We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Hotel Avenida Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Having looked at photographs on the hotel website we were already impressed. In reality the Hotel far exceeded what we expected. It is truly magnificent, around area every corner there is the wow! factor. From arrival to departure the standard of service was excellent, the rooms are warm and relaxing as is the atmosphere throughout the hotel. Breakfast is amazing, no need to eat for the rest of the day, breakfast waiters are attentive without being intrusive this is true with all staff in the hotel. Location is perfect right next to Rossio Railway station. Whenever I think of Lisbon I will always think of this Hotel. I can't speak highly enough of the Hotel Avenida Palace.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Hilsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave such wonderful comments on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and how highly you valued our breakfast.

I will share your comments with the team involved and I look forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 2,872 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel for its location - Central to everything in Lisbon - Rossio Square, Praca de Figueira, Prace de Comercio (10 mins walk), Santa Justa lift (5 mins walk). All the tour buses start from the square, so you can just walk it. All the good restuarants and cafes bang on the square. The hotel itself looks palatial inside, rooms are good sized and decorated tastefully. Comfy bed and pillow, wifi in the room worked fine. Excellent breakfast served in the morning - the spread is fine. The only problem i had was with the ventilation in the room and bathroom. In the room, it was warm most of the time and had to wait for the AC to pick-up. The bathroom is bit on a smaller side and cramped (lacks ventilation), needs a bit of thoughtful renovation given the space and also some automatic timed air freshening system both in the room and bathroom. Ignoring those 2 issues, this hotel was a gem in Central Lisbon and had everything you need. I absolutely recommend this hotel for its location, service and comfort to all travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road with windows would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.
It was indeed a pleasure to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations in this particular issue.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Sadly I only stayed at this hotel for one night on a short business trip - I wish it had been longer. The staff are unfailingly friendly and the décor is stylish and very comfortable. The value for money was also exceptional. If you want a modern, charmless box then don't come here - for everyone else, I could not recommend this hotel more strongly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Your review is wonderful reading. It was a pleasure to read your comments on our staff and services. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence, for a longer stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from the Avenida palace and totally agree with all the positive comments here about the hotel re the grand building, impeccable service, exellent location and value for money. Whilst we got a very good deal from a price comparison website compared to the hotels direct booking system we certainly received everything on offer from the hotel, free bottle of wine, fresh fruit etc. I wouldn't look at another hotel in Lisbon again. A wonderful stay at the Avenida palace.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 6th floor with room overlooking the castle, very quiet area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your fabulous comments on your recent visit to the Avenida Palace and to know how highly you valued our services.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

I will share your comments with the team involved and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to your new Lisbon residence

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel Avenida Palace Lisbon Fabulous !! being treated to such grand luxury in the very center of town was a real treat. All the staff were amazing and looked after all our needs including our afternoon Campari served with such aplomb in the gorgeous bar .. the breakfast was wonderful the rooms amazing,staying here was the highlight of our trip we really enjoyed the warm hospitality that we were treated to at the Avenida Palace I cant recommend this palace highly enough .....Thankyou!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your brilliants comments following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed four nights from Feb 15th. Looked at the usual big name options and The Avenida seemed much closer to the centre of things - it is. Right next to the main train and metro stations, bus stops (including open topped tour buses & airport bus), elevators, and more restaurants than are strictly necessary. Lovely individual elegantly furnished rooms, nice marble bathrooms, excellent house keeping. Breakfast buffet (7.30 -10.30) is good. Lovely elegant bar without silly London 5* prices - a very drinkable bottle of wine around £17.00, 20% less if you book direct with the hotel website. The hotel restaurant is only used at breakfast, but hundreds of nice restaurants are within a short stroll, we found the As Velhas (traditional and laid back), and Solar dos Presuntos (modern and bustling) particularly good. A bargain is the daily travel pass obtainable from the white kiosk across the road in front of Pinoquio Restaurant. 6.50 Euro for unlimited elevator, bus, metro and tram travel. No discount on museum entry, but about 1/4 the cost of Lisbon Card sold at the Tourist Office 20yds from the hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARCHIDECDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your kind comments on your visit to the Avenida Palace and to read how highly you valued all parameters.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our location and services and enjoyed your stay with us. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We chose The Avenida Palalce mainly because of its location as we were in Lisbon just for a few days and we wanted to be close to the majority of the places we wanted to see.
The location was perfect at Restauradores and the hotel is very grand and elegant. It was immaculate - the rooms, food, facilities and particularly the staff were all brilliant.
Just a 15 minute stroll down to the River (Placa Comercio) and very close to a variety of restaurants and shops. We also walked up to the Castle (using the convenient free lift).
The Concierge suggested a restaurant that turned out to be absolutely superb for our needs - the Baleal - about 10 minutes walk away.
It was a bit wet when we were there and the use of the hotel umbrellas proved invaluable - a nice touch.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor overlooking the square on Restauradores was super - not a thing wrong with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelmsfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
631 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,619 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £118 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing