We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We were staying in Lisbon on a special occasion and the hotel upgraded us to a junior suite which was appreciated. We received room 301 which is the only room on the third floor so it was extremely quiet with no neighbors.

The hotel was excellent for the following reasons:
Locaion was great for all of the sites we wanted to visit. Everything was within walking distance and the Rossio train station was next door for trips to Sintra. The metro station is just outside the door as well.
Breakfast had everything, hot and cold, and it seemed like it was included in most room rates because everyone was having their room number marked as they came in. No one was paying at the time.
The hotel was very clean, had "palace" like decor and still was inviting and relaxed
The staff were extremely helpful. We were in Lisbon during a rail strike (which sounds common) and we had to get a number of updates on train schedules for some of the trips we were taking.
One of the bellman was of particular help when he helped me purchase tickets through the machine in the station which was not in English.
The concierges also helped with advice and reservations.
I never used the gym but they do have a bike and 2 elliptical machines.
The lounge and sitting areas were peaceful and had the palatial ambience.

I don't have any negatives that come to mind for this hotel.


As a side note. If you are in Lisbon make the effort to go to Sintra for a day trip and see the Royal Palace, Pena Palace and Moorish Castle.

Room Tip: We had 301 and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments on our location and ambiance and for the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

With a prime location in the very centre of Lisbon, this Hotel, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, as one can see on our prize-winning website, is a symbol of our great city.

Personalized service is also very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. We will forward your kind words to the entire team.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,170
    450
    83
    16
    9
See reviews for
528
1,573
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The Avenida Palace was more than we expected. Great service and ambiance. We drove and once we arrived the hotel staff took over and handled everything from there. Our room was beautiful and immaculate and the soundproofing really worked to keep out the city noise.Public spaces are beautiful.The lounge area has an amazingly high and gorgeous glass ceiling.Breakfast room is lovely.
We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services exceed your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We spent 4 nights in this lovely hotel in the heart of Lisbon. What a great way to start our Portugal holiday! We we greeted with a nice surprise of an upgrade to a room with adjoining sitting room. The extra space was nice to have and gave us a bit more privacy, not to mention more light from the additional window.

Our bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was extremely clean and serviceable. Even though our room faced the street on the 1st floor ( not ground level), we felt comfortable with the privacy glass in the bathroom. The room was also quiet, with the addition of soundproofing on the windows.

Breakfasts were always great and very relaxing. The selection and quality was superb on food and drink. The pots of coffee and hot milk at our table was a nice touch.

The concierge staff was always helpful. They made dinner recommendations one night, made books for other nights, frequently offered directions and suggested the best mode of transportation. We also had them make photocopies from our travel books so that we didn't need to carry them with us. Very kind!

The hotel is next to the Rossio Train Station which is great if you are traveling to others areas, like Sintra.

We are staying there again when we fly out of Lisbon; can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the first floor. Elevators are available to take luggage up/down, but we enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated. The entire team will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Great hotel that is perfectly located for Lisbon sightseeing!!

The staff is all extremely nice!! Carlos the concierge was WONDERFUL and very helpful in setting up reservations for us!! Plus it was always so nice to be greeted by his big smile every morning!!

The free breakfast is also a nice treat!!

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

I was also extremely pleased to read your kind comments on our staff. I will forward your comments to the team, specially to our concierge Carlos.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleair, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The location of the Avenida Palace is perfect for visitors. Right next to the Rossio train station, within easy walking distance of trams and shopping, there are many also many good restaurants a short walk away.

The public rooms are truly "grand" and speak to an earlier era of elegance. The entry to our room on the sixth floor at the top of the staircase was graced by a beautiful stained glass ceiling - I've attached photos of the ceiling and the gorgeous staircase.

We arrived early in the morning after 16 hours of flights and airports, and expected the standard long wait in the lobby for our room. But I'd read many Trip Advisor reviews of travelers given early access to rooms, and this factored into my choice of this hotel. So we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was also available to us when we arrived. It is such a huge plus to be able to shower and rest after a long flight - many thanks to the Avenida Palace!

There were lovely views from our room, and the elegant breakfast room also offered great views up the tree-filled avenue. The breakfast was very good, and offered a variety of choices and good service. There is unfortunately no restaurant other than the breakfast room, but there are many restaurant choices nearby.

The only major flaw was the concierge. He was arrogant and rather rude, and was of no help to us at all. He provided a recommendation and materials for the "red" hop-on/off bus, which turned out to ruin an entire day of our visit (and the visits of many others). There were many more "yellow" hop-on/off buses in our area, but on the recommendation of the concierge we went out of our way to take the red bus - and spent the entire day waiting with many others for buses which didn't arrive or didn't stop because they were full. It's a shame that such an awful concierge should mar the excellent service we received from the rest of the staff.

And while we were generally very pleased with the room, the decor could use some updating. The carpet was a bit stained as was the tile in the bath.

Overall, a very nice hotel with many excellent features that could be made great by a few changes!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time to share your impressions.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our location as well as the service you received upon arrival.

However, I was deeply concerned to read your remarks about the issue you refer as the Avenida Palace, accordingly to its guest´s reviews and opinions, has got one of Lisbon´s best Concierge Service.

I do apologize about this matter and I would like to assure you of every attention should you give us another opportunity to stay with us again. As well as to show you that the Avenida Palace, one of the most prestigious and historical hotels in Lisbon, still has a tradition for its service.

We look forward to surprise and please you.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My friend and I stayed at The Avenida Palace for 9 nights. We wanted a place that was clean, safe, upscale, friendly and conveniently located. We were satisfied on all accounts and would stay here again. It was a 5 star experience for a reasonable rate.

We took an overnight flight that got us to Lisbon very early on a Saturday. It was too early to check in, but they offered us the complimentary breakfast even though we shouldn't have gotten it until the next day. By the time we got upstairs, the restaurant staff knew we were coming and greeted us warmly. We ate it 10 days in a row and loved it. There were plenty of vegetarian options for me and my friend said the ham was great. They had cereals, yogurts, fruit, cheeses, meats, crepes, breads, eggs and more. The breakfast room was elegant, relaxing and quiet. I had read that on other reviews and they were right. Even with families some days and busy streets outside, it was quiet. There was also a pretty view out the window and the staff was professional and friendly. By day three, they knew when we walked in that we would want tea and fresh milk for the cereal.

As for the room, we were very pleased. We got a superior room with two beds and it felt spacious. The bathroom was nice, with excellent water pressure in the shower, a jacuzzi tub, a bidet and plenty of counter space for two women to put their toiletries and make up. Both rooms looked down to a nice street view.

The room was also quiet. I live in a city and my friend lives in a suburb and both slept well at night. The A/C worked well and there was a safe big enough to hold my laptop, camera and wallet. The only concern was the closet space, which is small and mostly front to back, instead of horizontal, like most US closets. I took off one star for the closets. The rooms were cleaned daily and we constantly saw people vacuuming the hallway. I have allergies and was concerned before I left that it would be dusty or musty, but I had no problems in this hotel and it felt clean.

One more note on the room. The lights are operated by your key card. Do not leave a different card in the slot when you leave for the day. My friend used her airline mileage card and they maid took it by accident. After we called the front desk, the maid came back with a stack of cards for us to identify her card, which means lots of others tried to do this, too.

The location was perfect. Two of our walking tours started at Rossio Square nearby. We were close to the Hop on bus, the trolley, the regular buses and the funicular, which takes you to another fun part of town with lots of nightlife. We also got cabs easily ourselves and the staff was happy to get one for us. We felt safe walking around and there was great shopping within walking distance, although I quickly learned it was a tough city for heels.

The staff overall was good. We went to three Fado clubs during our stay and the one they recommended was the best. It was the most expensive, but our favorite meal and entertainment of the trip. One night we asked a concierge to get us on a tour the next day. He found us a driver/guide that we ended up using for three day trips. It was expensive, but a nice way to travel during the hot summer. In the middle of our Lisbon trip, I left my new camera in the driver's car after a day of touring. Before I even noticed it was gone, he had contacted the hotel, and they came to tell us in the bar. This means they remembered who we were and cared enough to find us. The next day he dropped it off to them, and they surprised me with it when I entered the hotel. Another day I was running late after a long taxi ride and didn't want to carry my bag around for an eating tour. The concierge offered to have someone run it up to my room for me and he did it with a smile. There were several concierges and we did find sometimes that they weren't familiar with the brochures or a tour we wanted, so do some of your own research, too. There are some good walking tours in the area, including a food tour. Overall, we were happy with the staff.

The hotel is definitely old world looking vs sleek and modern. It was elegant and beautiful. The bar and lobby were also pleasant, as was the large lounge outside of the breakfast room. There is also a computer where you can print your boarding passes, but be aware there are two computer spots and only one was connected to a printer when we were there.

At various times during our trip, they left us bottled water, pineapple, chocolates and drink coupons for the bar, which were a welcome surprise. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I took off one star for the small closet space, but overall very happy with the superior sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you we have met your expectations.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

Personalized service is also very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. The fact that you found our staff professional and friendly will be a great source of motivation to them.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

What an amazing hotel! My sister and I stayed two days in Lisbon and wished we could have stayed longer at this fine hotel. Everything was impeccable - from the service in the dining room to the cleanliness of the main rooms and bedrooms. If you are looking for old world European charm, this is the place to stay. This hotel is in the middle of everything - very close to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room on 4th or 5th floor for good views of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucyrunyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We also appreciated the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all parameters.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once more at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#20 of 251 in Lisbon
1,528 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing