We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We went to Lisbon to spend our Golden Wedding and stayed 4 nights at this superb, elegant and beautiful hotel.
We were upgraded to a lovely suite at the top floor. Everything was 1.class: the room-the staff-the afternoon tea and the big delicious breakfast buffet.
We enjoyed our stay at this special palace and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hanne-Carsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your comments on your recent visit to the Avenida Palace and to read how highly you valued all the parameters. Allow me to congratulate you sincerely, on behalf of all the staff members, on this very special occasion.

We would love to have you as our guest again on your next visit to Lisbon.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,899 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights (May 20-21). This hotel is in a perfect spot in Lisbon, so close to everything and even has parking. It is a very beautiful building and the public rooms are very grand. Our room was charming with a wonderful balcony overlooking the street - but completely soundproof. Everything was great. Staff are extremely helpful and courteous, even sending us on our way with a bottle of water. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindfieldTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review, for rating us with five stars and for any potential recommendations.

I am delighted to read your kind comments on your recent visit to the Avenida Palace and to read that you found our Hotel to be in a perfect spot in Lisbon. Your kind words about our staff are also much appreciate and will be a great source of motivation.

It will be a great honor to have you as our guest again on your next visit to Lisbon.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Avenida Palace. My room was a good size, decorated very well in keeping with the culture and area, and very clean (see photos room 510). I had excellent views over the city (see photos room 510). The hotel is clearly visible and a short walk (2 minutes) from the drop off point at Praca Dos Restauradores off the aerobus no 1 from the airport (euro 3.50; 20 minutes drive from the airport). The hotel is situated ideally in the centre of Lisbon and within walking distance of many noteworthy sites. it is also conveniently right by the meeting points for 'Inside Lisbon' walking and daytrip tours which are well worth doing. Staff were always polite, spoke excellent english and were happy to advise on all aspects of visiting Lisbon and the surrounding areas which was both useful and welcome. Wifi worked well in all areas of the hotel and there is a computer room and printer if needed. Overall a most comfortable, safe stay in a really good hotel for a woman travelling solo for her first time in Lisbon!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 510 which had really wonderful views (see photos posted).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1234567890zyxwvutsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these wonderful remarks on TripAdvisor.

We also would like to thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so, we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here for the weekend 15th - 18th June 2013 with my wife. A fantastic old style hotel that is a lovely place to stay. Location is great for everything the city has to offer , plus if you want to go to Sintra the train station is next door. Rooms are large and clean, beds comfortable plus well insulated from the noise of down town. The staff are really helpful and the breakfast has everything you want and it is all fresh. My birthday was on the 17th and the hotels sent a bottle of fizz to the room which i thought was a lovely touch. If you want to be in the best place in Lisbon this is it.

Room Tip: High floor are quieter and ask for a view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate the fact that rated us with the maximum score in all the parameters.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Personalized service is also very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. Your kind comments will be a great source of motivation to them.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed at Avenida Palace Hotel for 3 nights (13-16 June) with a friend. The hotel room is spacious, beds are comfortable, the hotel staff is extremely helpful. Throughout our stay, whenever we asked for help from concierge, they immediately assisted us. The hair dryer in the room was in the old style - not a strong one. When we asked for a strong one, a new one was delivered to our room. The breakfast was very rich, in a nicely decorated room. If you like old style hotels, you would love Avenida Palace Hotel. It's next door to the train station (very handy to go to Sintra - you should definitely visit this place - don't miss the Pena Palace) and the underground station is at the other corner of the hotel. It's also walking distance (max 10 min) from the sea - main square Praça do Comercio.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 402 - we liked it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DidemSILAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave such kind comments on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our stay at the Avenida Palace Hotel was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff was helpful in all areas. There were good suggestions on where to experience fado, how best to travel to and from Sintra, how to reach the hotel by car, how to catch the trams (with advice on relative costs of transportation within Lisbon), and much more. The breakfast that is served is extensive and quite good. While we did not need our car while in Lisbon, we were impressed by the fact that it was parked by the door on the morning we were due to check out. The man running the bar was also engaging and helpful. There were nice touches, such as a complimentary bottle of water in our room and another for our car on departure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these wonderful remarks on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you found the Avenida Palace to be the perfect hotel in a perfect location.

I was also extremely pleased to read your kind comments on our services and staff that you found to be so helpful and polite. I will forward your comments to the entire team.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a perfect hotel in a perfect location in Lisbon. It is in the very heart of the city, where you can literally walk anywhere. The beautiful bar is ideal for a drink or light meal, and the included breakfast buffet is large and very good. Rooms are large and well appointed, and the staff is very helpful and polite. There is no restaurant for dinner, but there are numerous good restaurants within just a few blocks of the hotel. One night when we were too tired to walk anywhere, we had an excellent sandwich in the hotel bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l0nnieand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.
I was extremely pleased to read your kind comments on our location and services and to acknowledge that you had the opportunity of savoring our light meals, served in the Bar or in our Palace Lounge.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
639 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,441 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
902 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £128 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing