We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand old lady in a perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Grand old lady in a perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is Portugal as I imagined a Classic Hotel...In the style of Claridges and similar classic London Hotels... Lots of antiques and chandeliers... Location couldn't be better right in the heart of old Lisbon with walking to loads of restaurants easy. If I had a niggle its only the small restaurant menu with limited choice...Bedrooms were great and joy of joys decent satellite TV with tons of English channels...Off peak prices were a bargain for this quality of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidabarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these wonderful remarks on TripAdvisor.

We were extremely pleased to know that we were up to your expectations concerning Lisbon and its historical and classical style.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

We look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Lisbon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,993
    418
    77
    16
    8
See reviews for
480
1,447
116
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

5 days here in February. Location is as central as you can be, within easy walking distance of all main tourist areas, 5 metres from Rossio station. Grand old hotel, very elegant, great breakfasts, rooms are old style as fitting with the hotel. Public spaces very elegant. Great service, and was good value for level of luxury, style and location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about our location, facilities and service.

Your positive comments have been passed onto all of our staff.

I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uzes, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

In the best possible sense,this is what a hotel palace used to be.It is in the old style,but in impeccable shape,grand hall and lounge,elegant rooms,attentive and friendly staff,breakfast buffet to set you up for the day.A room service bottle of wine was served by a waiter,accompanied by a maid,no less.The hotel is very well placed,yet quiet.Good value for money,too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drullputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. We were thrilled to read your amazing review and to acknowledge that we met your expectations.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition. Your kind remarks will be shared with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is positioned right in the heart of the city, in the best location possible.
The service as good as you'd expect from a 5-star hotel. Due to the hotel location on top of the underground rail, you can sometimes hear subtle "shakings" in the room.

Rooms are not very big.

Breakfast was good, but I had better. (Desserts could be better).

If you book through their website, you get some nice benefits so you should consider that.

Room Tip: Order from the hotel's website to be considered for free room upgrade if rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhisperEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was pleased to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your kind words on our location and service.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

I hope to have the great honour of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January and I picked the hotel based on the review in Rick Steves guide and the reviews in Trip Advisor. The location is great - right by a metro stop and the airport bus, and walking around is very easy. The train station is next door, which makes daytrips easy. The staff was very friendly and very helpful - especially the concierge, and a bowl of fresh pineapple was waiting for us in our room. Breakfast was included and it had the widest selection of food that I've come across in a hotel, other than a Sunday buffet. The hotel has a lot of charm and character - as does Lisbon. The only odd thing is that the hotel is non-smoking, but they allow smoking in their lounge. We had dinner in the bar which is beside the loung one night and would have stayed longer to drink another glass of the excellent Portuguese wine and watch soccer on the tv, but the smell got to be a bit too much. But it is a lovely place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatmB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our location as well as our services.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this wonderful and elegant historic hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room is gorgeous and the breakfast spread is unsurpassed. The location is smack dab in the middle of where tourists want to be. The price was less than expected. We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed our stay and that you have found our location perfect.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff, décor and services. Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Avenida Palace the first weekend in Febuary and I must say I have stayed in 5 star hotels but this is the best of the best. From the meet and greet at the door to the staff that look after you at breakfast. They cannot do enough for you. Ideal for any visit to Lisbon
The Breakfast is enormous and superb quality. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends. Don't forget to visit the hotel bar as the local knowledge of the barman is tremendous

Room Tip: if you have not been to Lisbon before this is the area that you need to be based as lots of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and services. We were also very pleased with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing