We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and nice location too.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and nice location too.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This week we have stayed at the Avenida Palace hotel for the second time while in Lisboa for a conference. The conference itself was held at an international hotel not far from the airport but obviously we prefer the ambiance of the city centre and commuted to the conference. Traffic is not too much of a problem and taxis are cheap.

Just like the previous time we felt very welcome at the hotel. The reception staff knew we had stayed there before. Arriving before the official check-in time was no problem, we got a room upgrade, free water and fruits during our stay. The last day of our stay we asked for a late check out since our flight was only at 20.00 h and again this was no problem at all, which was very much appreciated.

The nice thing about the hotel is that it is a real and original classical hotel. It hasn’t been modified to become part of one of the big hotel chains and yet every detail in the hotel is impeccable and extremely well maintained. The palace atmosphere is really there and one of the nicest ways to experience this is at breakfast that is served in a majestic hall.

Beside the ambiance and the service of course the location is very good, with so many nice places and sights within walking distance.

If business or leisure brings us back to Lisboa, we surely will stay here again.

Room Tip: We like the suites, in a palace one should not stay in a smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. It was a pleasure to read your review about our Hotel and we are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are pleased that our services were up to your expectations.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back again at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,151
    445
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
516
1,561
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel after two weeks in the Algarve. The experience was first class from the moment we arrived. Checkin was very quick and the bell man very professional and polite. Our room was spacious compared to other rooms we have visited in Europe and extremely clean. The large bottle of water and chocolate strawberries we nice treats. We found the beds and pillows very comfortable. Our room was on the 5 th floor and the first two mornings I did wake up to the guests in the room above talking/showering at 7:00am. I don't think they were being overly loud but I am a light sleeper so a room on the top floor might have been better. Breakfast was good with lots of variety.
I really enjoyed all the beautiful public areas in this hotel. Most floors had sofas and chairs with books you could borrow and the lobby and bar on the first floor to sit and relax. We enjoyed afternoon tea with very attentive service and even though we were the only ones there we had a private piano recital. The location of this hotel is perfect to see all the wonderful sites in Lisbon and more important to my daughter very close to shopping. We had a very early flight home with a 4:30 wake up call. At 4:45am the hotel sent up a wonderful complementary breakfast with hot tea and a basket of buns and pastries. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcmCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for your rewarding comments about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was thrilled to know that your experience with us was first class.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford,CT
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

From the minute I entered the hotel I knew I had made a perfect choice. It is beautifully maintained. The beds were comfortable, the room soundproofed, and very clean. They allowed us into our room at 9:30 am as soon as it was cleaned. That was great!!! AND they offered free breakfast while the room was prepared at no extra charge. Great hospitality. The desk staff was very accommodating and gave great suggestions for dinner, etc. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcrdaycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace. It was a real pleasure to know that you found your choice perfect.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel and our services is very much appreciated and will represent a great source of motivation to the entire staff.

We look forward to welcome you at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is in an ideal central location to enjoy this beautiful city. The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast was very varied and the staff are very attentative and make sure your stay is one not to forget. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace. Thank you for the high rating in all the parameters.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services and attention to detail were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace soon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As the title says this hotel must be a real palace in the past. I do not know the history of the building but with its art nouveau decoration and facade i really felt like as if i am a member of a royal family. The room i stayed at was facing to inner courtyard and really quiet. The ceiling height of the room was around 1/5 more than modern buildings so it is more comfortable to sleep. The room was spotless including the bathroom. In the bathroom all ground tiles were light in colour so it is easy to notice whether they are actually clean or not. This is something i particularly i pay attention to. The room not only had the basic amenities such as minibar, hair dryer and safe but also it exceed my expectations with the availability of an umbrella in the closet. I strongly recommend this hotel if it is affordable for your budget.

With regard to the location, the hotel is right at the center of the city where many restaurants, bars and other attractions are located.

The breakfast buffet had many choices including a bottle of champagne! The breakfast hall was again a large room with high ceiling so the noise level was rather low due to low echo.

The staff was not warm but that does not mean that they have an attitude. They do their job perfectly and in a respectful manner but do not smile much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onur U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We were very pleased to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments on our location, services and decoration.

With a prime location in the very centre of Lisbon, the Hotel Avenida Palace was built in 1892 and with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of our great city.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Outstanding and reasonably priced hotel. Very conveniently situated in the centre of Lisbon. Large room. Superb breakfast in splendid dining room. Very friendly staff. Honestly one of the very best hotels we have stayed in.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.
We were extremely pleased with your oustanding comments and also with the high rating that you have given us.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband & I stayed for 3 nights in April for a romantic getaway. This hotel is a perfect location for seeing all the sites in Lisbon within walking distance from the front door. This is a beautiful, elegant hotel in the heart of Lisbon. The rooms are large, quiet, clean and have all the extra amenities you would expect from a first rate hotel. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which had lots of choices for both hot & cold options. We especially enjoyed the little extras in our room, such as fresh fruit upon arrival, complementary stilled water, chocolates, a bottle of local white wine (with coupon) and a free bottle of sparkling wine (local variety) complements of management, during the last evening of our stay with a lovely note attached. These additional touches made this stay extremely enjoyable visit for us. We will definitely return to this hotel again and highly recommend staying here. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful with dinner reservations, transportation, and also accommodated a late check out since our flight didn't leave until 16:40. Just Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luxpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this truly perfect review and for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace during your special getaway.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your new Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing