We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient location.”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Wonderful experence to stay at a mmuseum quality hotel. Clean. Staff eager to please. On the down side our room had a sewer like odor in the bathroom. Due to mild weather there was no active ventilation. This was probably to concerve on costly electricity. On the up side new high efficiency windows blocked all street noise unless the window needed to be open to cool and ventilate the room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HurricaneSandyStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We were pleased to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your kind words on our location and staff. Indeed our team pledges to provide the best personal services to each of our guests.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations in this particular issue. Should I have known it, I could have taken care of the problem you refer.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,174
    450
    83
    16
    9
See reviews for
528
1,577
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

From the moment the taxi dropped us to be greeted by the concierge off to three days later we left for the airport we didn't feel anything other than the most important guest to everyone in the hotel. It's rare that a hotel stay doesn't have some minor glitch and it's often the way that the staff deal with it that leave a lasting impression.

For our stay at the Avenida Palace absolutely everything worked, went to plan, was on time was just what was expected. I don't believe we were lucky - this seems to be a very well run hotel and well worth the money and the staff seemed genuinely pleased to be of assistance. And the sweets on reception are nice too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.
We are delighted to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received during your stay is a wonderful example of the team's commitment.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

For our first visit to Lisbon it was difficult to decide which was the best area to stay in but I think our research paid off as we found the location ideal. It is just the sort of hotel we like with old fashioned charm and good service. The room was lovely and breakfast was excellent. We would have quite liked a restaurant in the hotel but there are lunchtime bar snacks and plenty of good restaurants nearby and the concierge recommended a really good fish restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace.
We also thank you for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.
It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized. I will forward your comments to the team.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We spent 5 nights and found the hotel to be excellent. We were apprehensive about the noise factor since the hotel is right next to Rossio train station but it was extremely quiet. Triple pane windows blocked out the all of the street sounds as well.
This trip was for our 20th anniversary and this was the only hotel out of the three we stayed at during our travels that acknowledged it.
Good location and staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace for your stay during the celebration of your Anniversary. We also want to thank you for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you valued our location as well as our services.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Neustadt an der Saale, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

When we arrived late in the afternoon in Lisboa it was raining and the taxidriver was in a hurry to bring us from the airport in the city. The first impression of this beautiful house was: Oh! And the second impression were the lovely people at the reception and the concierge desk. Both were so helpful to us and everybody always with a smile on their faces. We had a lovely room with a view to Restauradores and on the way down to the Restaurant via staircase we saw the beatiful saloons in their old glamour. We had to leave this beautiful Hotel with his outstanding staff the next day but we will definitly come back on our next trip ti Lisboa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dietrichherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We were very pleased with your comments on our décor and staff and with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I just completed a two night stay here for a qucik weekend trip to Lisbon. When I first saw the hotel I was apprehensive as the outdoor view from the bus stop is not too impressive. Once you find the entrance, however, it is very charming. The room (I was on the 5th floor) was well appointed and had a very nice view of both squares as well as the castle. The staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke English. It is centrally located for tourism and close enough to the river to walk. The exercise room was a little sparse but given the weather I was able to run outside. I think that this is a very nice hotel for a romantic weekend or for those interested in seeing the city. BTW, the Carris bus from the airport dropped me just 50 yard or so from the hotel entrance and was a much better deal than taking a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jga831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Avenida Palace for four nights; we wish it could have been longer. The service from entering the hotel to departing was nothing short of outstanding. The hotel itself is like a mini-museum of period pieces and decorating that reminds one of its 120 year history.

The sleeping room was spotless and well-outfitted with modern amenities while retaining decorating that matched the hotel's history. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet with double windows to reduce street level noise.

We received welcome fresh pineapple, water and chocolates nightly. What most impressed us beyond the service were the nightly "programs" offered by the hotel in its grand sitting room on the lobby level. We were entertained by singers (choral group and Fado performers), pianists and guitarists and a special night of Port wine tasting with a specialist to share insights into fine wines.

The hotel is ideally located in an area that leads to every possible tourist destination in and around Lisbon. The train station for side trips to Sintra is literally next door.

The hotel does not really have a restaurant, but offers light meals through its bar and a very satisfying buffet breakfast in an upstairs (2nd floor) dining room. The lack of a restaurant was no issue as there are plenty of options within minutes of the hotel.

We have traveled extensively and can say that this hotel is one of the very best; and it is reasonably priced, offering tremendous value. Without reservation we recommend this hotel highly; it is sure to provide a memorable experience to all who stay there. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RKKD_6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also appreciate the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all parameters.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,534 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing