We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent Hotel”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights at The Avenida Palace. The hotel is situated well for shopping, restaurants, buses and trains. The hotel is beautiful, especially the public rooms such as The Lounge, Dining Room and Entrance. The breakfast was especially good.We were lucky enough to have an upgrade from a double room to a suite (only complaint is the bed was quite small), with a separate lounge area and complimentary bottle of fizz to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary! Bathroom was spotless, with lovely towels, bath robes and slippers! All the staff were very polite and helpful, especially the barman who made us great "Mojitos".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with your husband at the Avenida Palace, for the celebration of your Anniversary and for leaving your magnificent words on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized. Your praises about our team will be forwarded to the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,110
    438
    81
    16
    8
See reviews for
508
1,525
123
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had six days at Hotel Avenida Palace in late October. Room was spacious, with beautiful decor, very clean and big comfortable bed. Service and stuff was excellent, so helpful with rent-a-car, in giving information where to go, where to eat, they helped even buying us train tickets to Coimbra. Also we got complimentary bottle of water, champagne and delicious chocolate. Breakfast was just great, fresh fruits, several types of bread, salami, cheese, cereal, etc. And excellent coffee :)

We were on honeymoon, and we will allways remember great time we had. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, I hope we would come back in Lisbon and Avenida Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristina277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to know how highly you valued all the parameters.

It was a pleasure to read your words about our service and staff. Your comments will be shared with the entire team.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you on your next visit to Lisbon.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had 2 nights at this sumptuous hotel. The dramatically high ceilings in the public rooms, tall windows swathed in billowing curtains, crystal chandeliers all spoke of a glorious past. Because we booked a room online using the hotel's own website, we were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was big, with a separate lounge area, plenty of cupboards, 2 TVs, towelling robes, every detail for one's comfort had been thought of. Because the hotel is old, the floors creak in some places, but that is part of the charm. It was very clean, the staff were very helpful, and the breakfast was varied and plentiful, served in a very grand dining room. The location was excellent. The hop on hop off bus stopped near the hotel, there were many good restaurants nearby too.
N

Room Tip: Book on the hotel's own site to qualify for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thalia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will share your kind remarks with our team. We also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had four days at Hotel Avenida Palace in late October, 2013.It was a great time, the hotel is very well maintained and clean, the staff is overly helpful and pleasant, and knowledgeable about the city. Breakfast was out of this world, everything was properly cooked and presented in a very inviting fashion. The bar staff is friendly and always making sure that the guests are well attended to. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, you would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time to leave your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a lovely 5 nights' stay here at the end of October. Spacious room (we booked a junior suite), comfortable firm bed, pillows not too soggy, very quiet (we were on the top floor) and very varied breakfast. Bar man was lovely (as were the cocktails), the staff recommended some superb places to eat, and generally we had a very comfortable and memorable stay!! (Complimentary bottle of water in the room each day, fruit on arrival and wine towards the end of our stay was also a bonus). We would def recommend to anyone going to Lisbon.

Room Tip: Top floor (6th) is very quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garsdale80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these lovely remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Amazing design, inside and out, very pleasant staff, great survive, breakfast was excellent and the location was amazing for city lovers and explorers. Defiantly not somewhere you would want to go for a relaxing holiday. Bang in the centre next to the train station, Starbucks coffee and metro, opposite the theatre, in between to squares packed with restaurants and tram, bus and taxi ranks/ stations and in walking distance from hair salon, shopping center and other facilities. Average selection of food for breakfast, not huge, however everything at breakfast was very good. More isn't always better. Ok wifi, was staying in the 5th floor and couldn't quite get a connection. Service in terms of room cleaners, reception and belhops was excellent and the hotel was extremely clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.
We appreciate your comments on our location and design as well as on our staff, which you found to be very pleasant.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel and service was excellent.

The room was well presented and It was quiet at night. We were looked after really well by the staff and problems were resolved swiftly.

Breakfast is served in a beautiful room and the food s of high quality and varied.

Located near some good restaurants and next to Rossio train station that has regular taints to Sintra. If you are travelling by car there is the added bonus that they have car parking spaces, which I did not see in other hotels in the city.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We were very pleased to know that we met your expectations, and that you found our hotel perfect for city breaks.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated. The entire team will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.

We hope to have the great honor of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#16 of 247 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
801 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing