We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top of the Class”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

In more than 40 years of travel to 100 countries, few hotels can match our experience at Hotel Avenida Palace. This old world luxury hotel built at the end of the 19th century is at the top of the class and is one of Europe's truly great hotels. Included in the reasonable price of a very comfortable room is a 5-star breakfast experience that will win the hearts of even the most picky eaters. The public rooms are pure elegance. If you are in Lisbon, do not miss this destination experience in the very heart of Portugal's capitol. I guarantee it will be a highlight of your holiday or business trip. Congratulations to Executive Manager Manuel S. G. Araujo and his team. They are the best of the best in a very competitive hotel industry.

Room Tip: Get a mini-suite overlooking Liberator Square, the heart of Lisbon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I was absolutely delighted to read your very kind words following your stay with us at the Avenida Palace. I must also thank you for your kind words about our team and our services.
Your wonderful feedback was passed on to all, specially to our Executive Manager.

We are all very passionate about what we do and strive to offer the highest level of service possible to all our guests so we are truly thankful for your recognition.

Please do come and visit us again soon. Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

My best regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    425
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
486
1,468
118
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Recently returned from a few nights break in Lisbon, staying at this hotel. enjoyed our stay. the hotel is clean & lovely old world charm. Breakfast was superb great variety & all food so fresh.
The bedroom was ok. the main thing lacking in the bedroom was sockets. Everyone has phones & ipads for recharging & each time we had to unplug the bedside lamps to use a socket for recharging. Bathroom also very small. We received strawberries & champagne to celebrate a birthday & this was a very nice touch. We received complimentary chocolates & bottled water but i would have perferred if there was tea & coffee making facilities. Staff were courteous & efficient. However i think concierge staff should engage with guests just a little more & enquire if they needed any advice. Overall nice hotel & i would recommend & the main thing is we felt safe & happy there. So thank You

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mairin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay and that you felt happy here.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was quite disappointed to learn that we did not entirely meet your expectations.

I hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just like Copacabana Palace in Rio, Avenida Palace has got what I call "the james bond style". Very classic and sophisticated, the hotel has good beds, great shower, great pillows, delicious breakfast and outstanding services.
Location is the best part of it...right in the old center of Lisbon, walking distance from important attractions, right beside Starbucks, and other shopping alternatives.
This was my second time in Lisbon, second in Avenida Palace.

Room Tip: Choose from 2 floor and above...far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilianbrazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review about our Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us and that you appreciated our "James Bond style".

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace for a third stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This week we have stayed at the Avenida Palace hotel for the second time while in Lisboa for a conference. The conference itself was held at an international hotel not far from the airport but obviously we prefer the ambiance of the city centre and commuted to the conference. Traffic is not too much of a problem and taxis are cheap.

Just like the previous time we felt very welcome at the hotel. The reception staff knew we had stayed there before. Arriving before the official check-in time was no problem, we got a room upgrade, free water and fruits during our stay. The last day of our stay we asked for a late check out since our flight was only at 20.00 h and again this was no problem at all, which was very much appreciated.

The nice thing about the hotel is that it is a real and original classical hotel. It hasn’t been modified to become part of one of the big hotel chains and yet every detail in the hotel is impeccable and extremely well maintained. The palace atmosphere is really there and one of the nicest ways to experience this is at breakfast that is served in a majestic hall.

Beside the ambiance and the service of course the location is very good, with so many nice places and sights within walking distance.

If business or leisure brings us back to Lisboa, we surely will stay here again.

Room Tip: We like the suites, in a palace one should not stay in a smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. It was a pleasure to read your review about our Hotel and we are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are pleased that our services were up to your expectations.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back again at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel after two weeks in the Algarve. The experience was first class from the moment we arrived. Checkin was very quick and the bell man very professional and polite. Our room was spacious compared to other rooms we have visited in Europe and extremely clean. The large bottle of water and chocolate strawberries we nice treats. We found the beds and pillows very comfortable. Our room was on the 5 th floor and the first two mornings I did wake up to the guests in the room above talking/showering at 7:00am. I don't think they were being overly loud but I am a light sleeper so a room on the top floor might have been better. Breakfast was good with lots of variety.
I really enjoyed all the beautiful public areas in this hotel. Most floors had sofas and chairs with books you could borrow and the lobby and bar on the first floor to sit and relax. We enjoyed afternoon tea with very attentive service and even though we were the only ones there we had a private piano recital. The location of this hotel is perfect to see all the wonderful sites in Lisbon and more important to my daughter very close to shopping. We had a very early flight home with a 4:30 wake up call. At 4:45am the hotel sent up a wonderful complementary breakfast with hot tea and a basket of buns and pastries. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcmCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for your rewarding comments about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was thrilled to know that your experience with us was first class.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford,CT
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

From the minute I entered the hotel I knew I had made a perfect choice. It is beautifully maintained. The beds were comfortable, the room soundproofed, and very clean. They allowed us into our room at 9:30 am as soon as it was cleaned. That was great!!! AND they offered free breakfast while the room was prepared at no extra charge. Great hospitality. The desk staff was very accommodating and gave great suggestions for dinner, etc. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcrdaycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace. It was a real pleasure to know that you found your choice perfect.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel and our services is very much appreciated and will represent a great source of motivation to the entire staff.

We look forward to welcome you at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is in an ideal central location to enjoy this beautiful city. The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast was very varied and the staff are very attentative and make sure your stay is one not to forget. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace. Thank you for the high rating in all the parameters.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services and attention to detail were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace soon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
514 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
988 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing