We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avenida Palace Hotel, sweetsdreams in earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avenida Palace Hotel, sweetsdreams in earth”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Wonderful and breathtaking experience. The hotel decoration and architecture are a masterpieces with beautiful rooms. It is located in the city center and you can go to many attractions on foot. The service and staff are impeccable and friendly. Have a king's night!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EduPessoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review is wonderful reading. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

I look forward to welcoming you again, very soon, to your Lisbon residence.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,109
    438
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
507
1,524
123
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel in late October 2013. It was our first visit to Lisbon & weren't we lucky to choose the Avenida Palace?? Brilliant location for visiting all the sights that the city has to offer. The room was great, as were the staff, & the décor was just out of this world. Breakfast was brilliant & there are numerous restaurants right on the doorstep to suit all budgets. Also the bus from the airport stops right outside. Would I recommend it to others? - yes yes yes!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eve070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for leaving such fabulous comments on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace.

I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and thank you for any potential recommendations. Your comments will be shared with the team involved.

I cannot wait to welcome you back here on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visiting Lisbon for the first time, we chose to stay at the Avenida based on friends' recommendations. Great decision. After several amazing days in Lisbon we are so pleased with our choice. The hotel's location is unbeatable, within walking distance to many interesting places and to lots of restaurants, which is useful because it only serves breakfast, and what a breakfast, in a dazzling room.The staff treated us like royalty. The hotel is rather calm and is also one of the top few Palaces in Lisbon. The only not so flattering comment I would make is regarding the size of our room and the size of the gym . We loved every minute of our stay in Lisbon and feel that the hotel has a lot to do with it. I would most definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayfairplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace during your first visit to Lisbon and for posting your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the experience lived up to your expectations. Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests in order to make the Avenida Palace feel like home.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My sister and I really enjoyed our stay at the Avenida Palace and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. We were there for three nights - room lovely, great breakfasts, service excellent. Hotel staff friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel couldn't be better situated, a stone's throw from Rossio square so close to lots of restaurants and the city tours, as well as shops. Would definitely stay here again (wouldn't bother checking out other offers).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are very happy to know that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights at The Avenida Palace. The hotel is situated well for shopping, restaurants, buses and trains. The hotel is beautiful, especially the public rooms such as The Lounge, Dining Room and Entrance. The breakfast was especially good.We were lucky enough to have an upgrade from a double room to a suite (only complaint is the bed was quite small), with a separate lounge area and complimentary bottle of fizz to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary! Bathroom was spotless, with lovely towels, bath robes and slippers! All the staff were very polite and helpful, especially the barman who made us great "Mojitos".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with your husband at the Avenida Palace, for the celebration of your Anniversary and for leaving your magnificent words on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized. Your praises about our team will be forwarded to the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had six days at Hotel Avenida Palace in late October. Room was spacious, with beautiful decor, very clean and big comfortable bed. Service and stuff was excellent, so helpful with rent-a-car, in giving information where to go, where to eat, they helped even buying us train tickets to Coimbra. Also we got complimentary bottle of water, champagne and delicious chocolate. Breakfast was just great, fresh fruits, several types of bread, salami, cheese, cereal, etc. And excellent coffee :)

We were on honeymoon, and we will allways remember great time we had. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, I hope we would come back in Lisbon and Avenida Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristina277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to know how highly you valued all the parameters.

It was a pleasure to read your words about our service and staff. Your comments will be shared with the entire team.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you on your next visit to Lisbon.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had 2 nights at this sumptuous hotel. The dramatically high ceilings in the public rooms, tall windows swathed in billowing curtains, crystal chandeliers all spoke of a glorious past. Because we booked a room online using the hotel's own website, we were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was big, with a separate lounge area, plenty of cupboards, 2 TVs, towelling robes, every detail for one's comfort had been thought of. Because the hotel is old, the floors creak in some places, but that is part of the charm. It was very clean, the staff were very helpful, and the breakfast was varied and plentiful, served in a very grand dining room. The location was excellent. The hop on hop off bus stopped near the hotel, there were many good restaurants nearby too.
N

Room Tip: Book on the hotel's own site to qualify for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thalia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will share your kind remarks with our team. We also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 246 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 246 in Lisbon
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 246 in Lisbon
800 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 246 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing