We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in great Lisbon location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We just loved the Avenida Palace with it's old world charm and excellent staff. The location was superb for us as we were without a car while there. We were graciously upgraded to a suite room and provided early access. And the breakfast was amazing, served in the most elegant setting.. We would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dibel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We were very pleased to know that we met your expectations.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated. The entire team will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.

We hope to have the great honour of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,667 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Great location, very very friendly staffs, very nice food. The room is even better than the description. The hotel was so quiet that we were surprised to see many other guests the next morning. Surely we will come back!

Room Tip: Teach the doorman your language, they will never forget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doctorjayzhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the experience lived up to your expectations and with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition. Your kind remarks will be shared with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This hotel is excellent. The staff smile all the time, are really helpful and remembered each day what I had been doing and asked me how my day had been - I was very impressed. They also upgraded me without charge to a more spacious room. The rooms are modern but retain that sense of Olde World Charm that the hotel is so renowned for - it was a pleasure to stay there and I will certainly return. Wi - fi was free and without problems. The breakfast was wonderful, wide choice and good quality food. Finally the hotel was in a great location!
Well done to all the staff, you made my stay extra special and I really enjoyed the chocolates at the end of the stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MScott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our first trip to Lisbon was not a a disappointment. This is an excellent hotel on many counts. Location, location, location make it an outstanding base from which to sally forth. Now throw in Carlos, the concierge, and his outstanding helpfulness and you won't go wrong. He's charming, efficient and very, very helpful in his suggestions and ideas for trips, timing and dining! (And there are plenty of excellent places to eat within minutes of the front door.)

The breakfast dining experience is a great daily foundation (ends at a leisurely 10:30am!) with a more than adequate buffet to satisfy almost every taste and appetite, served with a smile and a hint of style from a past era.

The room we had was delightful and the housecleaning staff did a great, invisible, job of keeping it shipshape throughout our stay of five nights.

If I could change a couple of things it would be to (a) provide an iron and ironing board service on request and (b) renovate the rather limited room service menu for the odd night when you're just too tired to go out, Don't get me wrong it's quality was fine, but it was a very limited choice for a 5* location.

All in all you'll not go wrong here. You'll be in good hands and enjoy the lovely decor. No hesitation in returning or recommending.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our services met your expectations.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Personalized service is also very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. We thank you for your kind words about our staff, specially about our Concierge, Carlos. We will forward your kind words to him.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We just came back from a one week trip to Portugal. We used the Avenida Palace as our base to explore Lisbon and short day trips to neighboring towns such as Sintra, Cascais, Nazaré, Óbidos and Fátima (all within one hour and a half distance). We could not have been happier with our choice of hotel and would gladly return.
It is centrally located, with a nice ambiance, good breakfast and outstanding service throughout our stay. The staff was polite, efficient and accommodating. When we mentioned our room facing the avenue was a bit noisy the first day, we were soon transferred to another on the courtyard side.
A special thanks to Roberto and Camila at the reception desk. They were wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lilian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to acknowledge that your stay in Lisbon was very pleasant.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel its location and ambiance is very much appreciated. Your kind comments about our staff will be a great source of motivation. We will forward your special thanks to Roberto and Camila.

We hope to have the great honour of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

We met my brother and sister in law for a city break and found this hotel to be fabulous! So close to everything, comfy beds, large rooms and super clean! The staff were amazing, helping us choose first class places for dinner or great places to visit! I had a skin reaction while in Lisbon and the staff helped us get to the hospital and reassured us throughout this process.... We can't thank them enough for their help. We will be back to the Avenida and suggest you visit too. We miss it already...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alabamajesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the experience lived up to your expectations. Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests in order to make the Avenida Palace feel like home.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while in Portugal and loved our choice in hotel. It was our first time in Lisbon so we had no clue where to stay but after reading the reviews here we decided to pick Hotel Avenida Palace. The service was excellent from the moment we set foot in the hotel. Staff was very accommodating in so many ways. The room was comfortable and very clean and had the amenities we needed to feel at home. The service at the front desk, lobby and bar was excellent. For us, the location was perfect. It was steps away from metro and bus station as well as a "hop on hop off" stop. Cab service at the hotel steps was available 24 hours and it was walking distance to the cable car that takes you to "barrio alto" night life. We were very pleased with our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kikiandgretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
645 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,658 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
911 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £148 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing