We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lisbon at its best: a formidable Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lisbon at its best: a formidable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed for three nights in a lovely suite on highest floor.
We enjoyed everything about this Hotel: Its great location, the lovely decor, the promptness of the staff, the nice live music before going out to have dinner in the great restaurants in the neighborhood, the very varied breakfast.
Internet was for free and good signal in all the premises.
Most definately the best option for Lisbon.

Room Tip: Choose a suite on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luxus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achive a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,993
    418
    77
    16
    8
See reviews for
480
1,447
116
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

fabulous hotel, excellent position and the best staff / service one could experience. I recentry stayed with my partner for three nights. Had major problems with my travel arrangements on British Airways. Not only did they offer to step in to assist, when they couldn't make contact with BA in Lisbon, they telephoned automaticaly contacted Australia and London. They were unable to get onto the right department however they persisted for three days.

The reception were always helpful and friendly and make us feel like it was our home away from home for the entire stay,

I will definitely stay there next time and will tell all my friends.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay a little extra for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jill z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the experience lived up to your expectations. Personalised service is very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests in order to make the Avenida Palace feel like home.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
göteborg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Good for their prices. Fantastic location.
Staff is superb. Helpful, undestendable, frienfly. Feeling of the somthing what one left behinf is very strong. Epty species. HArdly decorated, but why? For whom? For what?
Actually tou pay just for location and same sense of service. But you can have the same in the cheepwr plase around the Avenida.
Breakfast is goo you can say, but in the same time - not goood att all. Plastic butter doesn*t suit the rung of hotel. Emptiness in huge spasec which used unfanktonaly and stupid. To the end, when you come home, you just ask your self, what did i pay for? Location?????????? Just?????????????
Choose some ather hotel in Baxia area. Or Amalfa. Even cheep one will be good just for to sleep, and what do you wont hotels on the spot for? :=)'

Gööd luck!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesky023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

In general, you are satisfied with the price you paid, and you recognize how great our location is and the kindness of our staff. Indeed our team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn´t exceed your expectations in an issue that I couldn´t quite understand. Should I have known it, I could have taken care of it.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

Sincerely Yours,
Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Dear Paula Eva Ferreira and Pedro Miguel Costa Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Hotel Avenida Palace.
It was an unforgettable experience of your highest merit and of all persons employed at the hotel. All praise and recommendations to all future guests. Me and my wife is definitely back.

Nino Rasic, Croatia, Zagreb

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful review and to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated. The entire team will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.

We hope to have the great honour of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paula Eva Ferreira and Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Old style hotel. I was feeling like in the 20s :) Really nice hotel with its great location stuck in the early 10-20s of the 20th century. I like the charm of the hotel, since it`s totally different from the modern style hotels. To be honest, the hotel is overpriced, but its location takes it all :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our location and our décor.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This was my second visit and I was not disappointed. The hotel is not just another place to spend the night but you feel that you are someplace that you will not forget. There was even opera in the lounge. Fine room, helpful staff and a breakfast that can't be beat. Anyone who would be disappointed is just looking for trouble. John M.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the honour of welcoming you once more at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cos Cob, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in November, the location of this hotel is perfect for sight seeing around Lisbon. The hotel is very beautiful with lots of old world charm. Our room was spacious and comfortable, there was even enough room for them to provide a full size crib for our young daughter. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful (plus it was included in our rate). We had a great experience at the avenida palace and would stay again and again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jem19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. We are delighted to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to exceed our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our location as well as our services.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing