable within walkable distance.
Another plus is that hotel sits next to the train station where trains to Sintra departs from: extremely convenient of you want to do a day trip (or half day trip) in the surroundings of Lisbon.

Breakfast is very good and Internet is extremely cheap: I paid just 5€ for three days access (it is per device though).

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maclover_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Avenida Palace.
I appreciated all the positive comments on our location and feel proud of that recognition.
We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hotel was absolutely perfect. Rooms are very big, beautiful and clean. Breakfast was fabulous. Lot of choice for breakfast and everything it vas high quality. Service of the hotel is on higher level. The hotel have everything that one 5 star hotel should have.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A7Suki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at The Avenida Palace.
I was extremely pleased to read your kind words as it is our goal to exceed all our guests' expectations.
I do hope that The Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Avenida Palace 4 days last July. We chose this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews. As we booked through the hotel website, the price we payed included free Wifi Internet and other complimentary amenities. The hotel is beautiful and has got a great location. Our room was immaculate. It was first class all the way. From the parking attendance to the concierge, from the room maids to the waiters at breakfast, all were terrific. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank evomur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Avenida Palace.
We were very pleased with your comments on our location and with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all parameters.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
876 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#38 of 255 in Lisbon
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £129 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing