We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Location, lovely building..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Super Location, lovely building..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

After much deliberation we were pleased that we picked this hotel. The location was perfect and we were able to walk everywhere, from the castle to the port.
Our Room- junior suite with separate sitting room - was great for 2 children. Nice touches like a little jigsaw gift for the kids and fruit every evening. Breakfast was super- and served in literally palacial surroundings. Walkable for shopping and chiado for great restaurants etc.
Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wanderlustbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with your family at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your remarks on our location and services.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests in order to make the Avenida Palace feel like home.

We do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,024
    425
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
486
1,472
118
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

all around nice place for the bucks and pretty darn convenient local too!!
we booked tours on viator and they all started only a block from our hotel!! the breakfast was from 7 till 10 so we coulld get up when we wanted and whether we did early or late, the amount of food presented was always great!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank y0frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your kind comments on your recent visit to the Avenida Palace and to acknowledge how highly you valued our location and services.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

I hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, HI
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

For our first trip to Lisbon, Avenida Palace was perfectly situated to enjoy the city of Lisbon. It is conveniently located to the historic sites, restaurants, shopping and nightlife of this capital city and transportation hubs for subway, trams and buses. For independent travelers like us, that is important. Our standard room was nicely decorated and furnished with tall ceilings and had a view of Liberdade Boulevard. The bathroom was adequate and the a/c kept the room cool in spite of a heatwave in July. Wi-fi worked well and is complimentary. The breakfast buffet in a remarkable dining room was excellent, with fully array of cold and hot dishes. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but there are many restaurants within walking distance, especially in the Barrio Alto area. Since the hotel is located next to a train station, the neighborhood has its share of characters but we never felt unsafe even when walking home after midnight. For the price paid, Avenida Palace is a great value. Tip: To take advantage of the transportation system of Lisbon, purchase the 24-hr pass (6 Euro). You can use it on the trams to Belem, Eiffel elevator and funiculars that make it cost-effective.

Room Tip: Standard sized rooms are adequate but if you want more space, pick a deluxe room. Ask for a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hekili98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed our stay and that you have found our location perfect.

We also thank you for your kind words about our décor.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I don't think I have anything unique to add to all the positive reviews. We enjoyed our stay here very much. Loved the breakfast - especially the crepes with nutela and fruit. Overall, we did not love the food in Portugal but we looked forward to a terrific breakfast every morning. Great location. One thing to add. The room was very quiet and very dark - wonderful for sleeping. We were on an inner court so the view was not good. But with very thick curtains there was no light from the windows. And between the bathroom and the bedroom there is a solid door, so there are actually two doors between the room and the hallway so we heard no sounds from the hall.

Room Tip: Our room on an inner courtyard did not have a view but was extremely dark and quiet for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. All reviews are much appreciated and important to us.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and that one of the highlights of your stay in Lisbon was our buffet breakfast.

It will be a pleasure to share your comments with all our team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family (6 persons - 3 rooms) spent 3 wonderful nights at the Avenida Palace Hotel. I cannot say enough good things regarding the property, the service, and the quality of the experience. The rooms were large, immaculate, and tasteful. A complimentary upgrade was waiting for us on arrival. There was a wonderful pianist performing every evening in the lounge, contributing to the overall luxurious "feel" of the Hotel. The breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day - excellent variety and preparations.
One of the best parts of our stay involved the services of the concierge, Mr. Paulo Rego. He provided invaluable assistance with the sights of Lisbon and most importantly, our choice of restaurants for dinner.
There is no question that if one were to visit Lisbon, the Avenida Palace should be your hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMC7207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you chose to stay with your family at the Avenida Palace. I cannot thank you enough for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor and for rating us with five stars.

Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. Your kind words are much appreciate and will be a great source of motivation for team involved.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future stay.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel's very well situated, with the great and pleasant architecture and old world charm. Service is very good, they had made our rooms by the time we came up from breakfast. Concierge did good recommendations, for eating and shopping. Accomodated our paying with travelers cheques. Great attitude for our three girls, they received cookies first night, puzzle the next, and the maid folded each girl's nightgown and laid it on corresponding bed!
Good, extensive breakfast. They compensate Lisbon's economic scaling back through service and attention to detail. If you go, nearby Madeira House has wonderful embroidered linens, and also Teresa Alecrim.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Y H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in your Lisbon residence.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

A classic grand hotel right in the center of the action. We were pleasantly surprised that because we had booked through their website, we were upgraded into a junior suite. This is not the place to go for the new and hip-- it's the place that makes you feel like you're in a 1930s movie doing the grand tour. Also appreciated: double-paned glass on the windows kept the room silent at night, even above the busy Rossio square.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your kind comments on your recent visit to the Avenida Palace and to read how highly you valued our location.

Thank you very much for noticing the special complimentary benefits our clients get if they make their booking through our prize-winning website, which are listed in it, namely: room upgrade upon availability, complimentary bottle of mineral water in the room throughout their stay, discount on Bar spending, and fresh fruit cup on arrival.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing