We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel with classic charm in the center of it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel with classic charm in the center of it all”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent 9 days in Lisbon and stayed at the Avenida Palace - it is a beautiful, classic, elegant hotel - with lovely central lounges, corridors, and very comfortable breakfast room (actually a stunning ballroom) that offers a great selections of breakfast foods with great service. Our hotel room (including the all marble bathroom) was perfect - just the right amount of furnishings, plenty of storage space, quiet, and really well maintained and cleaned each day. The hotel is so perfectly located to take in the sights in Lisbon as well as to connect to trains, tours, and other transport to see other parts of Portugal. We went all over, and couldn't have been happier with the central location. Alll in all, we were charmed and really happy we chose to have our entire stay with the Avenida Palace. We'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: each floor seemed very nice - we were on an upper floor and on the interior side -- it was nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDavid20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

It was also a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our location as well as with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

It would be a great honor if you would consider the Avenida Palace your home in Lisbon.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,151
    445
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
516
1,561
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

The Avenida Palace offers a taste of the Portuguese version of the belle epoch with lots of marble, stained glass ceilings, gilt, columns, fabulous crystal chandeliers. Rooms are uniquely furnished, many with antigues. We stayed in 415 , a large room overlooking the square and busy street. Double windows kept it quiet. Decor is old school, probably from the 60's, but not worn and perfectly clean . The same is true for the plumbing. Wifi is free. Stay here if you don't need the predictability of the modern five star. It is unique.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.
We were very pleased with your comments on our décor. We also appreciate the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Avenida Palace is an old-fashioned luxury hotel with real antiques decor for interiors, conveniently located in the hub of Lisbon. The interiors are nice and authentic ( like Four Seasons ) but the service and attitude is a little old fashioned also. Not too friendly, no greetings or smiles in the lobby, a little aloof, and there is still a smoking room which is nice but smells like a milion cigarettes. Overall, good but we hoped for an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: higher floors as the views are nicer and the city is very picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank famboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

In general, you overall enjoyed your stay with us, and you recognize how great our location is and the quality of our décor.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read that we didn´t exceed your expectations. This Hotel is a non-smoking Hotel. Guests wishing to smoke may only do so at the magnificent Palace Salon.

Concerning our staff, you may be sure that our team pledges to provide the best personal services to each of our guests.

With a prime location in the very centre of Lisbon, this Hotel, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, as one can see on our prize-winning website, is a symbol of our great city.

We hope to have the great honor of welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa fe, New mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great hotel in a great location. Lobby and room elegant. Great value. It was a hidden pleasure to find this charming hotel. The free breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of foods. Lisbon is a beautiful city and this hotel made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L9ona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. We are delighted to acknowledge that we contribute for a perfect stay in Lisbon.

It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you valued our location as well as our décor.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Wonderful experence to stay at a mmuseum quality hotel. Clean. Staff eager to please. On the down side our room had a sewer like odor in the bathroom. Due to mild weather there was no active ventilation. This was probably to concerve on costly electricity. On the up side new high efficiency windows blocked all street noise unless the window needed to be open to cool and ventilate the room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HurricaneSandyStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We were pleased to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your kind words on our location and staff. Indeed our team pledges to provide the best personal services to each of our guests.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations in this particular issue. Should I have known it, I could have taken care of the problem you refer.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

From the moment the taxi dropped us to be greeted by the concierge off to three days later we left for the airport we didn't feel anything other than the most important guest to everyone in the hotel. It's rare that a hotel stay doesn't have some minor glitch and it's often the way that the staff deal with it that leave a lasting impression.

For our stay at the Avenida Palace absolutely everything worked, went to plan, was on time was just what was expected. I don't believe we were lucky - this seems to be a very well run hotel and well worth the money and the staff seemed genuinely pleased to be of assistance. And the sweets on reception are nice too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.
We are delighted to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received during your stay is a wonderful example of the team's commitment.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

For our first visit to Lisbon it was difficult to decide which was the best area to stay in but I think our research paid off as we found the location ideal. It is just the sort of hotel we like with old fashioned charm and good service. The room was lovely and breakfast was excellent. We would have quite liked a restaurant in the hotel but there are lunchtime bar snacks and plenty of good restaurants nearby and the concierge recommended a really good fish restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace.
We also thank you for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.
It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized. I will forward your comments to the team.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing