We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night in palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Neustadt an der Saale, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one night in palace”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

When we arrived late in the afternoon in Lisboa it was raining and the taxidriver was in a hurry to bring us from the airport in the city. The first impression of this beautiful house was: Oh! And the second impression were the lovely people at the reception and the concierge desk. Both were so helpful to us and everybody always with a smile on their faces. We had a lovely room with a view to Restauradores and on the way down to the Restaurant via staircase we saw the beatiful saloons in their old glamour. We had to leave this beautiful Hotel with his outstanding staff the next day but we will definitly come back on our next trip ti Lisboa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dietrichherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We were very pleased with your comments on our décor and staff and with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,113
    439
    81
    16
    8
See reviews for
508
1,529
123
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I just completed a two night stay here for a qucik weekend trip to Lisbon. When I first saw the hotel I was apprehensive as the outdoor view from the bus stop is not too impressive. Once you find the entrance, however, it is very charming. The room (I was on the 5th floor) was well appointed and had a very nice view of both squares as well as the castle. The staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke English. It is centrally located for tourism and close enough to the river to walk. The exercise room was a little sparse but given the weather I was able to run outside. I think that this is a very nice hotel for a romantic weekend or for those interested in seeing the city. BTW, the Carris bus from the airport dropped me just 50 yard or so from the hotel entrance and was a much better deal than taking a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jga831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Avenida Palace for four nights; we wish it could have been longer. The service from entering the hotel to departing was nothing short of outstanding. The hotel itself is like a mini-museum of period pieces and decorating that reminds one of its 120 year history.

The sleeping room was spotless and well-outfitted with modern amenities while retaining decorating that matched the hotel's history. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet with double windows to reduce street level noise.

We received welcome fresh pineapple, water and chocolates nightly. What most impressed us beyond the service were the nightly "programs" offered by the hotel in its grand sitting room on the lobby level. We were entertained by singers (choral group and Fado performers), pianists and guitarists and a special night of Port wine tasting with a specialist to share insights into fine wines.

The hotel is ideally located in an area that leads to every possible tourist destination in and around Lisbon. The train station for side trips to Sintra is literally next door.

The hotel does not really have a restaurant, but offers light meals through its bar and a very satisfying buffet breakfast in an upstairs (2nd floor) dining room. The lack of a restaurant was no issue as there are plenty of options within minutes of the hotel.

We have traveled extensively and can say that this hotel is one of the very best; and it is reasonably priced, offering tremendous value. Without reservation we recommend this hotel highly; it is sure to provide a memorable experience to all who stay there. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RKKD_6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also appreciate the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all parameters.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Step back in time in this wonderful old hotel currently celebrating its 120th birthday. The public spaces live up to its name - they are palatial.
We stayed twice (at the beginning and end of our holiday in Portugal) and the rooms (junior suites on the 6th floor, as requested) were both comfortable and had nice views - the first up Avenida da Liberdade, and the second towards Castelo de S. Jorge. The rooms were clean and offered sufficient space, and were once obviously as grand as the public spaces, with their marble-clad bathrooms, for example. Today they are a little faded and in need of some renovation and repair, the plumbing in particular.
The location is hard to beat, sitting as it does at the top of the old city centre, and we had wonderful service from the morning concierge, who took the hassle out of restaurant reservations for us and provided useful advice. And the various recitals, from Fado to classical, that the hotel put on for guests as part of their birthday celebrations were a very nice touch and much appreciated.
Breakfast was a little disappointing - a wide range of food on offer, but nothing special.
Overall, it is a comfortable and convenient place to stay, but doesn't quite meet it's 5 star clasification in my view.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.Thank you so much for your kind words about our location, décor and services.

We were pleased to know that in general, you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Nevertheless, we were concerned to read that we didn't exceed your expectations.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We booked a Superior Room in this Hotel for five nights from the 29th July - 3rd August. We cannot speak highly enough of the quietness & comfort of the room.We had everything we needed.The water and fresh pineapple on arrival was most welcome and completely unexpected.Chocolate everyday and a bottle of water,simple pleasures that mean so much. The staff certainly take heed of their mission to exceed expectation.We celebrated a Birthday while in the Hotel & would like to say thank you for the unexpected generosity which certainly made that a very memorable celebration. Ideally situated to explore Lisbon on foot with easy access to train,metro & bus.We would recommend this Hotel to anybody who likes to relax on holidays,start the day with an excellent breakfast and feel pampered.A truly wonderful experience and hopefully we will return in the future.

Room Tip: We had a Superior Room on a High floor which was very quiet, it's well worth having a larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVB939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to contribute positively to your celebration.

The fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters, was also much appreciated.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. Your recognition is very much appreciated and a true source of motivation.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Booked this hotel for a four day break to Lisbon, chosen because of its central location.
On arrival, greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room which was well appointed on the 4th floor with a good view of the square. The room proved to be very quiet throughout which was excellent. The breakfast was particularly good with plenty of choice, served in an excellent dining room. All staff were attentive and friendly throughout. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRH686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace. We also would like to thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will share your kind remarks with our team.
As we pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times, we feel proud of your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We booked this place quite literally at the last moment and got a room on a Sat night for about 160 euro. I love to spoil myself when I can and this place was completely wonderful. Location is to die for and the opulence of the interior is worth (and does demand sometimes) twice the price. Staff were absolute darlings and guess what- when went to pay the bill, full from the lovely breakfast, found that the valet parking in the middle of Lisboa was complimentary. Do it.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank RichmondRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
802 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing