We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old-timey hotel with terrific service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights with the kids in an adjoining room. Seems like the kind of grand hotel one would have stayed in during a tour of Europe several generations ago. The staff were terrific, especially with our small kids who can be a bit, um, energetic. The restaurant recommendations were spot on. Both nights there was a small treat awaiting us in our rooms: fruit salad one night, a small bottle of port for the parents and puzzles for the kids the next night. Our rate included breakfast, which was an ample buffet open for most of the morning. The hotel is well located for seeing the sites, for example a short walk to Tram 28. The lobby has a very comfortable and pretty lounge, where we enjoyed cocktails. Each floor has a small sitting area that our kids enjoyed giving them some room to roam. There is a fitness "room" but there's almost no equipment: I used a yoga mat and gymball but that's about it. Note this is not at all a sleek modern-design hotel, but if you want a taste of old Europe charm, I'd highly recommend Avenida Palace.

Room Tip: We were very pleased they were able to honor our request for adjoining rooms. We were on the fourth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlosLA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you chose to stay with your family at the Avenida Palace. I cannot thank you enough for having taken the time to leave your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations.Your kind words are much appreciate and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you all back in a future stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited Avenida Palace the weekend on the Champions League Final , United did n't get there but what can you do.?
The hotel is very central in an ideal location. Rooms clean and well presented . Breakfast was spot on,
Plenty of restaurants in the area
All the staff were very helpful
Would definitely return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mikobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. All reviews are much appreciated and important to us.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us during the Champions League Final and thank you for the high rating.

It will be a pleasure to share your comments with all our team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were very pleased with our stay. The public areas of the hotel are spectacularly beautiful, particularly the lobby and the breakfast room. We appreciate the difficulty of keeping guest rooms up to modern standards in an old building. Unless you are prepared to gut the rooms and start over, compromises have to be made. On the whole, we were satisfied with our room. We enjoyed the breakfast provided.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.
It was a pleasure to read your review and we are happy to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of the best addresses that we have been to in Lisbon. Class! Great hospitality! Cozy bar. A small museum: beautiful furniture. Rooms are very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast is excellent. GREAT LOCATION!

Room Tip: Try to chose room looking into inside court. Avoid Avenue view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duartemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed our stay and that you have found our location great.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel based on the experiences of others on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. It is a lovely hotel. The staff was friendly and we were well taken care of. This is a large hotel but we felt as though it was small. We rarely saw other guests even at the fabulous breakfast in the morning. There was plenty of seating available. We originally booked a room for two and at the last minute my son decided to come to Lisbon with us. We contacted the hotel 5 days before and they agreed to add a cot to our room. When we arrived they had arranged to move us to a suite with two rooms for the same price as a cot in the room. It was very comfortable. The beds were great. The hotel has high ceilings so the rooms may be small but they felt larger. The breakfast room is beautiful. What elegance! Beautiful chandeliers, linens and fantastic food. A full buffet, or made to order dishes as well. They also have champagne at the breakfast.
The first evening when returned to the hotel after a day of sightseeing, the turn down service include a bowl of fresh strawberries.
The location of the hotel is great. If you are there to see sights and visit the tourist areas, this is the perfect location. You can walk to most areas or take a tram or bus to Jeronimos Monastery in Belem.
We would definitely recommend Hotel Avenida Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daytripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you and your son chose to stay at the Avenida Palace. I cannot thank you enough for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor and for rating us with five stars.

Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. Your kind words are much appreciate and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

On the whole we were happy with and enjoyed our recent four-night stay. We booked a superior room and requested and were granted an upper floor room (515) with a view of the square. Our first impression of the room was very positive as a result of its high ceilings, overall size (including a separate inner hallway), three large windows (plus a fourth in the bathroom!), and the fact it showed no signs of the tiredness I had read about in some previous reviews (in fact it was freshly painted with nice furniture and a modern TV).

Having spent our first night in the room two flaws however quickly became apparent:
1. A mild but persistently unpleasant smell in the bathroom. I don't believe this had anything to do with housekeeping negligence or room cleaniness but rather was more a "general" smell wafting up from the pipes
2. Very poor internal sound insulation. While obvious efforts have been made to block out the external street noise (with reasonable success - despite the 4 pains of window glass there is still the constant but bearable drone of the 6 lanes of traffic directly outside), our sleep was disturbed by our next door neighbours using the toilet, and what I think was morning housekeeping cleaning in the room direcly above us. We could also hear the murmur of our neighbours' voices, despite the fact that these were in no way raised.

Both these problems could be attributable to the building's age.

Some further areas that could be improved upon if this hotel is striving to become a top-class 5 star hotel by international standards:

Breakfast:
- while quality and quantity of the buffet was on the whole impressive, it could be improved with some freshly squeezed orange juice and of course the option of an a la carte menu
- the breakfast room felt somewhat cramped/hectic on the busier mornings we were there
- the fact that breakfast served in our bedroom would have to paid for over and above the B&B rate was an unpleasant surprise we have not previously encountered. If this charge was removed it would actually assist in relieving some of the pressure in the breakfast room itself.

Facilities:
- the absence of a restaurant/compreshensive room service menu - why for example can the fine breakfast room not also be used as a nice revenue-enhancing dinner venue?
- the absence of any outdoor bar/eating spaces (especially in the context of several other high-end city centre hotels having outdoor terraces)

Staff:
- while on the whole professionally friendly, receiption and concierge desk staff could make more of an effort to greet passing guests

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to provide us with your candid feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I very much appreciate your observations. Our guests comments are truly important to us and helps us to achieve a high level of quality.

As we strive hard to provide great guest comfort and service to all of our guests, we are disappointed when we fail to do so and I am however very sorry to hear that we fell short on your expectations.

Again, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We are so appreciative of your observations and direct candor, and again we remain most apologetic for not providing you with an exceptional experience.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace during your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

In more than 40 years of travel to 100 countries, few hotels can match our experience at Hotel Avenida Palace. This old world luxury hotel built at the end of the 19th century is at the top of the class and is one of Europe's truly great hotels. Included in the reasonable price of a very comfortable room is a 5-star breakfast experience that will win the hearts of even the most picky eaters. The public rooms are pure elegance. If you are in Lisbon, do not miss this destination experience in the very heart of Portugal's capitol. I guarantee it will be a highlight of your holiday or business trip. Congratulations to Executive Manager Manuel S. G. Araujo and his team. They are the best of the best in a very competitive hotel industry.

Room Tip: Get a mini-suite overlooking Liberator Square, the heart of Lisbon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I was absolutely delighted to read your very kind words following your stay with us at the Avenida Palace. I must also thank you for your kind words about our team and our services.
Your wonderful feedback was passed on to all, specially to our Executive Manager.

We are all very passionate about what we do and strive to offer the highest level of service possible to all our guests so we are truly thankful for your recognition.

Please do come and visit us again soon. Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

My best regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £121 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing