We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Pros: A typical grand hotel from the late 19th century, abundant luxury, classic decoration, ornamented lobby and reception, live music and a royal athmosphere. Large rooms, excellent concierge services, first-class breakfast and a privileged location in the very heart of Lisbon. Nothing more to say but without a doubt one the best hotels to stay in the Portuguese capital.

Cons: Poorly isolated rooms and thin walls. In the past hotel guests must have behaved in a better way...

Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read that we were not able to meet all your expectations.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

I do hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,773)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

If you are looking for a modern hotel this is not for you, however if you want to experience what a five star hotel might have been like in the late 19th century but with 21st century mod cons this is the hotel for you. We stayed in a superior room as we wanted a small sitting area as well. The breakfast was excellent and the wine served. In the lounge was of an excellent quality. The only thing that stops me giving this hotel full marks is that the bathroom was on the small side.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RosieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for giving us your point of view regarding our hotel and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is Portugal as I imagined a Classic Hotel...In the style of Claridges and similar classic London Hotels... Lots of antiques and chandeliers... Location couldn't be better right in the heart of old Lisbon with walking to loads of restaurants easy. If I had a niggle its only the small restaurant menu with limited choice...Bedrooms were great and joy of joys decent satellite TV with tons of English channels...Off peak prices were a bargain for this quality of hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidabarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these wonderful remarks on TripAdvisor.

We were extremely pleased to know that we were up to your expectations concerning Lisbon and its historical and classical style.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

We look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Lisbon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

5 days here in February. Location is as central as you can be, within easy walking distance of all main tourist areas, 5 metres from Rossio station. Grand old hotel, very elegant, great breakfasts, rooms are old style as fitting with the hotel. Public spaces very elegant. Great service, and was good value for level of luxury, style and location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about our location, facilities and service.

Your positive comments have been passed onto all of our staff.

I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

In the best possible sense,this is what a hotel palace used to be.It is in the old style,but in impeccable shape,grand hall and lounge,elegant rooms,attentive and friendly staff,breakfast buffet to set you up for the day.A room service bottle of wine was served by a waiter,accompanied by a maid,no less.The hotel is very well placed,yet quiet.Good value for money,too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drullputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. We were thrilled to read your amazing review and to acknowledge that we met your expectations.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition. Your kind remarks will be shared with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is positioned right in the heart of the city, in the best location possible.
The service as good as you'd expect from a 5-star hotel. Due to the hotel location on top of the underground rail, you can sometimes hear subtle "shakings" in the room.

Rooms are not very big.

Breakfast was good, but I had better. (Desserts could be better).

If you book through their website, you get some nice benefits so you should consider that.

Room Tip: Order from the hotel's website to be considered for free room upgrade if rooms are available.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhisperEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was pleased to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your kind words on our location and service.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

I hope to have the great honour of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in a very near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January and I picked the hotel based on the review in Rick Steves guide and the reviews in Trip Advisor. The location is great - right by a metro stop and the airport bus, and walking around is very easy. The train station is next door, which makes daytrips easy. The staff was very friendly and very helpful - especially the concierge, and a bowl of fresh pineapple was waiting for us in our room. Breakfast was included and it had the widest selection of food that I've come across in a hotel, other than a Sunday buffet. The hotel has a lot of charm and character - as does Lisbon. The only odd thing is that the hotel is non-smoking, but they allow smoking in their lounge. We had dinner in the bar which is beside the loung one night and would have stayed longer to drink another glass of the excellent Portuguese wine and watch soccer on the tv, but the smell got to be a bit too much. But it is a lovely place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatmB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to meet our guests' expectations and we are pleased to read that you have valued our location as well as our services.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 253 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 253 in Lisbon
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £129 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing