We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stately down town hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

What a charm this hotel is. The positive started as we walked in the door and the receptionist greeted us by name! To put this in perspective, we have NEVER stayed here before or knew the staff! Don't know how they did that trick, but very impressive and very welcoming!

The room was beautiful. Stately and decorated in keeping with the hotel. The bathroom was small but was everything that was needed.

The staff were very helpful and always welcoming.

The breakfast (included in our room rate) was excellent and held in this magnificent room that overlooked the adjacent square.

This is a fantastic hotel and we highly recommend it for a special stay!

Room Tip: The hotel is next to a fantastic vibrant restaurant area. Plenty to eat in a local Portuguese style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanC-in-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

Personalised service is very important to us and the service you received upon arrival is a wonderful example of the team's commitment.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March. Everything was excellent from the minute walking in the door. Beautiful public areas, very helpful and polite staff. Bedroom really nice and ensuite bathroom very good with nice toiletries. Breakfast is to die for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Avenida Palace.

We were very pleased with your comments on our décor, services and staff. We also appreciate the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

First impression when walking in off the street is how calm and relaxing the building is. The hotel has a classy feel but also all the staff make you feel very welcome. The door staff walked over to greet us and to help us with our bags which was lovely and whenever we arrived back there was someone to greet us. Check in was fine and the room a reasonable size, very comfortable firm bed with air con that was effective but not noisy. The room was starting to show some ageing in places, but overall very clean, tidy and comfortable. It was only as we were leaving that we found the spare pillows, dressing gown, slippers and umberella (!) for use...none of which we needed.
Breakfast was very good, with buffet food from croissants, delicious cakes, cereals to pancakes and fully cooked english. Plenty of choice, no long waits for coffee and help always at hand. There are lifts but the staircase has to be walked at least once to appreciate the way each floor has a book stand or the internet and the display cases which all make up the lovely relaxed atmosphere of the place.
The location of this hotel is fantastic as it's right in the heart of things but we didn't find there was any disturbance from street noise at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I can only say about this hotel that it's awesome! Perfect location, perfect in-hotel services, perfect hotel staff! We really enjoyed our stay in Avenida Palace.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Vadim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about our location, services and staff.
Your positive comments have been passed onto all of our staff.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you in a near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the lovely Hotel Avenida for three nights in June. It was as we expected – a beautiful building, unbelievably elegant public areas, great location, libraries, comfortable rooms, great breakfast. The staff were exceptional. Very professional and courteous. I had written ahead to tell them about a special occasion we were celebrating, and was welcomed with a bottle of sparkling wine when we returned to our room on the first evening. It was a very memorable stay, I can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. We were very pleased to know that we met your expectations and with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition. Your kind remarks will be shared with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We just had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Avenida Palace. We picked it based on other Tripadvisor recommendations. It is a gorgeous hotel with excellent service and well located. We had booked a superior room and when we arrived they upgraded us to a Jr. suite. We were only staying one nigh and were tempted to extend. The breakfast, which was included, was lovely. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon.

Room Tip: request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests and I will forward on your comments to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Beautiful hotel! Exceptional staff! Hotel is centrally located, perfect for walking distance to shopping, restaurants, cafes, etc. The suites are lovely, with high ceilings, beautiful drapery, and comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast was amazing, with fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yougurt, eggs, cheese, bread, etc. I would definitely stay at HAP again and would recommend it highly to anyone travelling to Lisbon.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the courtyard. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CurlyButterfly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the experience lived up to your expectations. Your kind comments on our décor and staff and also the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters are very much appreciated.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests and thank you for your recognition.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £121 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing