We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is a gem, right in the centre of town and with a beautiful old world charm and splendour. Breakfasts are good, the staff are highly professional and they speak several languages well. I found our room to be very well furnished and decorated with no noise to disturb us from the street below. Be aware that as with most independent hotels on the continent, there is no kettle in the room. The only slight oddity was the lack of an iron. Otherwise it was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your kind comments on your recent visit to the Avenida Palace and to read how highly you valued our services.

It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with our team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit here.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,977
    417
    77
    16
    8
See reviews for
477
1,433
116
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Were greeted cordially on arrival at a perfectly located hotel by very efficient and friendly reception staff and room was ready early. Interesting room with marble bathroom,a little old but quite stylish. Concierge were so helpful and we took their recommendations for two restaurants on two separate nights and found both excellent.
Price was reasonable and included breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blobbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

I look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Having looked at photographs on the hotel website we were already impressed. In reality the Hotel far exceeded what we expected. It is truly magnificent, around area every corner there is the wow! factor. From arrival to departure the standard of service was excellent, the rooms are warm and relaxing as is the atmosphere throughout the hotel. Breakfast is amazing, no need to eat for the rest of the day, breakfast waiters are attentive without being intrusive this is true with all staff in the hotel. Location is perfect right next to Rossio Railway station. Whenever I think of Lisbon I will always think of this Hotel. I can't speak highly enough of the Hotel Avenida Palace.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave such wonderful comments on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and how highly you valued our breakfast.

I will share your comments with the team involved and I look forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel for its location - Central to everything in Lisbon - Rossio Square, Praca de Figueira, Prace de Comercio (10 mins walk), Santa Justa lift (5 mins walk). All the tour buses start from the square, so you can just walk it. All the good restuarants and cafes bang on the square. The hotel itself looks palatial inside, rooms are good sized and decorated tastefully. Comfy bed and pillow, wifi in the room worked fine. Excellent breakfast served in the morning - the spread is fine. The only problem i had was with the ventilation in the room and bathroom. In the room, it was warm most of the time and had to wait for the AC to pick-up. The bathroom is bit on a smaller side and cramped (lacks ventilation), needs a bit of thoughtful renovation given the space and also some automatic timed air freshening system both in the room and bathroom. Ignoring those 2 issues, this hotel was a gem in Central Lisbon and had everything you need. I absolutely recommend this hotel for its location, service and comfort to all travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road with windows would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.
It was indeed a pleasure to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations in this particular issue.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Sadly I only stayed at this hotel for one night on a short business trip - I wish it had been longer. The staff are unfailingly friendly and the décor is stylish and very comfortable. The value for money was also exceptional. If you want a modern, charmless box then don't come here - for everyone else, I could not recommend this hotel more strongly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review is wonderful reading. It was a pleasure to read your comments on our staff and services. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence, for a longer stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sligo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from the Avenida palace and totally agree with all the positive comments here about the hotel re the grand building, impeccable service, exellent location and value for money. Whilst we got a very good deal from a price comparison website compared to the hotels direct booking system we certainly received everything on offer from the hotel, free bottle of wine, fresh fruit etc. I wouldn't look at another hotel in Lisbon again. A wonderful stay at the Avenida palace.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 6th floor with room overlooking the castle, very quiet area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your fabulous comments on your recent visit to the Avenida Palace and to know how highly you valued our services.

I also want to thank you for referring the benefits for booking directly through the Hotel website, which are listed in it as “Exclusive Benefits”.

I will share your comments with the team involved and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to your new Lisbon residence

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel Avenida Palace Lisbon Fabulous !! being treated to such grand luxury in the very center of town was a real treat. All the staff were amazing and looked after all our needs including our afternoon Campari served with such aplomb in the gorgeous bar .. the breakfast was wonderful the rooms amazing,staying here was the highlight of our trip we really enjoyed the warm hospitality that we were treated to at the Avenida Palace I cant recommend this palace highly enough .....Thankyou!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your brilliants comments following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portugal
Hotel Portugal
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing