We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel in the Heart of Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel in the Heart of Lisbon”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I co-own a travel company, and our company recommends the Avenida Palace to our clients traveling to Lisbon. When I recently traveled to Lisbon to catch a cruise, I wanted to experience the Avenida Palace for myself. The hotel exceeded my expectations in every respect.

The hotel sits prominently on Avenida da Liberdade, a main artery that runs through the heart of the city. It has been a city landmark for years, reportedly with a storied past that included serving as a meeting place for spies over the years. Its location is ideal for exploring Lisbon. From the hotel, it is an easy walk to Lisbon's Tram 28, which will take you to the famous Alfama neighborhood and the Castle of Sao George, and Tram 15, which will take you to Belem and Jeronimos Monastery. The hotel also is just a short walk to the bustling nightlife and numerous restaurants that line the Bairro Alto.

In addition to its unbeatable location, the hotel is luxuriously and elegantly appointed, and its service is impeccable. As you enter the hotel, you'll be dazzled by its stunning lobby and reception hall. Adjacent to the long reception hall is a elegant bar. While I was there, a pianist played, adding to the ambience.

I arrived from the airport at 10 a.m., and I was thankful that the hotel checked me into my room immediately. I found the room to be spacious, the beds extremely comfortable, and the bathroom
large and well appointed. The hotel's concierge graciously made me dinner reservations. The hotel also serves a generous complimentary breakfast each morning in a large and elegant dining room.

Stay here. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlmiller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Hotel ideal for your stays in Lisbon.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

Personalized service is also very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. The fact that you found our staff efficient, amiable, helpful and professional will be a great source of motivation to them.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,148
    445
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
515
1,559
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Myself, my wife and 14 year old daughter spent 3 lovely days in the Avenida Palace at the end of July. This was our first time in Lisbon. We stayed in a Junior Suite which had separate sleeping accommodation for our daughter. The suite was lovely, spacious, very quiet and really well maintained by housekeeping. Breakfast was very good. The location is excellent near restaurants and shopping areas and is a short/direct bus ride from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (the higher up ones as the hotel is located in a busy area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkXJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and we are happy to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the honour of welcoming you once more at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin,Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel has a great location, in the city centre. It is a palace, somptuous and elegant. The rooms are cosy and offer all you can need. Also the parking and the wi fi are included.
The breakfast is quite various and served in a beautiful room. The service is good and all the staff has been very helpful and attentive.
Even if it is an old palace, it is very well mantained, but don't chhose it if you like modern, stylish hotel.. You have to choose it because of the atmosphere, warm and romantic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny-Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.
We appreciate your comments on our location and atmosphere as well as on our staff, which you found to be helpful and attentive. I will forward on your comments to the team.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

What a charm this hotel is. The positive started as we walked in the door and the receptionist greeted us by name! To put this in perspective, we have NEVER stayed here before or knew the staff! Don't know how they did that trick, but very impressive and very welcoming!

The room was beautiful. Stately and decorated in keeping with the hotel. The bathroom was small but was everything that was needed.

The staff were very helpful and always welcoming.

The breakfast (included in our room rate) was excellent and held in this magnificent room that overlooked the adjacent square.

This is a fantastic hotel and we highly recommend it for a special stay!

Room Tip: The hotel is next to a fantastic vibrant restaurant area. Plenty to eat in a local Portuguese style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanC-in-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

Personalised service is very important to us and the service you received upon arrival is a wonderful example of the team's commitment.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March. Everything was excellent from the minute walking in the door. Beautiful public areas, very helpful and polite staff. Bedroom really nice and ensuite bathroom very good with nice toiletries. Breakfast is to die for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Avenida Palace.

We were very pleased with your comments on our décor, services and staff. We also appreciate the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

First impression when walking in off the street is how calm and relaxing the building is. The hotel has a classy feel but also all the staff make you feel very welcome. The door staff walked over to greet us and to help us with our bags which was lovely and whenever we arrived back there was someone to greet us. Check in was fine and the room a reasonable size, very comfortable firm bed with air con that was effective but not noisy. The room was starting to show some ageing in places, but overall very clean, tidy and comfortable. It was only as we were leaving that we found the spare pillows, dressing gown, slippers and umberella (!) for use...none of which we needed.
Breakfast was very good, with buffet food from croissants, delicious cakes, cereals to pancakes and fully cooked english. Plenty of choice, no long waits for coffee and help always at hand. There are lifts but the staircase has to be walked at least once to appreciate the way each floor has a book stand or the internet and the display cases which all make up the lovely relaxed atmosphere of the place.
The location of this hotel is fantastic as it's right in the heart of things but we didn't find there was any disturbance from street noise at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

I can only say about this hotel that it's awesome! Perfect location, perfect in-hotel services, perfect hotel staff! We really enjoyed our stay in Avenida Palace.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Vadim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about our location, services and staff.
Your positive comments have been passed onto all of our staff.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you in a near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
570 reviews
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing