We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a fantastic hotel. Greeted at the door by the concierge who carried our cases and took us to the reception desk. The hotel is old but beautifully decorated, every room is amazing you could lose hours just looking around the hotel.
The staff were professional and polite and it seemed like nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good lots of choice and catered for all tastes, from cereals and pastries to eggs and bacon.
The hotel is very central surrounded by restaurants with excellent transport links, there's a metro station and a train station both within 2 mins of the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to stay in Lisbon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We appreciate your comments on our services and location as well as on our staff, which you found to be professional and polite. I will forward on your comments to the entire team.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 2,854 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a very good Hotel! I really liked it because it had a very good service! This hotel is located in a very good place in Lisbon! It is quiet and good. It had a 24 hour good room service! What I liked the most was when we would go to dinner there would always be classic music (live).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and we are happy to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My trip to Lisbon last November was a birthday treat for myself. Unfortunately I was bed-ridden on the actual evening of my birthday, struck down by a stomach bug. What really cheered me up was the surprise "room service" I got, a nice bottle of sparkling wine, treats and card. It's the attention to detail like thisthat makes this hotel so memorable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KHLow73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace to celebrate your Birthday and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a not so pleasant stay since you became ill, however, we are pleased to know that we help you to cheer up a bit on your special day. As you mentioned we pledge to be always attentive to details and your recognition means a lot us.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is realy a very nice and very good organised hotel. It deserves her five stars! The rooms are great and clean and the breakfast offered great choice. The employees are all very friendly and professional. This hotel is located in the main center and offers with its location a great starting point to visit the beautifull city of Lissabon. The settings and decoration are stylish and everywere ( lounge, breakfastroom and bar ) you hear nice classic music. We will be back in this hotel, for sure !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests and I will forward on your comments to the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just got back from 7 days here and thought i should post a review straight away,first class in every way,location,staff,rooms,communal areas and food,a special thank you to the barman who went out of his way to provide us with help and guidance,also to the manager for providing a bottle of sparkling wine on my birthday,our room was spotless and nicely decorated,no tea making facilities in room but a free bottle of water and a plate of fruit on arrival was really nice,we only had breakfast there which was brilliant,not sure if they have a restaurant but we couldn't find any signs of one although you could get snacks.
The best hotel we've ever stayed in and one reason we will return to this beautiful city,thanks again to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the experience lived up to your expectations. Your kind comments on our location and staff and also the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters are very much appreciated.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests and thank you for your recognition.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights in November and we felt it was the perfect hotel. The staff is lovely, the location can't be beat (it is centrally located and made walking to many sites so easy), and the buffet breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. The hotel definitely has old-world charm and the beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bw3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

After an initial issue with the air conditioning, we were placed in a lovely suite. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The hotel is very grand and large with comfortable rooms and beautiful bar and lounges, but it is a little old fashioned. The breakfast was delicious. It is very conveniently located so we could walk to the main sites.

Room Tip: Better away from the street if you have to open a window as it is very noisy outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BKB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Avenida Palace for your stay in Lisbon. We are delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and apologise for the air conditioned issue that you mentioned.

Your kind words about our staff are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

With a prime location in the very heart of Lisbon, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
626 reviews
Britania Hotel
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
888 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,608 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £122 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing