We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful understated atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
CAPE TOWN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful understated atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

An excellent hotel with an interesting history. Beautiful public rooms. Attentive staff, impeccable service. Charming bedrooms and suites. Centrally situated. A very pleasant experience. My new home when in Lisbon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LUISCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services exceed your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back soon at your new home in Lisbon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,148
    445
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
515
1,559
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

First impressions. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were initially given a suite leading off the stairs. This was not great we could hear the railway although we didn't initially realise that's what it was. I could not sleep due to the noise from a music festival and called reception at around 1am to complain. We were moved the next day with no fuss from staff and they really went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Little things like free music concerts in the evening and fresh fruit in your room on arrival helps make this an outstanding hotel. The location cannot be better next to Starbucks, great view of castle from our room and less than 10min walk to Bairo Alto

Room Tip: Any room that does not lead directly off stairs. We were in a corner executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonitravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was a pleasure to read your review about our Hotel and we are happy to know that have enjoyed your stay. However, as the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations in this particular issue you mention.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once more at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights and what we can say about: we had a great time in spite of the rainy weather. Spacious and clean rooms with comfortable beds, excellent service, friendly staff, perfect restaurant and a bar, beautifully decorated interiors. Every other evening we were invited to live piano music in the hotel lobby - for free. On Christmas Eve we have got a nice surprise from the hotel: a little bottle of wine and big traditional Christmas pie.
We highly recommend hotel "Avenida Palace" for everyone: you will hardly find a better hotel in the heart of downtown Lisbon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace. We truly appreciated all the fantastic remarks that you left on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace very soon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is beautiful!!!! Probably the most ornate and stately hotel I have ever stayed in. I was pleased with the reviews it received on trip advisor and so booked it based on reviews and the price. I was not disappointed. My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our 10th anniversary trip through Europe and were pleasantly surprised by the location, delicious breakfast, attentive service and beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaKOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace during your Anniversary trip and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your kind words on TripAdvisor.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, for a longer stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent location in the centre of old Lisbon, there is a Metro stop and train station just a few minutes away. An elegant older property, probably the premier hotel in Lisbon in its day and still pretty good. Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms, good but slightly dated bathroom. The self service breakfast offers a nice selection of fresh fruit, pastries, smoked salmon and hot items etc etc. You can park just outside the main door which is handy if you have a car.
My only grumble would be you have to sign back into the wifi every time you want to use it, annoying for smart phone users.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace and we were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are thrilled to know that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

However, I am certainly disappointed with the remark you made about tour wifi system. We have just installed a new wifi solution, in order to have a faster and stronger wifi signal for our guests all over the hotel. You can be sure your comment will be taken into consideration.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

After so many reviews, it is difficult to say something that you can't find in other reviews. I enjoyed every moment and I am very happy with my staying and services there. It is a beautiful hotel with excellent location. I am thankful to staff as I originally booked a room for 3 persons, but due to illness one couldn't travel, so they updated my reservation few days before arrival to 2 people without any penalty and all of these in a period around New Year. There is a welcome treat if you book via hotel's website, but there was also a very nice treat from general manager for New Year Eve, a free bottle of wine from mini bar.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svetlana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace during the New Year's Eve and thank you for leaving this wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seisdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great location, very attractive interior and very good staff. Don't really need to go on about it. Super. The barman was especially good.
No evening dining in the hotel, but so much outside it doesn't matter, and if you want a quiet evening in the bar snacks are really good anyway
We had to leave at 04.00 for flight and the hotel sent continental breakfast at 03.30. Great. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with your family at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these super remarks on TripAdvisor.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
570 reviews
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing