We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location & lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
WAKEFIELD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location & lovely stay.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed four nights from Feb 15th. Looked at the usual big name options and The Avenida seemed much closer to the centre of things - it is. Right next to the main train and metro stations, bus stops (including open topped tour buses & airport bus), elevators, and more restaurants than are strictly necessary. Lovely individual elegantly furnished rooms, nice marble bathrooms, excellent house keeping. Breakfast buffet (7.30 -10.30) is good. Lovely elegant bar without silly London 5* prices - a very drinkable bottle of wine around £17.00, 20% less if you book direct with the hotel website. The hotel restaurant is only used at breakfast, but hundreds of nice restaurants are within a short stroll, we found the As Velhas (traditional and laid back), and Solar dos Presuntos (modern and bustling) particularly good. A bargain is the daily travel pass obtainable from the white kiosk across the road in front of Pinoquio Restaurant. 6.50 Euro for unlimited elevator, bus, metro and tram travel. No discount on museum entry, but about 1/4 the cost of Lisbon Card sold at the Tourist Office 20yds from the hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARCHIDECDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your kind comments on your visit to the Avenida Palace and to read how highly you valued all parameters.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our location and services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,068
    432
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
499
1,499
122
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We chose The Avenida Palalce mainly because of its location as we were in Lisbon just for a few days and we wanted to be close to the majority of the places we wanted to see.
The location was perfect at Restauradores and the hotel is very grand and elegant. It was immaculate - the rooms, food, facilities and particularly the staff were all brilliant.
Just a 15 minute stroll down to the River (Placa Comercio) and very close to a variety of restaurants and shops. We also walked up to the Castle (using the convenient free lift).
The Concierge suggested a restaurant that turned out to be absolutely superb for our needs - the Baleal - about 10 minutes walk away.
It was a bit wet when we were there and the use of the hotel umbrellas proved invaluable - a nice touch.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor overlooking the square on Restauradores was super - not a thing wrong with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelmsfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at Avenida Palace tree nights for the Valentine's weekend 2014. We ordered a suite and got a free upgrade to the marvellous Presidential suite. What a treat of hospitality! We loved our stay. The room was spotlessly clean and grand and luxurious with 6 m high ceilings, marvellous marble bathroom, laced lining, antique oil painting and grand antique furniture, almost 3 m wide bed in solid mahogany, etc. Impressive. The service was great, the hotel staff could not do enough for you. The hotel itself has a unique atmosphere with a grand tea lounge, live music in the evenings. And even though the smell of fresh paint might be absent here for some time, the unique atmosphere and cleanliness and wonderful antique furniture and details do richly compensate for this. Recommend this place at the highest. We thank the Avenida Palace management and staff for the unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urma_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your lovely remarks on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you found your stay with us to be unforgettable.

Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. Your wonderful comments will be forward to the entire staff and management and will be a great source of motivation to all.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Pros: A typical grand hotel from the late 19th century, abundant luxury, classic decoration, ornamented lobby and reception, live music and a royal athmosphere. Large rooms, excellent concierge services, first-class breakfast and a privileged location in the very heart of Lisbon. Nothing more to say but without a doubt one the best hotels to stay in the Portuguese capital.

Cons: Poorly isolated rooms and thin walls. In the past hotel guests must have behaved in a better way...

Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read that we were not able to meet all your expectations.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

I do hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a modern hotel this is not for you, however if you want to experience what a five star hotel might have been like in the late 19th century but with 21st century mod cons this is the hotel for you. We stayed in a superior room as we wanted a small sitting area as well. The breakfast was excellent and the wine served. In the lounge was of an excellent quality. The only thing that stops me giving this hotel full marks is that the bathroom was on the small side.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for giving us your point of view regarding our hotel and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is Portugal as I imagined a Classic Hotel...In the style of Claridges and similar classic London Hotels... Lots of antiques and chandeliers... Location couldn't be better right in the heart of old Lisbon with walking to loads of restaurants easy. If I had a niggle its only the small restaurant menu with limited choice...Bedrooms were great and joy of joys decent satellite TV with tons of English channels...Off peak prices were a bargain for this quality of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidabarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these wonderful remarks on TripAdvisor.

We were extremely pleased to know that we were up to your expectations concerning Lisbon and its historical and classical style.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

We look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Lisbon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

5 days here in February. Location is as central as you can be, within easy walking distance of all main tourist areas, 5 metres from Rossio station. Grand old hotel, very elegant, great breakfasts, rooms are old style as fitting with the hotel. Public spaces very elegant. Great service, and was good value for level of luxury, style and location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about our location, facilities and service.

Your positive comments have been passed onto all of our staff.

I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing