We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Avenida Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orion Eden(Lisbon)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,000)
Filter reviews
3,000 results
Traveller rating
2,400
485
89
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,400
485
89
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand old hoteltrain stationbeautiful hoteljunior suitepublic roomsclassic hotelperfect locationthe hotel websiteconcierge staffbreakfast buffetfive star hotelbeautiful roomthree nightsrossio squarefresh fruitwould highly recommend this hotelthe heart of the city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,620 - 1,625 of 3,000 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Wonderful hotel. Located right in the heart of the city so convenient for all the city centre sights. All of the staff were extremely courteous and couldn't do enough for you. The breakfasts were just amazing with incredible variety. A beautiful, splendid old building. Would definitely stay there again.
G&A

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GandA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave such kind comments on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and that your highlight goes out to our location, staff and to our buffet breakfast.

I will share your comments with the team involved and I look forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We enjoyed a very nice one-night stay at the Hotel Avenida Palace in Lisbon. The room was good size, tastefully decorated and well equipped. Being on the second floor, it had a French balcony overlooking the street. With the doors closed there was no street noise, however. There was free wi-fi in the room and the public areas.

The staff was very friendly. We were able to check in early, which was much appreciated after a long over-night flight with no sleep. After a short nap, we explored the area around the hotel and found the location to be excellent. The hotel is very near the City Centre and a pedestrian mall with typical tourist shops, along with other more interesting shops selling antiques, silver and fine arts . There is a Metro station within a block of the hotel. I guess we could have taken the Metro from the airport, but the taxi fare was only 21 euros. There was also a hop-on-hop-off bus stop just outside the hotel.

The hotel does not have a formal dining room, but there are many restaurants and cafes within a two-block radius of the hotel. The hotel does serve light dinners (sandwiches, burgers) in the bar. It also has a breakfast room which serves a full buffet breakfast.

We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel’s “extras”. For booking online, we received a welcome port wine, which was quite good. Also unknown to us, they were offering a 20% discount for the bar. We were tired from our trip and not terribly hungry, so we ordered burgers and beers in the bar. To our surprise, the 20% discount applied to both food and beverage purchases. In late afternoon, after returning from our walk around the area, we discovered chocolate covered strawberries in our room. A nice snack before dinner! The hotel also had a guitar recital in the lounge in the evening. I believe they offered some form of entertainment in the lounge every evening.

We were very impressed with the hotel and would enjoy staying longer on our next trip to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesFortMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that we were able to impress you, despite your short stay with us, and to acknowledge that you had the opportunity of savoring our light meals, served in the Bar or in our Palace Lounge.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace and hope that you can stay longer next time.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Avenida Palace for two nights in Lisbon after ending our Mediterranean cruise in Portugal. The hotel was beautiful. Very old world style with lots of character and charm. If you like modern, this is not the place. If you want to feel like royalty, go for it! Very well located in the heart of Lisbon. Friendly and courteous staff and a great breakfast to start your day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

We also would like to thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all parameters.

We truly hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Loved this hotel where I stayed three nights....great location in the heart of the city and still my room at the back of this elegant building was very quiet. Next to public transport, restaurants, shops....everything...! Breakfast was tops...even had soy milk...staff were great...lovely decor...wifi worked...would very happily return....and I highly recommend Avenida Palace Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We were very pleased to know that we met your expectations.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated. The entire team will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stay at the Hotel Avenida Palace about 6 times each year, having done so now for about 4 years. The hotel is beautiful, ideally located for walking around Lisbon and close to so many great restaurants. The staff are so professional and friendly - it feels like a luxurious second home. What more can I say!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BestRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Your review is wonderful reading. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members for coming to visit us so often, we truly appreciate your outstanding loyalty throughout the years.

We are delighted to know that we continue to meet your expectations and appreciate the fact that you rated us with the maximum score in all the parameters.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests in order to make the Avenida Palace feel like home and are truly proud of your recognition. Your kind words will be shared with the entire team.

We hope to have the great honor of welcoming you very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews