We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Shabby!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Hotel Avenida Palace is in a great location, serves a very nice breakfast and is very reasonable. However, when I got above the first floor, I found their to be a very strong "musty" smell, which was eliminated somewhat when I opened the window in my room. This worked for a while until the roar of the traffic got to me and at night the singing and music of the nightclub/restaurant made an open window impossible. The lighting in the room was also poor and made reading in bed difficult .
The people at the front desk were pleasant and helpful, but the hotel really needs refreshing.
If you want an elegant, old style, well-price, rather shabby hotel in the center of Lisbon, this may be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the neighboring restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbisbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

In general, you overall enjoyed your stay with us, and recognize how great our location is and the helpfulness of our staff. Indeed our team pledges to provide the best personal services to each of our guests.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations in this particular issue. It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

Thank you once again for your time.
Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,766 - 1,772 of 2,899 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Hotel Avenida Palace is a beautiful hotel full of elegant rooms-from the lobby to the breakfast room to various sitting rooms. The location is perfect; central to the Bairro Alto, Chiado and Baixa districts as well as Castelo Sao Jorge. My 15 year old daughter and I enjoyed our 5 day stay here in March. The staff was pleasant and helpful; and various treats were delivered to the room: strawberries, water, chocolates. The breakfast (included) offered a variety of choices. Our room faced an interior quad, so there was no view but it was so quiet we were able to keep the 4 large windows in our room open all the time. Loved the sunshire and fresh air streaming in.
This is where I will stay when in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MBH603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We appreciated your comments on our location, services and staff. We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed four nights from March 26th and very much appreciated the comfort of the hotel. Very convenient, beautiful public spaces and very comfortable junior suite, well sound-proofed and recently refurbished. Head Concierge extemely helpful, all staff well motivated. Excellent breakfast, good cocktails. Choose this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernice288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. It was such a pleasure to read your review and to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We hope to have the great honour of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Avenida Palace March 26 to March 30 and enjoyed my stay. Was travelling solo and the location was perfect. Felt safe walking to and from the hotel day and night. The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the city as public transportation and many of the tourist sites are within walking distance
.
The hotel is full of old world charm and the rooms are furnished with antiques. The rooms did not lack for any modern amenity ( LCD TV, safe, mini bar, hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers, wireless internet etc.). Especially liked the towel warmer in the bathroom. I was assigned a room on the 6th floor facing the street and once the windows were closed I could not hear any street noise.

The general areas of the hotel are beautifully furnished and had a feel of luxury. The breakfast was more than adequate. Loved the selection of fruit.

Last but not least, the staff from the front desk,concierge,bell boys and housekeeping were great. They were very professional went out of their way to assist you in any way possible.
I would gladly stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thank you to the staff for making my stay at the Avenida Palace and visit to Lisbon a very pleasure experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ubish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

Also, we are very pleased to know that you found our staff to be so professional and that they contributed to an enjoyable stay. Your kind remarks will be share with the team and will surely be a great source of motivation to them

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed over a weekend in March. The hotel is really lovely, and the staff are so friendly. We were upgraded to a junior suite, and our room was large, clean, and very comfortable. The lounge area in the hotel is just beautiful, and we enjoyed sipping wine while listening to the piano in the early evenings. There are two caveats I have for this hotel. First is that it is right next to the train station, and you could sometimes hear and feel the trains going by. It wasn't enough to disturb us greatly. Another is the lack of free internet, wired or wireless. A hotel of this class and quality really should offer it for free. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and would stay there again if visiting Lisbon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We inform that our wired and wireless internet is free of charge for all our guests. We are sorry if there was any misunderstanding concerning this subject.

We are delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our services as well as our décor. We also appreciate your comments on our staff, which you found to be so friendly.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

excellent reviews from past travellers are all true. Best boutique hotel -value,location and the best front desk personal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aileecheungc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, we were very pleased to read that we have exceeded your expectations. We were also pleased with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all parameters.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the city. Two minutes walk from the airobus stop. The hotel itself is beatiful. The staff always helpful and friendly.
The breakfastroom is stunning and the breakfast itself very nice. the location is great for walking and also next door to the Metro and the bus.
If you want to explore further afield, buy a day ticket from the station for 5 euros, which is valid on the metro as well as trams and buses.
The airport bus is euro 3.50 each way, (tickets can only be bought on the bus) but is valid on all buses and trams for the entire day. The day ticket is very good value if you want to go to the aquaruim ( which is excellent ) and also to Belem.
The hightlight of Lisbon is definatly the quarky trams. There are quite a few different routes and all quite fun to explore.
The hotel is one of the nicest i have stayed in for a long time.
Lovely bathroom with all the condements replaced every day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fishballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was extremely pleased to read your kind words.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
637 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
2,439 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
901 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £127 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing